We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveler rating
290
119
31
13
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
119
31
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled city rooms are small beautiful hotel hot tub recommend this hotel old town walking distance a great place to stay location is great beautiful pool quiet street stayed here for nights the air conditioning rooftop apartment getsemani
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 467 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights. The room was upstairs and was very quiet and comfortable. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate with juice, coffee, toast, eggs and fruit. The location is great, on a quiet street close to everything and very safe.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank nellygiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

This is a good location for two or three nights. The water pressure and the AC is not good. The staff speaks zero English and it is hard to order breakfast. It is a quiet and cheap place for couples on a budget or a quick stay.

The two bedroom suite was great. The taxi pick up was good as well.

WIFi is horrible there.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank thomasm9283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

The staff was friendly and English was spoken. The common spaces were pretty and we never felt unsafe. The air conditioning in our unit worked well and was much appreciated. But I have to believe that the glowing reviews about Hotel Casa Gloria were left by people who stayed in rooms for two, most of which are in the back of the property.

We were traveling in a group of three, and I can't recommend this hotel for folks in our situation. We stayed in "an apartment" that can sleep five. There is a smaller unit that says it can sleep four.

Either of these units will be subject to the late evening intermittent procession of horses and carriages as they wrap up for the night. I've stayed several nights on the East Side of Manhattan, where the horse drawn carriages make their way toward stables under the 59th Street bridge at the end of the night, and the clip-clop of the hooves is magical. In Cartagena, the noise was horrendous. It sounds like anything hanging on a wall or sitting on a shelf is about to fall down. Our apartment had the upper space of an atrium between the front wall and the bedrooms; I can't imagine what the horses and carriages sound like in the 4-person studio.

As for the apartment at other times of the day, while a space that sleeps five might seem attractive to families, I wouldn't want to see a child under eight use the tilted stairs to the second floor.

For guests of any age, the bathrooms had significant problems. In both bathrooms, shower water never got hotter than lukewarm. Downstairs, the shower doesn't drain properly, and you'd need to be under 5' 11' to fit under the ultra modern shower head.
The downstairs bathroom sink spigot is short and provides a dribbling supply. The kitchen sink has an impressive spigot, but the water temperature is only hot. Upstairs, the bathroom is smaller; you have more knee room on an airplane's toilet. My traveling companions were not impressed by the shower.

The wifi worked in one corner of the living room. If possible, the refrigerator door needs to be reattached to it opens facing the room instead of the wall. The TV in one bedroom didn't work, but maybe it was just the remote; I gave up and just viewed the one downstairs.

Cartagena is relatively expensive. We had fewer options with more than two people in the room. We planned one night at a nice old hotel outside the walled city but we wanted to stay inside to get the most out of Cartagena, too. Oh, well.

Room tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the street.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EMKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to getsemani and other attractions, just a short cab ride from the airport,boca grande and castillo san felipe. clean and peaceful, the staff was just amazing Kevin at the front desk is very atentive and profesional, will help you with all the questions you migjt have as well as the rest of the staff, lovely breakfast included. Rooms are a bit small but did not mind at all, hot water, wifi, small pool and jacuzzi, air condition. will defenetly consider to stay here on my next visit in november, recomended 100%.

Gracias Kevin y Casa Gloria por hacer de mis vacaciones unas inolvidables. Adoro Cartagena.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank noNameGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018

We had a great stay at the Hotel Casa Gloria. It's an eclectic hotel in a nice, quiet area of the walled city. There are lots of great restaurants nearby and it's a short walk from the busier shopping district. The staff at the hotel was really friendly and helpful and breakfast was great! The wifi also worked really well!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews