We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“incredible as always” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pasteleria Mila

Pasteleria Mila
Ranked #5 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Cafe, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ila is a sweet and loving idea born in 2006 when I opened my first pastry, bakery and cafe in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. Sought to create a place full of details and magic place to accompany the breads, desserts and recipes lovingly created, cooked and always dreamed of. Today, we are located in the walled city and soon will be in Bogota! I always wanted my site covering all tastes and times of my clients, that is why any time of day can come and antojarte what you want. The hope!
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“incredible as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

try to eat posta cartagenera for lunch! its a great traditional plate from the area!. the desserts are to die for! great place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    287
    97
    40
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
592 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch & Sweets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We all enjoyed our lunch. Local drinks were superb (limonade coc coco, te frappe).
Sopa de tortilla was the best I've ever had, quiche with salad also a hit.
Desserts are mostly French, just sorry that we are only in town for a week.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cararro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not worth the Hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My Colombian friends recommended this mostly lunch spot. We ate here twice and were really disappointed. The prices are high (like most restaurants in Cartagena) and the food just average. I had two different sandwiches, one chicken and one pork, and both were mediocre. Service is spotty and the desserts are average as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Astranova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Remembering New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went on a Sunday at noon to pick up a table at the next door Q Design store (unfortunately closed on Sundays) and noticed this bakery and sweet shop called Mila's which we entered without any predeterminations or recommendations about the quality of the eatery.

The motif is French and the art emphasis is on hens and roosters. Very french and reminded me of the pastry shops in the French Quarter of New Orleans (i.e. Café du Monde). The background music was 30's blues (Bessie Smith) giving the place a warm friendly ambience which reminded me of my childhood in NOLA. visiting places like this for ice cream and sweet cakes.
The tables and chairs are wooden and very close together making for rather limited space and movement between tables.

A limited wine selection also so we opted for water which was served in an overpriced small plastic bottle with Mila's name on the label (US$2.00). The waitresses were very friendly though the service was a little slow (about an hour from start to finish).

We ordered the tomato pomodor soup (US$7.00) (100% tomato) - Very good. and the stewed meat dish (Posta Cartagenera), also very tasty, came with a small salad - coconut rice but alas only one small patacon (fried plantain) (US$16). The sandwiches and wraps being served to nearby tables also looked inviting (on our list for our next visit) and the people had smiles on their faces as they ate them.

The after lunch drinks (one espresso coffee - one capuchino) were delicious and served with a little banana bread square and a small glass of spearment flavored water as a side) Nice touch!

Desert was, of course, a torched Creme Brûlée. While we didn't order any more pastries we were certainly aware of the large amount of these sweets being served to the other patrons nearby which can only mean they were very good (The pastries not the patrons).

All in all a definite visit for breakfast or lunch or even dinner even though the bakery is not set up for formal dining. A sweet tooth can become addicted to this place so be forewarned if you are a chocolate fan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aBigmac46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abused”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Abuse. We ordered some cakes and chocolates. We wanted normal water but they forced us to drink their brand. A little plastic 100 cc cost US$2.50 . Also my wife wanted a little bit of milk to unsweet the terrible sweetened chocolate milk. They brought a little glass with about four spoons. They billed one dollar of milk. This is abuse. Never will go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasteleria Mila also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Pasteleria Mila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing