We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Opulence and Ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Opulence and Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Casa Claver is a beautiful boutique hotel in the heart of the walled city of Cartegena. It is within walking distance to all the historic sites and plazas, restaurants and cafes, and shops. We had originally reserved the Standard Loft and was upgraded to the Deluxe Loft which included two bedrooms, two bathrooms, full kitchen, living room and balcony access from all rooms. The loft is very modern with high ceilings and a touch of history in its brick walls. The staff was impeccable. Oswaldo and Ivan catered to our needs and assisted us with boat excursions to the islands of Encanto and Sol. The housecleaning crew brought our breakfasts to our room right on time every morning and made our room spotless every day. The highlight of Casa Claver is undoubtedly the rooftop pool with majestic views of Cartegena. It was our haven after a day of sightseeing in the sweltering heat. You would not be disappointed at Casa Claver.

Room Tip: the lofts are really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fstop_delmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    38
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
47
136
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in room 202, which was a very large apartment with a good kitchen/living room/dining room, a very large bedroom and bathroom. There is no restaurant in the place, so you select your choice from the breakfast menu the day ahead (none of disappointed) and it it brought to your dining tabs at your chosen time the following day. Location couldn't be better (this really is the heart of the old town), and the roof garden is a lovely place to watch the sunset.

Room Tip: rooms 101 and 102 will have balconies just off the main street, which will be a good thing for getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmet360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Overall we had a great stay. There were some issues that kept this from being great, but overall, a very good place to stay in Cartagena, and for a significantly cheaper cost than many others.

Pros: The room was huge, the air conditioners were really strong (very important in this climate), and the rooftop/pool area was fantastic and hardly used. Breakfast was great (Classico Cartagena was the best), especially if you had it on the roof with the breeze. Everyone in the hotel was really nice, and tried really hard to communicate even though we didn't speak the same language. Camilla was great about booking a trip to the islands.

Cons: When we were shown our room, I discovered that we had been "upgraded" to a room with a kitchen, but instead of two beds, we now had one. No one ever acknowledge that the room we had was different than what we reserved, which seemed strange. We didn't want to make a fuss, so we stayed where we were. Also, there were some minor things in our room that didn't work or broke while we were there (e.g. someone before us had lost the remote for the air conditioners, so we weren't able to control it; the door to the shower fell off its hinges; the outer door handle was broken and didn't work without a key).

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FB18081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This small boutique hotel is probably the best hotel next to the Sofitel in Cartagena. mind blowing rooms, great private rooftop with pool, TV with all on demand channels, WIFI and top the line details all around the place. If they had a restaurant in, it would be a 5 stars hotel.
Location is perfect in the middle of the historic city. Staff doesnt speak great english but was very helpul anytime we needed them. Overall a jewel to be discovered

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I booked this place for 2 nights and ended up staying for 6 once we were there because it was so great !! We were in cartagena for a while and stayed in a few places, by far this was the best!!

delicious breakfast ( Clásico Cartagena is the way to go!) , attentive wonderful staff, specially Ivan the main front desk person. Beautiful rooftop and comfortable rooms. Can't recommend this place enough! Worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Better than hoped for. They need to get a better photog for their publicity. Spacious, good location, all amenities - can't wait to go back. A few minor flaws, but not thing to leave us feeling that we'd been "had" in any way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our 2 kids in the 2 bedroom loft in August. The place exudes elegance and discretion. It felt like we were living in our own apartment and not a hotel. Breakfast is brought to your room and you need to choose what you want the night before. The apartment is beautifully furnished and well equipped with washer and dryer and separate kitchen, living room and mezzanine. The verdant roof terrace has a wonderful view of the rooftops of cartegena and we spent hours alone in the small pool watching the birds flying by and listening to the bells tolling. The location is perfect and being opposite the crepes and waffles restaurant is also very handy. Casa Claver is expensive but worth it!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#4 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle de las Damas no. 3- 134, Cartagena 0000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing