We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Plaza de Armas

Plaza de Armas
Ranked #316 of 698 Restaurants in Cartagena
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
California Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had an excellent dinner the other night in Cartagena with Plaza de Armas. My wife had the lobster raviolis and I had the beef tenderloin with a dry sack mushroom sauce absoultely incredible. The service was great we dinned in their outdoor patio. If you are ever in Cartagena Colombia I def recommend this place.


Yours Truly
Paul

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andres L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place To Try Out”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Very difficult to find good dining places in Cartagena, service usually bad everywhere we went. A taxi driver recommended Plaza de Armas located in the old city and we loved it. You can find a variety of international food, mainly italian, but still very international. I tried the lasagna and I adore it. I am a lasagna lover and this one was really good. Some of my friends order the seafood platter and it was also delicious. My girlfriend had the a fish in a white wine sauce absolutely amazing. Very very good food. I highly recommended.
The outdoor plaza very romantic. A must go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is one of the best restaurant I have ever been. I am from Miami, and we have a huge variety of excellent restaurants here, but Plaza the Armas is one of the best you can find in Cartagena. The food is amazing, I had the grilled seafood and it was amazing. The service is great, Diego the sommelier can advise you of the best wines. The ambience is spectacular. It is a mix between modern contemporary and colonial. The live music is great. Prices are reasonable. Greatly recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good Italian Restaurant in the old city”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

It is usually rather difficult to find a decent italian restaurant in Colombia. The Plaza de Armas in Cartagena is the welcome exception and I am always looking forward to have dinner there whenever I go to Cartagena.
The menu offers a nice variety of elegant italian meals and the Risotti are among the better ones I have tasted outside Italy and Europe.
The atmosphere is also very nice with a quiet courtyard and service is very friendly.
A must visit while in Cartagena.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent European type restaurant”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Excellent food, good service! Beautiful enviroment,,,just try no to go when they have a wedding or a party!! The service could be different..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fineeater2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza de Armas also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Plaza de Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing