We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic place in the heart of Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marco Polo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cartagena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Marco Polo
Save
You added Casa Marco Polo to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 146 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in the heart of Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Thank you Marcos and Ana for an unforgettable stay in Cartagena. The house is beautiful with just 3 rooms. The best two rooms are upstairs, and there is a terrace with a great view over the old town. Marcos was very friendly and was able to point us in the right direction with great recommendations of sights and food. Ana prepared the best breakfast in Colombia! Fresh fruits, breads, eggs and all the coffee you can drink! Gracias Marcos y Ana!

Room Tip: Chose La Cumbia or La Luna
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Initially I have reserved la casa for my mother and her friend but when we were there to check them in, the owner gave us great price for the second room because some people canceled their reservation. Our room and especially La Cumbia are just amazing. La Cumbia even has a large wardrobe and sofa, were you can chill out. There are two terraces. On the first floor is the kitchen, where delicious breakfast is served. We were allowed to use the kitchen because one of us had birthday, so we prepared a surprise dinner. 100% recommended, great for its price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Casa Marco Polo was in an awesome location and the room in which we stayed, "La Cumbia," was fabulous! It was huge, it had HOT water (which is rather unusual and not really necessary in hot Cartagena, but great to have the option!), and was very clean. The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, fresh eggs in whatever style you like, and AMAZING coffee. Marco and his staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for La Cumbia, or the one on the roof- there is one on the first floor by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived in the middle of the night and Marco opened the front door for us immediatelly. After having travelled over 20 hours we were happy to arrive at this quite place. Altough it is in the middle of the very busy and nice old time of Cartagena it was really quite. We staied in the room on the 2nd floor which is really big and nice, with a big bathroom and two sofas. Marco brought us water so we did not need to get something to drink after arrival. In the morning, one of his nice female "assistants" prepared a really good breakfast with a variety of fresh friut ( the Colmbian tomatoe, papaya, melon and pineapple) , scrumbled eggs as you want them, cereals, yoghurt and best colombian coffee. Marco and the ladies only speak Spanish but although we do not speak Spanish we really had no problem to ommunicate with them. They would do everything for you. Laundry service, tranfers... Only one little thing that makes me only give a 4 star rating : no "pool" on the roof while nearly every hotel and hostel has one and also the room at the street is very loud as the streets are busy night and day. Try to get the rooms on the roof and you will be pleased!!

Room Tip: Take a room in the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnkathrinH694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is one of my favorite places I've ever stayed traveling. A true find in Cartagena! Marco is the most amazing host -- welcoming you into his home so you are truly staying in a Casa rather than a hotel. There are 3 total rooms to the Casa. We stayed in the 2nd floor, which I think is the largest. It was full of light and quite spacious. Can sleep up to 5. Each of the 4 levels has outside balcony space and at the very top there is a roof deck with beautiful views over the city. The breakfast spread was the most impressive we had in all our trip in Colombia with a beautiful display of fresh fruit to go along with the eggs made to order. The location is perfect for exploring all of the walled city. And the best part is Marco, the owner, who is just a joy. He is great at answering questions about the city and making recommendations for what to do and where to go.

I can't recommend this place more -- my only regret is that I didn't have longer to stay!!

Room Tip: Room choice depends on how many people you have. The top room is adorable, but only sleeps 2. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LLTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a nice 3 night stay here.

Positives:
- filtered water available so you don't have to buy your own
- Breakfast = a variety of fruits and eggs prepared any way you want them
-Good location
- Friendly host
-Air conditioning

Be aware:
- Marco ONLY speaks spanish
- He only takes cash
- You can hear the horse drawn carriages going down the street till late in the first floor room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is indeed a "casa" rather than a hotel. Behind the large closed gate lies one of the best places that you can imagine when you are away from home yet desire the feeling of home. The three rooms, large, cool, well designed, impeccably clean, with lots of closet spaces, large bathrooms, a/c, etc., are each situated on a different level, with plenty of space outside the rooms and a stairway to a rooftop where there is plenty of seating and a good view of the city. The owner, Marco, is an amazing host, the place is run impeccably. In the yard, by the nice, clean and well equipped kitchen, the breakfast area. What a delight to wake up in the morning to a most wonderful breakfast of fresh, ripe, juicy tropical fruit (papaya was my favorite), plentiful and nicely displayed, home made, warm pita/roll bread, eggs made according to your preference and coffee plentiful, served by Gloria, whose smile, good disposition and service are unparalleled. Marco, the owner, is the best host, attentive, friendly, warm and very knowledgeable. Not only are you well provided for with top accommodation and an excellent breakfast but you have a rare chance to learn about life in Cartagena, past and present, places to go and how to best get there and also, if interested, learn about indigenous music and old musical instruments (some of them you can see in the breakfast nook), as Marco is a musician with his own band. My friends and I (there were five of us) spent some unforgettable days at Casa Marco Polo and felt honored to come to know Marco and enjoy the excellent hospitality of this charming small hotel. Unforgettable, indeed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miki123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Villa Colonial
Casa Villa Colonial
#105 of 143 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 143 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#40 of 143 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#50 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#2 of 143 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bantu
Hotel Bantu
#20 of 143 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marco Polo

Property: Casa Marco Polo
Address: Calle de los Siete Infantes No. 9-89, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing