We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Ranked #49 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Nice hotel in a great location in Old Town, Cartagena. You can walk everywhere from here. Very convenient. I stayed two nights in December 2011.

My room was comfortable - big bed, but maybe a little hard, but still quite acceptable. Air Con worked very well. Take note that your hot water temperate is set under the vanity so you will need to adjust it if you want it hotter or cooler.

Staff friendly and the people I spoke to at reception spoke some English and, in fact, wanted to use me to practice their English on! And the hotel helped me arrange a short two hour tour of the rest of Cartagena.

Breakfast is included and served on the rooftop. Breakfast is quite adequate - not over the top, but still quite satisfactory.

The hotel even has a small swimming pool in the courtyard area behind reception - sort of indoor/outdoor.

All round, I was happy with my choice of hotel and don't really have anything negative to say about it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Animatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

The hotel is very nicely decorated, with brick walls and a nice roof terrace where breakfast is served.
Rooms are not big but ok (we had a standard room). The problem is that they have no windows (there is only a small window on the corridor) hence you need to keep the AC on all the time otherwise the room have a strong musty smell.
In theory there is hot water, in practice in 2 out of the 3 nights we spent here the hot water wasn't working.
The pool is nice but it's almost indoor so don't expect to be sunbathing. We never used it.
The service is terrible, the hotel staff couldn't care less about the clients and they are incredibly slow and not helpful.
The location is fantastic, in the heart of Cartagena. There is an excellent restaurant very close by (La Perla - strongly recommend it)
The price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Augustus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Before going into a vacation rental, I had one night to spend at a hotel in Cartagena. Based on booking engines, I chose Don Pedro de Heredia. It was a grave disappointment.

I arrived at 9:30 pm and it took them at least 20 minutes to let me into the hotel. I banged on the door, rang the bell, etc. Finally another guest let me in. And upon entry, there was a receptionist sitting at the desk. He did not speak English but I speak Spanish and I asked if he had heard me. He said he did but was busy helping other guests register. After he completed their registration he proceeded to check me in. He was very detached, seemed wholly uninterested in providing service. I was given a room on the second floor that was adequate but hardly luxurious. The art on the walls looked as though it was salvaged from a flea market. There was no blanket on the bed, just a bed sheet. The bed was hard.

In the morning I took breakfast on the rooftop. The breakfast was good, with an assortment of fruits, eggs, etc. But again the service was atrocious. The woman who waited on me would drop things on the table without making eye contact. When I made a request she would comply, but again without speaking or making eye contact. This was a very bizarre experience.

Having made several visits to Cartagena, I have noted that service is generally poor, but this was a new low in rudeness and inefficiency. The rooms were nothing to write home about. I would not recommend this hotel - surely there are other hoteliers in Cartagena who would make you feel more welcome and provide more comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYinTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very nice and comfortable hotel in wonderful Colonial architecture. Well maintained, very clean, great location in the center of the Old Town and comfortable & decent size rooms with all the amenities one could want (including great air-condition).
Staff was very friendly and most of the reception staff does speak some English.
The best feature is the wonderful rooftop with a nice view where you could sunbathe and where the breakfast is taken. I just could not get enough of it.
Overall I was very pleasantly surprised
Be aware: Get mentally prepared for the (sometimes annoying) street merchants in Cartagena. Also, if you need to change money in a currency exchange office (there are plentiful) ask as many as you can for their exchange rates as they vary up to 25 %.

Room Tip: The rooms NOT facing the street (which are most - if not all - of the standard rooms) are very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max_Max_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed two nights at this hotel. It is well placed in the old town and comfortable although the double room was rather small. We also had a room on the first floor towards the front which suffered from the noise of staff early in the morning - ask for a room towards the back of the hotel. The location of the breakfaast room is good but I would rate the breakfast as average - limited fruit available when we were there. Although most staff were helpful there was one member of the reception staff who appeared indifferent almost to the point of being rude.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floors or towards the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Cartagena de Indias was the second and last stop on an eight day vacation in Colombia. My friend and I could not have been more delighted by the city and people. Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia (named after the Spanish Commander who founded the city) was a great place to call home. It is well situated in the old city, within walking distance of almost everything. The staff is friendly and several speak English which is helpful if you speak little or no Spainish. Yesid or Martin were always at the desk and helped us book a trip to Volcano Totumo, scuba diving with Cartagena Divers, and directions to other sites and restaurants. One of the best forts I've seen is Castillo de San Felipe de Barajas which is a good walk, but doable. Yesid is great fun to talk with as well and a consummate hotel clerk. The room, typical of many South and Central Americans hotels, was dark with a small window for ventilation. But it was big, enough closet space, nice bathroom, and good AC. There is a small pool on the ground floor which is good for just cooling off. The rooftop breakfast area is lovely, the breakfast filling and delicious, and in early evening there is a wonderful outdoor sitting area over the kitchen. It's also a great place to listen to early evening sounds of the city, enjoy a late beer with friends (buy it at the food store two doors down) and watch the sun set below the buildings.

Right outside the doors of the hotel is a bustling commercial district, a few blocks in one direction lies a fun little park around which is the classy Hotel Santa Clara, several nice restaurants and a few outdoor cafes, good for a refreshing drink at the end of a hot day. A few blocks in the other direction you'll find wonderful outdoor dining with interesting shops and street life. I especially recommend Krioyo for a great dining experience. The walled city is easy to walk around and safe. Don't miss having a drink on the wall at sunset at Cafe del Mar. Simply Beautiful! Across the bay you see the lights of the modern white architecture of new Cartagena twinkle on, looking much like Miami. It can be tricky finding your way back in the late evening when all the shops close up and barricade their windows taking away all landmarks, but it is fun wandering the streets as the last horse drawn carriages take late night couples on a romantic ride.

The only drawback on check out was a few added charges. My friend who speaks Spanish was able to navigate this. Be prepared throughout Colombia, the machine can suddenly go down when you try to pay with a credit card. The truth is they just prefer cash. We did not have enough cash to pay the hotel and once they realized we were not going to go to an ATM and take it out, the credit card machine suddenly started working. It can be frustrating, but is also part of the excitment of traveling in other cultures.

Room Tip: Ask to see several rooms before you settle in. There is substantial difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r_dickens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here with another couple of friends.
We all agreed the hotel its very charming and good located so you can experience in full the Old city lifestyle.
I've seen a few comments regarding A/C, I found it fine not noisy at all!
Rooms lack a bit of fresh air and light but nothing that we couldn't live with.
Swimming pool its really too small and not very inviting. If you are looking for a hotel with a nice swimming pool I would check other options.
Breakfast was basic but very nice, fresh omelettes, and some typical Colombian food like mini-arepas and the chef its very friendly!
Overall we had a good time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemini22Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#59 of 157 in Cartagena
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
#15 of 157 in Cartagena
934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Bustamante Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#22 of 157 in Cartagena
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#19 of 157 in Cartagena
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alfiz Hotel
Alfiz Hotel
#5 of 157 in Cartagena
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia

Address: Centro Calle Primera de Badillo No 35-74 | Centro amurallado, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $69 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia is a kind Boutique Hotel Bed & Breakfast and our rates include Buffet Service (7:00 to 10:30 a.m.) and hotel insurance.Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia Our hotel is an old restored colonial House of five floors situated in the heart of the beautiful old city of Cartagena de India.With its favorable location just steps from all sites of historic interest, tourist and business heart of the city, Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia is proposed as the best choice for your stay in Cartagena. Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia offers to its costumers services and comforts to make agreeable its stays in Cartagena like panoramic Solarium overlooking to the old city, where you can take the sun in the day or having fun in nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing