We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Real
Ranked #107 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Unless you like paying money for squalor avoid at all costs. The rooms and bathrooms were un cleaned, the door into the "private bathrooms" were see-through and he air conditioning was like sleeping next to a jet engine. There is nothing nice to say

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
14
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This lovely old building has potential but sadly it is in a bad state and filthy! The extended family all live there so all I can say is they have a very low level of cleanliness. The dorm is awful, the beds are horrible, it has no windows and the toilet area is very dirty and does not have a proper sealed door so you hear everything. The only thing going for it is that it is in a fairly quiet street.

Room Tip: if you can find something else then do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

we stayed for 4 nights at this colonial house or hostel whatever. The owner and the personnel were very kind and helpful. Yet, they could not speak foreign languages, so you have to speak spanish or sign language :) to understand each other. Fortunately, I speak spanish, so it worked for me. We stayed in the room sin aire or without ac with private bathroom. The rooms are not good. we had to use the shared bathroom due to the problem in the room. Yet, we loved the building, good paintings on the wall, the house was historical, there were loros (parrots) and turtle in the patio. The staff was helpul serving coffe in the morning. The location is good for old town visit. However, you have to be careful especially in the late night, There were pimps and prostitutes in the neighbourhood.They kept our luggage free of charge when we went for playa blanca for two nights. Me gusta Colombia Me gusta cartagena me gusta hostal real. Gracias al dueno. saludos desde turquia

Room Tip: any room but we stayed upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giritline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before checking out other hostels in the area. It was $45,000 COP for a private room for 2 with bathroom. We had heard that it was too hot to sleep without AC in Cartagena but we were fine in our room with the ceiling fan.

When we arrived (evening with no booking) the older guy was a bit strange, but other than his quirks all the staff seemed nice and helpful and it is a real family vibe with a toddler, grandma and a parrot living there.

The bathroom was clean but they had forgotten to put up a shower curtain the first night, fixed the next day.

The bed was fine, the room was smallish but had a closet which was handy.

After reading other reviews I realise now that there was a kitchen but when we asked it wasn't apparent. Probably my fault on the language front!

We didn't have any problems there, but there are other hostels in the area with a better vibe and breakfast for a similar price like Mamallena's and Hostel San Roque.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kungfukitty_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

well given the cartagena prices its an ok place to stay in for a few days. the staff is friendly, AC in the dorm, nice patio. a good alternative to the party hostels on calle media luna

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DidzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here to save money before moving to a nicer place --- we arrived in Cartagena late and moved to another hotel the next morning. The rooms are pretty bare-bones, and it felt like there were quite a few sketchy sex-tourism type guys staying there --- though the owners and employees were totally nice and it is family-run. I would have rated it average, except that we found lots of suspicious stright-in-a-line bites on our bodies... and they were not from the place we moved to. So I think they might have bedbugs...

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank worthyquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Top 3 amongst the worst hostesl i,ve been. Dirty, empty, bad attention, bathrooms without doors inside shared rooms. Checked in at 9pm, left at 8am. Only pro is the air conditioner.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Salome
Hotel Casa Salome
#136 of 148 in Cartagena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Las Tortugas
Hostal Las Tortugas
#111 of 160 in Cartagena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Green House Coffee Bar
Hostel Green House Coffee Bar
#63 of 160 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#18 of 160 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#12 of 160 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#4 of 160 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Real

Property: Hostal Real
Address: Calle 1a De La Magdalena No. 9-33, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing