We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in center of old town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Ranked #43 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Kensington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel in center of old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

As a solo female traveler safety as well as comfort and affordability are considerations when choosing a hotel. This hotel fulfilled all those requirements. The rooms are located around an attractive central atrium with a small pool and walls covered with an array of flowers and vines. Rooms are air conditioned while outside spaces are not. The included free breakfast is served on the open 5th floor, and provides an extensive menu. The hotel is located in the middle of the old town so it is easy to walk around and enjoy the bustling activity, including nearby restaurants. It is a $15 cab ride from the port and a $10 cab ride to the airport.

Room Tip: My room was in the back of the hotel on the 4th floor, distant from the street and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    197
    76
    14
    6
See reviews for
75
220
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great hotel! Extremely well located and with great service! When I had problems with another hotel, even in high season, Jennifer (one of the managers) went out of her way to find me an alternative. They have a little pool, great breakfast buffet and rooms are very romantic and spacious, especially the suite ones. A great find!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

A Colombian friend directed us to Macondo travel to help us find the best deal, and we paid less than the hotel was listed for on the major travel sites, but when we asked at the desk, they told we could get he same rate if we booked directly. That being said, we paid much less than any other hotel we looked into in the walled city. The room was a little on the small side, but we weren't there to spend a lot of time in the room. The staff was friendly and as others have said, the breakfast on the rooftop was excellent. I especially liked that rooftop area was available all day for complimentary coffee, or just to chill out, or check e-mail on their wi-fi.It was the perfect location to walk to just about anything in he old city.

Room Tip: Most oft the rooms were on the inside courtyard, but a few are on the street, which would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clrwtrjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in october 2013 for the second time. We booked this hotel as we got a very good deal and we knew what to expect:

- Great Location, 100 m from Plaza San Diego
- Clean
- Friendly service
- Beaufiful buliding - and roof terrace.
- Nice common areas
- Fantastic breakfast - both food and service.
- Average rooms - dark, poor decoration, beds were ok, but I would not refer to them as confortable, bathrooms are acceptable but in no way great.

In short: stay at this hotel if you get a good deal, but dont't pay usd 250/night expecting a luxury hotel because it certainly is not.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ergaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Don Pedro de Heredia hotel is in the heart of the old walled city of Cartagena. It is close (walking distance) to all the attractions. The hotel is an updated colonial house with clean but simple rooms. The open courtyard is beautiful with a small pool on the ground floor. Breakfast is included and served on the roof top deck and has an abundant selection . The only things lacking are: poor intermittent internet service and lack of communication between front desk staff, particularly over shift changes. We tried to make tour reservations with the front desk staff and were unsuccessful because of this lack of communication and ended up making reservations ourselves. Regardless, definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank styaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BremertonWA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

December 2013 - You can stay in a luxurious hotel but miss the flavor of the walled city which is invaluable. Because of the location, we were able to really experience the history and the climate of the walled city. The hotel is very comfortable - would recommend a junior suite with the extra space and seating. The hotel was quiet and as stated in prior reviews, the staff was so gracious and helped us with so many questions and recommendations. The tourist area is very safe with many security guard everywhere with wonderful restaurants. We think that the price was extremely reasonable for the location, staff and room quality.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor in a junior suite. It was quiet and convenient for breakfast elevator, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyBremerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The best things about this hotel are the location and the staff. Located in the heart of the walled City you are close to everything: shopping, good restaurants, very nice parks and you're surrounded by exquisite ancient architecture. The staff are very friendly and helpful - really sweet and helpful people.

The hotel is built around a central interior courtyard meaning that most rooms don't have an external facing window, so they are pretty dark. This design also makes noise carry into the rooms quite a bit but not enough to disturb our rest.

Rooms are of reasonable size but nothing special. Our hot water never worked properly, which is disappointing at $100 per day but not really a big problem when temps are in the 90's.

There is a very nice rooftop terrace with a great view of the area where they serve a good - not great- breakfast. No other food service though.

We were here around New Years which probably explains the high price they charged. Over all I liked this hotel but would try another place if I return to Cartagena.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a door facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maguiredan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#44 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Gloria
Hotel Casa Gloria
#37 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
Hotel Boutique las Carretas
#22 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#13 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#16 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia

Property: Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Address: Centro Calle Primera de Badillo No 35-74 | Centro amurallado, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia is a kind Boutique Hotel Bed & Breakfast and our rates include Buffet Service (7:00 to 10:30 a.m.) and hotel insurance.Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia Our hotel is an old restored colonial House of five floors situated in the heart of the beautiful old city of Cartagena de India.With its favorable location just steps from all sites of historic interest, tourist and business heart of the city, Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia is proposed as the best choice for your stay in Cartagena. Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia offers to its costumers services and comforts to make agreeable its stays in Cartagena like panoramic Solarium overlooking to the old city, where you can take the sun in the day or having fun in nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing