We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel la Magdalena
Nearby Hotels
$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$177
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tcherassi Hotel(Cartagena)
$401
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$80
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$313
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$793
$350
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$367
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Cartagena Morros(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$122
$105
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Americas Casa de Playa(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$146
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
56
56
25
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
56
25
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conditioningquiet side streetprivate bathrooma lot of noisefive minute walkgreat acmedia lunaclock towerconvenient locationold cityhotel is locatedluluwifilaundromathosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 156 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here with our two kids for a few nights. We had a nice clean room with AC. Our room actually had 6 beds! It's right in the middle of things, but down a quieter side street. We felt safe here, the other guests were all Colombians...presumably....but there were not other backpackers here. Definitely not a party hostal in any way, it is very quiet. The staff we super nice. We would definitely stay here again. Cartagena is very charming, we were surprised at how much we liked it!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank 20now40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel on june 2012, a basic, very clean hotel. We have payed for a double fan room and finally for the same price we got a room with a/c which is very nice for the hot and humid cartagena's night.
the staff are very helpful, willing to answer you for any question you have.

The only bad thing is this hotel's location, after we settled up, we went out for a quick walk, and we saw drunk people sleeping on the street, trush everywhere, a couple "finest" lady looking for client....

If your budget is tight, this hotel could be a good option, otherwise, I will recommend you to find another in "boca grande".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pkhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Reception has been updated, but rest of hotel still old, but value for money and clean.

At 52,000 per room with ensuite per night WITH aircon, same price as some nearby hostels with only fan rooms.

English speaking Management very helpful and daily room service nice. Reception staff always willing to help even if English is limited.

Safe area and cheap local restaurants around the corner (Menu del dia 7,000)

Happy to stay here again, but Cartagena no beach, so difficult to recommend apart from the old town.

Room Tip: Wifi is only in reception, so we had room 115 where the signal reaches and the aircon is good. Dark room with no windows, so long sleep :-) Would be easy for hotel to upgrade wifi router....maybe something they can do?
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard-Uren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The room was clean with all the basic amenities. The staff was friendly and very helpful. However, the poor rating is due to the questionable people in and out of the hotel. The main door doesn't have a lock and there were a couple of times I questioned the people that came in. Finally my last night, I was using my computer in the lobby. TWICE we saw guys and Cartagena's "finest ladies of the night" come in to use the facilities of the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBudgetCou... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

+ves
The staff were so lovely, they helped us arrange trips and transport and even helped me get my mobile phone fixed when that broke! 
The room itself was functional, very clean and had a comfy bed with a good cieling fan. The wifi was excellent. 
The location was great - just one street down from media luna at half the price for staying in similar or less standard hostels / hotels.  

-ves
The rooms aren't pretty so on first impressions it doesn't score highly.... But like u said above... It's super clean and has everything you need in there. 
Other than that the only downside is that the room at the front is right on the road so even though it's a quiet road... It can be noisy. 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews