We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the hostel's clean and chill atmosphere!”
Review of Hostal Casa Mara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Casa Mara
Ranked #35 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Helsinki
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved the hostel's clean and chill atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed in the hostel casamara for 4+3 nights. I actually wanted to return there after my Taganga-trip as it was so nice.
It is located very close to el centro and all the services of Getsemani are right behind the corner. The Getsemani area might feel a bit shady in the beginning, but I never felt myself unsecure...even I did a lot of nightlife:)
The hostel itself is very secured with the nighttime guardian. The rooms were kept very clean and the swimming pool was very nice in the heat of July. I warmly recommend this hostel to everybody looking for a calm place to stay in the middle of Getsemani husstle.
After all these uplifting reviews you should remember it is a hostel, not hotel ;)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
10
40
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This hostel is quite dated and the owner has in recent years, prices increased by 50% making it a bad choice. Near the hostel are much better options to find more reasonable prices. Besides the hospitality is also low in Casa Mara. What once must have been a fun hostel is an e expensive, not really friendly place and become dated.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Fantastic place to stay in a prime location. Beautiful old building in Getsemeni, near to the old city Cartagena. It has three levels of rooms, and is complete with a swimming pool, reading area and roof top spa. The owners are really nice people and keep it extremely clean. There are no crazy parties or excess noise, which is great however it is walking distance to all the bars etc if you want.

Secure building with a night watchman. I have stayed here numerous times – best deal was 100,000 for a huge double room with massive bathroom complete with Tina (bath). They also have a restaurant around the corner with great value breakfast – 7,000 for cereal, fruit and café / hot chocolate and toast.

Bring my parents over in may and we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicks_medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We spent 4 nights in Cartagena. The first 2 nights we spent at Santa Cruz Hostal which was located in the center but was a very spartan room (hot shower, aircondition, but no windows and very small).
We looked for a better place in Getsemani and found this lovely hostel. We spent 2 nights at Casamara in room #1 which is the biggest and the most comfortable. The room is big. There is no hot water but you really don't need it in this climate. The pool in the middle of the hotel courtyard is small but very useful to cool off at night or during the day. The location is very good: 100 m from the Media Luna street where all other hostels are. The difference between this hotel and others is that Casamara is quiet and very secure - the door is always locked, and because there are only 10 rooms, the staff knows all guests. The manager (owner?) is Diana and her husband who are very friendly and helpful and keep the hotel in a very good shape. They also have a small restaurant on Media Luna street (Media Luna restaurante) with affordable and delicious meals.
Everything is very close: la muralla (the center) is 10 min. walk, the fort is also 10 min. walk, the bars of Media Luna are 2 min. walk, and the discos of Getsemani are 5-8 min. walk. The BEST place for night entertainment is Cafe Habana which is 1 block from the Casamara street: life salsa music - supposedly the only life salsa band in town.
Getsemani is a bit run down but it seems that all the neighbourhood benefits from the tourism so it is rather unlikely that you might run into trouble with the locals.
We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacektravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We did a lot of research on places to stay in Cartagena and eventually plumped for Casa Mara in Getsemani. We are glad we did- it was a friendly, quiet place and very good value. As with some other reports, do not expect everything to be perfect there or indeed in Cartagena on the whole. However this did not detract from a really fun and lovely experience in Cartagena when we were lucky enough to be there for the carnival / independence celebrations.

Getsemani definitely has some issues, but we did not experience these on Casa Mara's street which is residential and friendly. Calle Media Luna is a slightly different case. Although we heard some reports of attempted pick pocketing, we found Cartagena on the whole very friendly and safe. There was a strong police presence throughout the city.

Diana is very welcoming at Casa Mara. The rooms have air-con which is necessary as it is very hot and humid in Cartagena. The pool is small but a welcome afternoon break. The rooms also have cable TV with international channels for news etc. There is free Wifi and access to a PC for the internet too. (There are 3 internet cafes within 3 mins walk for cheap access, too.) We heard numerous reports of hostels that were noisy and had thefts. This was NOT the case at Casa Mara with strict security at the front gate meaning the courtyard and rooms were a quiet, safe environment.

Diana also helps with booking trips. I can recommend the mud volcano- touristy, smaller than you think but still fun!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJB_Cavendish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2010

If you are the kind of person who wants up scale, nice furniture, excellent location and demand total safety then you should pass on this hotel. And in fact maybe you should pass on Colombia in general. However if you want a well run quaint hotel with quality service, at a very affordable price, then read on.

We stayed 3 nights at the CasaMara and I loved this little hotel. The rooms are spartan. Ours had Airconditioning, but no hot water, and no refrigerator in the room. In addition to the air conditioning there was a very nice wall fan that did an outstanding job of sweeping the room with moving air. The bed was clean, the room service excellent. There is no food in the hotel, but a variety of nice and inexpensive restaurants nearby. At the time we were there, they were doing laundry for 3000COP /KG and believe me in the Cartagena heat you're going to want your laundry done, regularly. In addition clothing given in the morning was regularly available in the mid afternoon. Our 3 day stay cost us about 160 USD including all our laundry.

Our room was small. I've stayed in smaller rooms in Venice for example, so it's not minuscule, but for the two of us and a toddler it was about as small as I would want. There are other larger rooms, if you want a nice sized room, ask fro room #1. We were in #9. #10 is on the top floor near the hot tub and with a roof view.

The pool is small but very pleasant, the area is a bit edgy, but plenty of young college age people of all nationalities are easily found in 200m of the hotel. The hotel is on a small side street, where there is little traffic, it's about 100m from the Hotel Villa Colonia, which is run by the same family.

The day we arrived, there was a lightening storm and a bolt struck very near to our hotel. It blew out the sound on our TV and the internet at the hotel. Other places near by had interent but we lost ours. So they were very kind and let us use the internet facilities at the Villa Colonial.

Safety is good, the front gate is always locked, and you must be known to the staff to get in. The street is a bit run down as is the area, but I never felt unsafe. It's clear there are people in the area who are edgy and I'm sure you could get into trouble if you were looking for it, but in general it was acceptable to me and my Colombian girlfriend.

I would return again in a heart beat, it was really just a little gem at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Cheap, comfortable, lovely staff. It is very quiet at night so everyone can enjoy peaceful nights

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Villa Colonial
Casa Villa Colonial
#109 of 151 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#3 of 169 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#14 of 169 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
Papaya Hostal Getsemani
#20 of 169 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 169 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Escallon Hostel
Casa Escallon Hostel
#15 of 169 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Mara

Property: Hostal Casa Mara
Address: Calle del Espiritu Santo #29-139 | Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Casa Mara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 10 rooms in this hotel have all the comforts to make you feel at home. Some of the features you'll enjoy are internet access , cable TV, shower. The hotel boasts Wi - Fi in public areas , laundry service / dry cleaning, room service. Guests seeking exercise or leisure will be pleased to find garden at the hotel. Well located , a dedicated staff and quality services make this hotel a favorite among viajeros.Los guests can enjoy peace and tranquility in the pool Casa Mara offers all its guests. Guests can also relax in the hot tub and admire the charm of this beautiful home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Casa Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Casamara Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing