We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”
Review of Vera

Vera
Ranked #88 of 698 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chef Daniel Castano of Bogota’s Emilia Romagna restaurant brings his authentic Italian coastal cuisine to VERA, a 50-seat restaurant and lounge set within The Tcherassi Hotel’s historic colonial mansion and interior lush garden. Indoors, the restored, original 250 year old stone wall stretches from the imported Australian floor up to the distinuished wood ceiling and beams made from rescued Colombian Guayacan and Ceiba. Modern mirrors adorn the backlit wall in a unique contrast that reflects the activity throughout the space and brings the outside in with vivid reflections of the lush garden waiting outside. Dress Code is casual elegant; men have to wear long trousers and collar shirt
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had dinner here last night after a terrible lunch at The Sofitel, and it was absolutely delicious !! I'm a very fussy eater and I could have easily eaten all of my pasta, but I wanted room for dessert which was soooo good, their take on creme brûlée !
We tryed two different types of pasta, both of which i would have again, one was a stuffed ravioli and the other a penne with meat sauce ! Happily we're going back again on Saturday with friends !
All our wait staff were excellent, friendly, happy and smiling :-) !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traceypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    106
    59
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This beautiful hole in the wall was a fabulous find. We went there two days in a row becasue it was just that good. With a beautiful pool as the focal point, a wall of water, fresh flowers and lovely restored architecture make Vera a very welcoming place to spend the afternoon. The beef carpaccio was decadent as was the pumpkin risotto. Oh and the deep fried chick peas with red onion are not to be missed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wear Only White and you'll fit in beautifully - spectacular setting in small hotel - food delicious and nice to share - both starters and mains - very fresh and delightful service - good, tho expensive, house wine

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NPWNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had to come back”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The decor is amazing (minimalist). Very good food. Try the Spuma of Creme brûlée. Its the best! Service is good, price is a bit prohibitive (especially the wine list which starts at COP$100.000).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobo189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Triumph of hope over experience !”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Back in Cartagena for 10 days so thought I'd give it another try. Reading the comments here I have to believe everyone writing reviews for this restaurant must be friends of Silvia Tcherassi and the chef or simply eat most of the meals at MacDonalds and Denny's.

The food is simply uncreative and poorly presented. Italian ? This is not Toscano in Boston or Harry's in Venice ! Not even close ! Who is the chef here ? Fire him ! The prices are so absurd that one would think you are eating at the Four Seasons.

The service was fine but not that of a 5 star hotel. No one smiles and the atmosphere is not friendly. This is unfortunate as having live here for years, I find most Cartageneros are extremely friendly.

Silvia - get a new chef and a few good sous-chefs. I gave it another try - twice fooled. Won't do it again until you do.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newmansown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGtravel, Manager at Vera, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry your experience at VERA didn't meet your expectations. We take great pride in the cuisine and environment we deliver to our guests. If you have any specific suggestions or comments we can share with the chef and his team we are happy to do so. Next time you are in Cartagena, please do stop by and be our guest for a cocktail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vera also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing