We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to come back”
Review of Vera

Vera
Ranked #88 of 689 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $75
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chef Daniel Castano of Bogota’s Emilia Romagna restaurant brings his authentic Italian coastal cuisine to VERA, a 50-seat restaurant and lounge set within The Tcherassi Hotel’s historic colonial mansion and interior lush garden. Indoors, the restored, original 250 year old stone wall stretches from the imported Australian floor up to the distinuished wood ceiling and beams made from rescued Colombian Guayacan and Ceiba. Modern mirrors adorn the backlit wall in a unique contrast that reflects the activity throughout the space and brings the outside in with vivid reflections of the lush garden waiting outside. Dress Code is casual elegant; men have to wear long trousers and collar shirt
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had to come back”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The decor is amazing (minimalist). Very good food. Try the Spuma of Creme brûlée. Its the best! Service is good, price is a bit prohibitive (especially the wine list which starts at COP$100.000).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobo189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    103
    57
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Triumph of hope over experience !”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Back in Cartagena for 10 days so thought I'd give it another try. Reading the comments here I have to believe everyone writing reviews for this restaurant must be friends of Silvia Tcherassi and the chef or simply eat most of the meals at MacDonalds and Denny's.

The food is simply uncreative and poorly presented. Italian ? This is not Toscano in Boston or Harry's in Venice ! Not even close ! Who is the chef here ? Fire him ! The prices are so absurd that one would think you are eating at the Four Seasons.

The service was fine but not that of a 5 star hotel. No one smiles and the atmosphere is not friendly. This is unfortunate as having live here for years, I find most Cartageneros are extremely friendly.

Silvia - get a new chef and a few good sous-chefs. I gave it another try - twice fooled. Won't do it again until you do.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newmansown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGtravel, Manager at Vera, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry your experience at VERA didn't meet your expectations. We take great pride in the cuisine and environment we deliver to our guests. If you have any specific suggestions or comments we can share with the chef and his team we are happy to do so. Next time you are in Cartagena, please do stop by and be our guest for a cocktail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were in Vera last night and we liked it a lot. The service was attempitive and warm. Well trained staff for the local standards. We had 2 small incidents and they reacted correctly and with ellegance. Food was very good. Drinks were very well prepared, good wine list for the local standards. The atmosphere is really wonderfull! One thing to be improved: the chairs are covered with a sintetic material and with the humid and very hot weathe it made us feel really warm and uncorfortable after a little while! A little pricy but definitely worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is the most expensive restaurant in Cartagena. Nothing to write home about. It's more like a trendy lounge bar than a restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelSavvy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italy in Columbia”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Outstanding Italian cuisine in an architectural gem. We had excellent service by Roger and would definitely return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRGOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vera also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing