We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, listed prices are a bit expensive for the rooms”
Review of Hostal Casa Mara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Casa Mara
Ranked #30 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, listed prices are a bit expensive for the rooms”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, in 3 different rooms. The foyer is quite nice and has a few different areas to sit. The pool needs a good clean, the water was quite cloudy the whole time we were there.
The website mentions a rooftop small pool that you can also use - this was not so, it is a small spa that was empty and didn't look like it had been used
in awhile.
Overall the rooms are all dated and need general repairs - powerpoints hanging out of walls - missing ceilings - showerheads broken - broken lamps - rattley old a/c (but they do work!)
If the rooms were a bit cheaper I wouldn't bother mentioning the repairs required - but at least you know what to expect.
The rooms are fairly spacious, beds were fine and there was the usual cold water only showers as you seem to get everywhere on the coast. Location was good.

Oh and the wifi didn't work in the rooms and timed out all the time when it did work - was quite annoying.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
11
41
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I thought this place was perfect for the price-it is popular so you definitely want to book ahead. The rooms are quite and set around a courtyard with a pool and plenty of places to sit around and read. The owners were wonderful and easy going. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. The location was central for everywhere I wanted to visit. I will stay here again next time.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank soulrebel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Casa Mara in May 2012. After reading reviews and hearing how hot it was in Cartagena, we chose Casa Mara because there was a a quiet, shaded courtyard with a small pool and the rooms had a/c. It turned out to be a good choice. We always felt safe here, as the front gate is always locked.

Diana was a great host and was able to book day trips (i.e. Volcan Totumo) and transport onto our next destination. Who needs hot water when it is so hot outside? Not me. I loved our cool shower after a day of sightseeing. The room was also nice and quiet and WiFi was provided. It was also a quick walk from Getsemani into the historical Centro area of Cartagena.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravels604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The rooms are fine, except that there is no hot water, which makes showering a challenge for some, although the hot weather made it easier to bear. Air conditioning very effective and there's a small pool, There's also a small rooftop area where you can sit at night but you have to take your own drinks etc., as there's no food or drink service at the hotel. Breakfast was included but you get a voucher to take to a cafe around the corner. Free wifi plus a PC available. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxleyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramrod Key Florida
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Hotel is in excellent location and is very secure. Included breakfast at Luna Nueva restaurant nearby was complete with choices. They also served lunch and dinner so that was a convenient choice. The room was large with tub,shower, TV, AC and fan and Internet was available. Service was excellent with coffee in the morning and friendly staff. The pool was excellent to cool off in.

Room Tip: Room in the back may be quieter but check the size. I had room 4 in the front that was large but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramrodfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I was thrilled to see how lovely this hotel was when we first arrived. The small pool as the centrepiece surrounded by white arches and hanging plants looked so inviting. The room I had was basic but had air con and fan plus tv. The hotel is secure and quiet, with internet available and use of the fridge plus kitchen facilities. Diana is very welcoming and helpful giving me her hairdryer to use whenever I needed it. The hotel is close to everything and the best breakfast place, Cafe Luna Nueva, is just around the corner.
Would recommend to anyone wanting more than a youth hostel but needing to keep costs down.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roznkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Casa Mara is located in Getsemani, although an older barrio directly adjascent to the historic old city, it lies within the old city walls and has a rough rustic charm and is residential (especially the street Casa Mara is located on), which is refreshing, in contrast to the old city which is only inhabited by tourists, more expensive hotels and street peddlers. The area is relatively safe although exercise caution as always in Colombia. Casa Mara is a real "Casa" in hotel terms, not a backpacker hostel (no dormitory style rooms, although it looked like they can sleep up to 4 singles in one of the rooms), it offers free wifi, good air conditioning, ensuites in all rooms and access to a kitchen, a jacuzzi and not to forget the lovely pool as centerpiece. Casa Mara is a quiet sanctuary away from the hustle of Cartagena, Getsemani and Calle Media Luna (a busy thoroughfare) a hop and a skip around the corner which hosts several typical backpacker hostels which attract the usual backpackers as well as plenty of cafes and restaurants of various levels. We mostly ate at Cafe Luna Nueva around the corner which similar to Casa Mara offered excellent value albeit less quirky/trendy decore than some options attached to hostels but worthwhile for the backpacker wishing to escape the "backpacker bubble" and get a better value breakfast (we felt ripped off when we tried the other options) where locals will also be seen eating. Diana of Casa Mara was very hospitable, spoke English and arranged for food delivery and tours/transport for us upon request. Casa Mara also offered a laundry service and has a drinks fridge and shared computer at the main desk. We stayed in room 1, a spacious room directly adjacent to the pool yet private enough for a young couple. I could also recommend room 9 on the first level overlooking the pool (we didn't see inside so can't say more than this) which offered good privacy by all appearances. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felixrising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Villa Colonial
Casa Villa Colonial
#109 of 155 in Cartagena
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 192 in Cartagena
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Republica Cartagena
Republica Cartagena
#29 of 192 in Cartagena
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Escallon Hostel
Casa Escallon Hostel
#20 of 192 in Cartagena
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#16 of 192 in Cartagena
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#10 of 192 in Cartagena
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Mara

Property: Hostal Casa Mara
Address: Calle del Espiritu Santo #29-139 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Casa Mara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 10 rooms in this hotel have all the comforts to make you feel at home. Some of the features you'll enjoy are internet access , cable TV, shower. The hotel boasts Wi - Fi in public areas , laundry service / dry cleaning, room service. Guests seeking exercise or leisure will be pleased to find garden at the hotel. Well located , a dedicated staff and quality services make this hotel a favorite among viajeros.Los guests can enjoy peace and tranquility in the pool Casa Mara offers all its guests. Guests can also relax in the hot tub and admire the charm of this beautiful home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Casa Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casamara Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing