We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb boutique hotel in the centre of the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Superb boutique hotel in the centre of the old town”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our second stay at this lovely boutique hotel right in the centre of the old town of Cartagena. The rooms are modern, very large, and very well appointed. We had room 602 which is on a corner with commanding views of the Plaza de Bolivar, the Caribbean Sea, a bit of Bocagrande and most of the old town towards the North and East. The hotel is small so one does not see many other guests around. Breakfasts are superb, with a selection of international and local delicacies. Do not miss the arepa de huevos. We did not try the restaurant for dinner. One of the best things about this hotel is its roof terrace which has a small pool and a trendy bar plus lots of loungers to sit, read or enjoy the view of the entire city. The staff is very well trained and always greeted us with a smile.

Room Tip: Best to get a room on the top floor (6th), hopefully on the corner, towards Plaza de Bolivar or with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    58
    16
    13
    17
See reviews for
44
143
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I didn't stay here, but on advice went to the rooftop bar with friends for a drink. Do it. You'll have a great view of the sunset and great views of the entire city including the new and old parts. I can't recommend this enough.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to complain about this hotel. Enjoyed the relaxing rooftop and pool deck view. Was able to look around and see the entire old city from my rooftop perch. Ordered breakfast, had a glass of wine and took a dip in the pool. Was a great touch to my already great trip to Cartagena.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiveez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A small luxury hotel conveniently located in the Old Town of Cartagena, with all the necessary amenities to enjoy the premises (very comfortable rooms with air conditioning, nice restaurant with excellent cuisine -don´t forget to try the fantastic breakfast-, a swimming pool located at the top of the building -6th floor- with very comfortable chairs to sunbath, a bar and a Jacuzzi, the perfect place to enjoy a beautiful view of the surroundings, and last but not least, the warm and very attentive staff!).

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor rooms with view to Pedro Claber church are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAUL Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here three nights on the fifth floor in a luxury city view room. The room was spacious, had a big enough desk for both of us to use our computers at the same time and a lovely two person shower with two ceiling rain-showerheads. We had fun showering together without being crowded at all. From our windows we could see over the tops of the old city buildings all the way to the ocean. At night we could see a church dom beautifully lit up. The location was perfect for walking around the ancient walled city with multiple choices for restaurants within a few blocks. The rooftop swimming pool, jacuzzi and bar area was a magical place to have a few drinks or just hang out. Breakfast was included and we found the local dishes (especially the egg and ground meat stuffed arepas) were delicious as was the fresh fruit plate offered every morning. We asked for special juice made from local fruit such as lulo and the staff happily obliged - getting it made fresh for us at no extra charge. The staff all during our stay were helpful and friendly. The only negative was that one of our nights the rooftop pool area was closed for a private party. Not the best move for a luxury hotel to do as that meant we were deprived of the best area in the hotel from 3pm onwards and the party noise disturbed us late into the night. However everything else about the hotel was delightful and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked a luxury king room and as SLH honoured guests were offered a free upgrade to a premium roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed there because I wanted to try. Building and rooms are very nice, even though the bathroom was open to the living room and I don't like this at all. But service is very regular, when asking for a taxi they said, "go to the corner and grab one" . Breakfast is terrible, I don't understand why it isn't a buffet, instead its two guys running all over, forgetting everything and taking forever, I ordered a cereal and they charged me extra, and when they brought the invoice price was higher than the menu... then along the day you could see same waitress from the breakfast at the pool... seems like they want to save on salaries.

Restaurant is extremely expensive, I prefer going to San Pedro 2 blocks away. We arrived at 3pm and room took about 1 hour to be ready.

I won't stay here again, night is more than 350usd, and for 400 I could stay at Santa Clara or Santa Teresa.

Positive: The bed was one of the best I ever stayed. Pool is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdnaPinzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for a conference in town. The hotel itself was really good. The decoration is tasteful and modern, the room is very well furnished and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is clean and very pretty too. The view from the terrace is breathtaking. This hotel is hotel, but it could do with a few improvements. The safe was not working properly. Soap and shampoo were not replaced after use, and our empty water bottles were not thrown out. I also used the laundry service, but was not given another bag the next day. The breakfast is excelent, but the service was slow, and the staff forgot to bring thing such as orange juice, but this could be due to our party's size. The Staff was very friendly, and after a call all issues were resolved. Overall, I recommend this hotel and would return, but it needs a few tweaks to be a true luxury hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cargenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sophia Hotel
Sophia Hotel
#63 of 151 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.0 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias

Property: Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias
Address: Calle Velez Danies 33 # 4-39 | Centro, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartagena was declared National Heritage of Colombia in 1959 and Historical and Cultural Heritage by UNESCO in 1984. The hotel is strategically located in the historic center of the city, next to the Plaza de la Aduana, very close to the best options for shopping, dining, historical tours and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Movich Hotels Cartagena de Indias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing