We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, clean, good service”
Review of Hotel Casa Gloria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gloria
Ranked #49 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

When people complain about the size of a room, I usually think they are being picky because how much time do you really spend in a hotel. Well these rooms are TINY. You cannot even lay your suitcase somewhere without having to step over it when you want to go to the washroom. You cant use the sink without having to shut the door.


The AC is strong but makes a lot of noise.

The shower goes from hot to cold.


The staff is very very friendly.


They also made me change rooms but i have no idea why since I booked 2 nights off booking.com.

That being said, it is clean but rooms are basic and beyond small. If that does not bother you for the 85$ a night, then by all means stay here. I wouldn't stay here again if I had the choice. I would search somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadiantravelgirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcasagloria, Director General at Hotel Casa Gloria, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Melanie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the inconvinient.

Unfortunately we didn't have the single room available for you the first night and because we didn't think you would mind the change we gave you our double standard room which normally has a higher price.
Considering the circumstances we would have given you the second night in the same room for the same price but that room was already booked.

We wanted you to walk out the door feeling satisfied but we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at our hotel.

If you come back and stay with us again we will do our best to provide you with a better accomodation in order to meet your expectations.

Kind Regards
Bella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 427 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice small hotel, with the right price, which is something hard to find in downtown Cartagena. Unfortunately, rooms in the apartments are too small. All things considered it's a very nice place where to stay: the owners and staff attention is perfect. The swimming pool is very small but big enough to refresh yourself from the terrible heat of this town. Location is very good, far from the noise in the center and very close to everything you need to see. If I change hotel in the next visit to Cartagena it would be just out of curiosity, otherwise Casa Gloria is place that is worth visiting more than once.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pupil72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcasagloria, Director General at Hotel Casa Gloria, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
We truly appreciate your opinion and we will be happy to welcome you again at our hotel!
Hope to see you soon,

Kind Regards

Bella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Casa Gloria is this gorgeous, boutique hotel in the old part of town. From the moment you walk in the big heavy wood doors, the decor really takes your breath away.

The staff are so lovely here, really friendly and really helpful. We met Gloria and her daughter Bella while we were there-they are both so beautiful and really helped us find the best things to see and do while we were in Cartagena.

It's worth mentioning we booked 2 nights at Casa Gloria with the intention of going to Santa Marta or even to a different hotel. We loved Casa Gloria so much we ended up scraping that plan and staying 5 nights.

The only tip I would have is to ask someone there to give you a map of the city with Casa Gloria marked out. We didn't get one until the second day, and Cartagena is an easy place to get lost (trust me- this happened!) and not all taxi drivers know where it is as it isn't one of the big over the top hotels.

Would I recommend this? Absolutely, if you are going to Cartagena, get the full experience by staying in the old town, Casa Gloria is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtrain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcasagloria, Gerente at Hotel Casa Gloria, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Dtrain2011 (Flynn and Danielle),

Thank you so much for your opinion about our hotel. We were really happy that you chose us for your stay here in Cartagena and that you decided to stay those extra days.
All the staff thought you both were very easy going and we truly enjoyed being around such friendly guests as you.

We usually provide the map for all our guests as soon as they arrive at our hotel but we apologize for the delay with it and the directions. We have given our staff your suggestion and we made it clear that the map must be given to all the guests on the first day.

Here at Casa Gloria we do our best to make our guests feel like at home and to help them with anything they need. We appreciate your comments and we thank you for all the kind words about our hotel.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Casa Gloria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is located within the walls of the old city. The room was very clean and the ac was cold. My husband and I found the staff wonderful. Its located near exito a grocery store. We purchased wine and water and kept it in the hotel refrigerator. The hotel has a nice pool in the courtyard and a jacuzzi on the roof. I highly recommend this hotel for couples that are budget conscious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend. The room was on the small side but adequate and peaceful. That is probably the price you pay for a good location in the old town. The staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant and made our stay very enjoyable. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timkennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Even though the entire city was without water for the first day and a half of our stay, the hotel went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The entire staff was exceptionally friendly and the location cannot be beat. The rooms were nice and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LandonBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The pluses: it is well-located in the walled city, and the little pool in the courtyard and rooftop jacuzzi are most welcome places to cool off after exploring the old town.

Minuses: Though we had a reservation and a confirmation that said we were confirmed and didn't need to contact the hotel to reconfirm, a couple of weeks later the Casa Gloria sent an email saying that if we didn't reconfirm within 72 hours they would cancel our reservation. Then, once our trip was underway, the manager sent an email saying that we needed to call in our credit card info to keep our reservation. I called the hotel from Bogota -- not such an easy task in another country -- two times before I was able to leave the number. I would have much preferred that they require payment upon booking rather than trouble us three times over this booking.

Our room was small but the air conditioner worked well. The mattress was covered first with a plastic sheet, then a cotton one, which made the bed very warm. Neither sheet stayed on the bed through the night, however, popping off at the corners and exposing the mattress.

The listing in Trip Advisor says, "A complimentary manager's reception is offered in the afternoon each day." This is nonexistent. We think what is meant is that the reception area is manned by someone, complimentarily.

The breakfast is also disappointing, consisting of an arepa, fake orange juice, coffee, fruit, and a slice of lunch meat or a fried egg.

All in all, this was the least nice of our three hotels in Colombia.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tannenbaum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 158 in Cartagena
941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#60 of 158 in Cartagena
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#50 of 158 in Cartagena
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#38 of 158 in Cartagena
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 158 in Cartagena
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gloria

Address: San Pedro Martir 10-11, Cartagena 400, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $77 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gloria 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay inside the walled City in elegance and style. Relax in a family inviroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Casa Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing