We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It depends...”
Review of Hotel Casa Gloria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gloria
Ranked #45 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“It depends...”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Casa Gloria. Nini Johanna, the day manager was fabulous-friendly, gracious, and attentive. She saw to our every need and smoothed over (m)any glitches. The location is great, walking distance to most of the attractions in the old walled city. Confirm what room you have before you go, some of the rooms are so small, that they can only fit the double bed and no other furniture, although the larger rooms and apartments are quite spacious. Nini Johanna was one of the bright highlights of our two week stay in Columbia.

Room Tip: Confirm what type/size of room you will have
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    100
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
62
206
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, usa
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Casa Gloria in Cartagena, Colombia for a week in April of this year. In addition to staying at the Casa Gloria, we decided to spend a few days on the beach in Bocagrande at the Hotel Caribe (yes,the infamous Hotel Caribe). We arrived in Cartagena just after the news of the Secret Service scandal broke.

Our stay at the Casa Gloria was by far the best part of our trip. The Casa Gloria is located in the quaint walled Old City area of Cartagena, which is full of charm, interesting architecture, color, restaurants and most of all friendly and vibrant people. The staff at the Casa Grande could not have been nicer and were extremely helpful with suggestions for various sites and res truants. The room we had was on the small side, but it was clean,well decorated, had a great air conditioner, an unusually large modern bathroom and shower, and was reasonably priced. The breakfasts were always something we looked forward to every morning. Always something different. I would highly recommend the Casa Gloria if you want to get the real feel of life in Cartagena. The following link are some of the photos that I took while in Cartagena.

https://picasaweb.google.com/oceanman22/CartagenaColombia#

Room Tip: They have larger rooms and suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Paid $90us per night, lovely property, great location in Old City right next to Exito grocery store. Room could have suited 1 person but not enough room to walk around bed with 2 peoples luggage. Great breakfast. We happened to be there same time as group of Spaniards who came in drunk and as everyone opens onto courtyard, noise echoes and several guests had to complain before they stumbled to bed; night man shouldve been on them, it was 4am. Gloria is sweet and offered us a bigger room for same price but we ended up going back to Getsemani for suite with kitchen and living room. Nice toiletries & robe but AC was either full blast or off. Good for single person who wants affordable safe location but not space. Nice pool, but did see ashtrays & with several smokers would be a confined area without much airflow. No time to check if roof terrace.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I took a trip to Cartagena at the end of my business conference in Bogota, that was a great idea. And research told me that staying in the old city was a good idea - so far so good. I then looked at the list - and there are some really fancy prices. As I was staying on my own I eschewed the opportunity to stay at one of the fabulous (and they are FABULOUS) old colonia houses that have been converted (my walking tour took most of the min and I would recommend La Passion or the Santa Clara if you want to splurge and are in a couple). I opted for a lower cost option. And Casa Gloria was fine, It had a pool, roof terrace, the breakfast was fine, it was safe, but the room was damp and smelt damp; and had little natural light, and the service was erratic at best. Other rooms, especially the suites seemed better. It is well locatd and safe, though I had rather a late night on the Saturday and had a real job to get the night porter to wake up at 0530 on Sunday morning! All that said, I was greeted with a smile, and Nini Johanna, the day manager, was so helpful and charming. Don;t expect too much English to be spoken either. Over all it was a 6/10 expereince.

Room Tip: Ask for one with external windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontraveller1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It's a small and charming private hotel in the Old City. We stayed there 3 nights in quite big room for 3 persons, with bathroom and kitchen. Clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was a bit disapointing, just to start a day. Location is great, as it's close to the main city attractions. People are nice and helpful, but it's much better if you speak spanish :).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Intimate, relaxed and friendly. Hotel Casa Gloria was Gloria's home. Today it is a lovely hotel and our home for the past 5 nights. We've had a great time there and can happily recommend it to other couples and young families looking for a comfortable place to stay and return to after a day's hard meandering and wandering through the streets of the Old Town. What makes this hotel truly different is its staff; ever helpful and always willing to forgive and find a way through our stuttering Spanish. We will miss the place and remember the people.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 - a great shower !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wycombewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We just came back from Cartagena and we stayed at Hotel Casa Gloria, it is charming, small and you get personal attention. It is very close to the center of the city and you can walk easily inside the Old city. Everybody in the hotel is very nice and ready to help you out with any questions you might have. It is very clean and comfortable. There is no noise at night and you can use the pool, jacuzzi and a nice terrace on the top of the house where you can see Cartagena from above. The room was a bit small but not really a problem as you spend your time outside.The price is very good considering you are in the old city. Very safe and a great place to stay!

Room Tip: our room was good for us, 2 adults and one teenager, probably not good for bigger families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#47 of 155 in Cartagena
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
#58 of 155 in Cartagena
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Banderas
Hotel 3 Banderas
#50 of 155 in Cartagena
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#63 of 155 in Cartagena
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 155 in Cartagena
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#59 of 155 in Cartagena
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gloria

Property: Hotel Casa Gloria
Address: San Pedro Martir 10-11, Cartagena 400, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gloria 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay inside the walled City in elegance and style. Relax in a family inviroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing