We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Beautiful hotel, I love it. I really recommend it. The staff the best, rooms awesome,,,,, you will enjoy the infinity pool and the view. The city is beautiful, the people are friendly. Great food and restaurants in the area. Love this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleiniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, October 7, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all the comments of our guests and use them to improve our services. Hope to have you back soon and offer you a great experience.
Regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    55
    15
    13
    17
See reviews for
44
139
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

A great light and airy hotel, in Cartagena, rooms are spacious and very comfortable, double rain showers and an indoor garden, with good wi-fi add to the gracious high ceilings in the bedrooms and public rooms. Breakfast was delightful, and served beautifully. The hotel team were helpful and knowledgable, and efficient. Great rooftop pool with wonderful views of this splendid city by the Caribbean sea. Like staying with caring friends, and a place to return to and an excellent plce to explore from.

Room Tip: Choose the best room you can, none will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Perfectly sited in the Old Town, with a staff that does not quit on pleasantness: Melissa, Natalie, Daniel, Osman, etc.... all are charming and helpful.

I had a perfect stay and will return again, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: I loved my room: 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katten41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We didn't actually stay here as we had booked somewhere else, but paid to use their pool 3 days in a row.
We wanted somewhere to go other than the beach - as we really didn't like Boca Grande due to being hassled SO much by women wanting to give massages. So we sought out a nice pool. And nice we got! The view literally took our breath away and has to be the best in the walled city. Yes, we had to pay 100,000 pesos each for the day but that included food and drink up to the value of the fee. Unlike other hotels such as the Santa Clara or the Charleston who all make you pay a fee and then any food and drinks are added on to that. The Movich is great value - we ate lunch and dinner there and had drinks all day!
It was bliss and I would do it again. Thank you Movich for allowing us to use your pool.
And for those of you thinking of staying, the hotel is absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieReds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We arrived Cartagena yesterday and were quite disappointed to find ourselves in a twin-bedded and very small room with a poor view. We had requested a room with a queen- or king-sized bed (there aren't a lot of hotels in Colombia with kings). In any event, we were upgraded to a premium room with a balcony and the room is at least double the size of the original. The service here is incomparable to anything we have experienced before.

Colombia is an amazing country to explore, it's people exceedingly warm and friendly, and truly a memorable experience to visit places as yet undiscovered by tourists. In many small towns we have been stared at as foreign white skin is not frequently seen.

We have felt very, very safe here the past eighteen days and would heartily endorse visiting this lovely country, and by all means, stay at the Movich in Cartagena!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Firdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

There are dozens of charming courtyard style renovated hotels in Cartagena, but the Movich offers sophisticated contemporary ambiance. Rooms are spacious with unique textural surfaces,
bathroom includes rain shower with exterior glass wall and sea views. The fabulous roof deck
features a spacious pool, hot tub, bar and remarkable views of the old city, harbor and skyscrapers of Bocagrande. Food is delicious and moderately priced. Personnel are beyond helpful. The location is ideal. I can't imagine a better choice in Cartagena.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th or 6th floor rooms to get best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BG1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This a fantastic hotel. I recommend it 100%. Rooms are extremely nice and very big. Bathroom is gigantic and very comfortable. Reception staff is very helpful, especially Natalia that helped us every time with anything that we needed. Bell boy, Rafael was outstanding, going beyond to help us. His restaurant recommendations were great .
Breakfast was included and it was also excellent. WIFI was very good too.
Roof top pool and bar were also perfect.
Location was excellent, inside the city walls and very close from the port were all trips start to the islands.
I did not give it 5 starts only because of 1 issue: there is no place in the room to put your clothes. The closet is full of frigobar stuff and no empty spaces to put your clothes. you were able to hang some of them, but thats it. I really did not understand why as they have plenty space in the room to put drawers. Anyway, we had to keep our clothes in the suitcases.
Besides that minor issue, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pato_River
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias

Property: Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias
Address: Calle Velez Danies # 4 - 39 | Centro Historico, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartagena was declared National Heritage of Colombia in 1959 and Historical and Cultural Heritage by UNESCO in 1984. The hotel is strategically located in the historic center of the city, next to the Plaza de la Aduana, very close to the best options for shopping, dining, historical tours and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing