We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Casa Viena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Viena
Ranked #47 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Calamba, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Pos: Cozy feel, I liked the room we had, it had a balcony.
Good mattress
Theres a safe in our room.
Free coffee

Neg: If not for the staff that told us that we had to move to another room at check out, which ruined our night and plans for the next day... Then I would have enjoyed my stay more.

Suggestion: ask guest first if they want to move or not before deciding for them.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    33
    21
    16
See reviews for
2
57
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Let's put it this way. My first 2 nights in Cartegena, I stayed in a "new" hostel, but it was down right dirty. So I moved here and boy was it a change for the better. The hostel is a little worn down, but you can overlook that considering the following...

The place is clean clean clean. The dorms, the bathrooms, the kitchen, ALL. They even cleaned out my food in the fridge by accident.

Laundry is by the kilo. Plus, I had a few handwash items and they had no issue letting me wash them by myself and hanging them on the clothesline.

There is a TV room, 2 laptops with internet, WiFi, and they also help to organize trips.

My first night was frigid, so I asked if they could turn down the a/c to a more comfortable temp the following night and they were happy to oblige with no issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postalcodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

hostel is so and so, very hot and 2 bathrooms only but the staff makes up for it! they are extremely pleasant and helpfull!!
they accept no bookings... which is weird but, if you get there by 12 you dont have to wait to know if you can stay or not

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed in a three bed dorm (a set of bunk beds and a double up in a loft. Very spacious and comfortable enough. I showed up extremely sick and both the staff and other guests were very accomodating of my need for the bathroom. The staff even tried to find me a single room at another hotel but everything was booked. They have fast internet on some shared laptops but do not have a good common space. The location and price are good.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank soulrebel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We didn't end up staying the night here as we stayed with a friend in Cartagena. However, we visited this hostel a few times as they organized day trips (mud volcano) which was really fun and we wanted to meet more people. The mud volcano day-trip was amazing...it was well-organized and we ate lunch by the water :) We met some cool people who were went to dance salsa with later that night. Also, they organize door-to-door service from their hostel to Taganga. They booked us a place in Taganga but it was terrible so we had to move to another hostel. This bus service is definitely worth it as the bus station is 1 hr outside Cartagena so it's expensive to even get out there. This hostel took all the hassle out of planning these details and we really appreciated it even though we didn't spend the night there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldhockey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed in Casa Viena for ages, it´s such a cool place, you can chill and relax over here! The staff is nice and friendly, always helpful, girls from receptions Ana y Laidys are adorable, if you are planning to go to Panama by boat, they know and work with many good boats, they also have a travel agency, organizing trips to interesting places around Cartagena. The location is awesome too, just in a heart of Getsemani. I loved the kitchen, it´s like a balcony and in the evening it´s full, so you have chance to meet interesting people, eat something home made, free coffee all the time.They do have a leaving room, with huge flat TV and sofas to chill, but common who watch TV when you in Cartagena! You have dorms with aircon, beds, bed sheets everything you need to have a nice sleep. For me, the most important thing, when I travel is the ambiance of the place, and Casa Viena is just like home, very recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roksana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We booked this hostel after reading about it in Lonely Planet and the. U freaked out because the Tripadvisor reviews were shocking. Fair enough when we got there they didn't have our booking (we had emailed to change the dates of our booking but they had confirmed) and they had no beds spare but instead of telling us to go elsewhere they said we could sleep in the common room free of charge. The man working put a matress in there and sheets and was wet apologetic. The next night they gave us a beautiful room with a balcony. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. The place was cleaned all the time and it wasn't dark and horrible like other reviews say. It's in a great spot with fantastic restaurants nearby-Indian porsdesh, gato Negro and Colombo-Italiana are all right by and delicious food. I recommend this hostel!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#11 of 188 in Cartagena
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#27 of 188 in Cartagena
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#6 of 188 in Cartagena
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volunteer Hostel Cartagena
Volunteer Hostel Cartagena
#8 of 188 in Cartagena
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#15 of 188 in Cartagena
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Escallon Hostel
Casa Escallon Hostel
#22 of 188 in Cartagena
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viena

Property: Casa Viena
Address: Calle 30 53, Cartagena 130014, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Viena is a very warm and peaceful hostel ... With a staff ready to help you in whatever it takes to give you a pleasant stay in our hostel, accompanied by information, guidance, organization and tourist advice .. We have private rooms and dormitories with air conditioned We are in the coolest area of Cartagena (Getsemani), strategically close to everything ... Walking you can reach all the interesting places, walk for streets and enjoy the happiness of his people is the most interesting Casa Viena offers a wifi, coffee during the day, safety boxes in the rooms, internet, book exchange / guidebooks, kitchen laundry services, lugagge store..Also we provide you all the services and facilities about what you can do in the city and in Colombia (tours, transport, information and advice on trips and excursions to San Blas / Panama. .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Viena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing