We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal La Casona de Getsemani
Nearby Hotels
NH Cartagena Urban Royal(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$205
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caribe(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia(Cartagena)(Great Value!)
$116
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$461
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$287
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
24
40
44
13
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
40
44
13
27
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 148 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We arrived in Cartagena on a sailboat from Panama and all I could think about was a shower and air conditioning. We had reserved a room at Hostel La Casona online before we left Panama and although we arrived a day late, there were no problems at the Hostel, they were happy to see we came. We were able to bargain for a great discounted price for a 5 nights stay. The rooms are very small and we looked at a bunch, but the price is excellent and the location is good and generally quiet. The internet (wifi-free and computer use available for very cheap) was super fast and helpful for doing research after being out of touch for 5+ days.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank integraltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The hostel is well located and has an attractive courtyard. Booking was easy and the staff helpful, however the first room I was offered did not have any natural light and smelt of mould. The second room was better, but I was glad to be only staying for one night as the air conditioning did not work and room was a little grubby. The bathroom area wasn't great and not much of a divide between the room and the shower/ toilet area - I was glad that I wasn't sharing the room with anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Um_Thandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Nice hostel with simple rooms set around a quaint courtyard - was a bit quiet when I stayed there - staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurotrash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

When you enter this place, you fall in love with the charming courtyard. Rooms are smallish,
reasonably clean and rather noisy. Most of them open to the courtyard, where people
sometimes go on talking till late at night. Partition walls are thin and bathrooms cramped,
but the staff is friendly and do their best to meet your requests. The room I chose lacked a
showerhead and they immediately went out to buy one. There is free coffee and tea and
free internet use. No hot water, a rather old tv-set and lack of privacy were the main
drawbacks, but this is a hostal and not a hotel and the price (COP$ 55000 per night at the
time of writing) seems reasonable for an airconditioned room in a popular tourist town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We went there for a night and honestly we would have preferred to pay a bit more for a quality sleep and cleaner room. Our room didnt have air con and its the smallest and smelliest room we've ever been to. It was just next to the garden so we could hear people coming and going the whole night and to add insult to injury, while trying to find the remote under my pillow, a massive cockroach came out from it. It was so disgusting...at least it was just one night.. so if you go to Cartagena, find a better place to stay to enjoy of this romantic and historic city, dont let your hotel ruin of your stay in Cartagena!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anana26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews