We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel with Apartment Option”
Review of Hotel Casa Gloria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gloria
Ranked #41 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel with Apartment Option”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were a group of 5 friends and chose Casa Gloria because it had the option of an apartment where we could all stay together. There was a little confusion on arrival as the apartment was not available for our first night so we were offered two rooms until the following day when we moved into the apartment. Further confusion was whether our apartment booking included breakfast (we were told it did not) whereas when able to check the details our booking was for breakfast included. By this time we had gone and bought supplies (there is a large Exito supermarket very close by). The apartment had two double bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs via a spiral staircase and slept three downstairs with another bathroom. The kitchen was great to have and anything it lacked we were able to ask Marlea and borrow from the main kitchen. Miguel was always helpful - especially re getting the wifi system working for us. Javier recommended La Mulatta to eat (a great place for lunch just over a block away) and also helped arrange transport to Mompox for us (our Spanish was not up to fast talkers on the phone). The hotel is walking distance from everything in the old city and the courtyard pool and rooftop jacuzzi great options to relax in after exploring the beautiful sights of Cartagena. We would recommend this hotel to others - we were just a little disappointed about the apartment being double booked and the confusion of whether our booking included breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreativeRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    100
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
203
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

stayed here for a couple of nights following a wedding holiday in Colombia and found it wonderful. The room was small yes, but the communal areas were all lovely - with a rooftop pool/jacuzzi type space, and then a plunge pool in the courtyard.

As someone has already stated, the breakfast was same same, but its same same throughout colombia, so i'm not sure what they were expecting!

The owner is a little full on sometimes, but not in a bad way - he's just friendly old guy who likes to chat! Also, very helpfully sent one of his staff on a bit of a wild goose chase on my behalf to deal with some post, which i thought was very kind. And def. no markup therre - they even gave me receipts to show me they weren't overcharging me!

Overall a very nice place and i'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oracle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My grown daughter and i are both frequent travelers - we have covered well over 50 countries, on 6 continents. We have also lived abroad. We wanted some sun, some sand and hopefully some culture this trip; but were eager to avoid hurricanes. We decided that Cartagena, Colombia looked good, and indeed it was! No small part of what made this portion of this trip so delightful was our stay at Casa Gloria.

The hotel is located perfectly within the old city walls, but quite close to the more "real" parts of the city - (the places where you can buy contact lens solution at 10 pm).
The Casa is set up in traditional fashion with rooms around a lovely, intimate courtyard. This courtyard has a small, and absolutely delicious swimming pool, that faces the open kitchen area where breakfast is served and internet is available 24/7. Additionally there was an, always available, endless source of purified water right outside the room - a huge savings from the need to buy bottles.

What REALLY sets this hotel experience apart, though, is the staff. Miguel, who is always there to let you in at anytime of night, greeting you with his charming authenticity and offers of help; anything can be attended to at anytime, Marlea and Judy who keep everything clean and well stocked, and cook perfect eggs, and Javier, who arranges things, frequently presaging your needs before you're even aware of them! We had a 10 out of 10 time at Casa Gloria, and so did all of the other guests that we met there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artemis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottaviano, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Absolutely wonderful. No other words could describe better the atmosphere that you will breath in this hotel.The owner, Gloria and her husband are delicious people, and so the hole stuff, with don Miguel always ready for all of your esigencies, and Miss Marlene and Javier ready for informations and cleaning\kitchen support. You will be like in your own home, you can stay with friends and welcome them (in a civil way, obviously).
You will join the pool in the hall, the jacuzzi on the third floor, the wifi connection (not so spread somewhere else)with a personal computer at disposition of the guests. The rooms are very fine, there is air conditioned, plasma television, fan, bathrooms comfortables..

The hotel is in the center of the old city, the "muralla", the real attractive place of the hole city.. close to a good and supplied supermarket (Exito) ,in about 3 minutes of slow walk you will be in Plaza Santo Domingo, the Hard Rock Cafe, the club "TuCandela" and in 5 minutes in the astonishing and suggestive Cafè Del Mar. To visit Bocagrande is sufficient call a taxi from the hotel (Miguel or Javier will take absolute care of that), and at the same time they can organize you trips to the Islas Del Rosario, el Volcan de Tomudo, and wherever you will wish.

My personal advice: if you you go to Cartagena, join this house, you won't regret it..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuglielmoBifulco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Casa Gloria. The room was small but very clean and the staff were super friendly. Gloria herself was available to answer our questions and give us recommendations on good places to eat. They even lent us a Lonely Planet book about Cartagena that we were free to take with us as we toured the city. Gloria's husband was also extremely kind and picked us up at the airport for free (plus he speaks English)! The hotel is small but has a lovely courtyard and a rooftop jacuzzi. Breakfast is included as well, but it is a very modest breakfast - good coffee, fruit, toast, cereal, and arepas on occasion. The location is perfect for enjoying the sites within Cartagena's Walled City and is a short walk or cab ride to nearby Gestemani and the Castillo de San Felipe. Very affordable, highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabladyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great location, rooms small and clean, gorgeous pool and jacuzzi on roof top.Our first night was wonderful but second night was a disaster. There were loud very drunk people screaming, slamming doors and fighting at 4am so we didn't sleep. The night staff should have kicked these people out who were intimidating and scaring us but they didn't and didn't even apologize. Too bad because Casa Gloria has great potential but needs better security or staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Casa Gloria has potential. The property is gorgeous, the kitchen/living/pool area is very homey. The first floor rooms facing the street are loud. If you are looking for a room that is quiet, has a safe, and room to walk around in, it is important to ask for this when booking a room in this hotel. We were picked up from the airport for no additional charge which was good and staff communicated through email reliably. Staff could have provided a better tour of the property to orient guests on how to take advantage of the jacuzzi and outdoor showers on the top floor. Eggs and cereal should be a standard part of breakfast. We checked out early opting for another Cartagena hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeingTheWorld77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#43 of 155 in Cartagena
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Banderas
Hotel 3 Banderas
#44 of 155 in Cartagena
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#57 of 155 in Cartagena
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
Hotel Kartaxa Cartagena
#56 of 155 in Cartagena
247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.3 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#55 of 155 in Cartagena
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gloria

Property: Hotel Casa Gloria
Address: San Pedro Martir 10-11, Cartagena 400, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gloria 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay inside the walled City in elegance and style. Relax in a family inviroment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casa Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing