We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking for "Small Luxury" - AVOID! LOOK ELSEWHERE” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are looking for "Small Luxury" - AVOID! LOOK ELSEWHERE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at this property for 6 nights because Pestagua, Agua & Santa Clara were all booked.
When we checked-in hotel had no running water so we couldn't shower or use the toilet.
Noise from rooftop party on night #2 lasted until 3am.
Design is thoughtless: Neither of our 2 rooms had dressers - not even shelves, so we lived out of our suitcases for 7 days.
Linens are supposedly 600 t.c. but are very coarse with poor stitching.
Towels were bare-thread and yellowed.
Room was never mopped.
Breakfast service takes FOREVER.

While the design is meant to be hip, it's not. It lacks the cool factor of the Tchernassi & the colonial flavor of Agua or Pestagua.

Location is OK, but I prefer San Diego which is more elegant.

The front desk people are nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethlahmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, October 7, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all the comments of our guests and use them to improve our services. Hope to have you back soon and offer you a great experience.
Regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    55
    15
    13
    17
See reviews for
44
139
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Real nice hotel... We landed at this place on accident at the last minute, but turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The staff are great!!! We only ate here one time (stayed 7 nights) and it was only a fruit plate, but it was fresh and tasty. Location is perfect for walking the Old City, it is centrally located many great restaurants, bars, discos and Coffee shops just outside the front door. Rooms are nice and there is a little pool and bar on the roof, with views of the city. Cab ride to the beach is just minutes, you just need your shorts, towel and a little cash, the rest is available at the beach!!!

Room Tip: Get a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunMann0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

This hotel was a dream. My wife and I made the mistake of booking a different hotel, which we checked out of immediately. Luckily, we stumbled upon this amazing hotel with old the old world charms of Cartagena from the outside and the modern comforts of a five star oasis from the inside. Talk about central location, the hotel is in the heart of the old city just a block from the main plaza. The complimentary breakfasts were incredible. The rooftop pool with its soft music and dim lights accompanied by up by a spectacular view of Cartagena was pure romance. And our room had a view of the city and the sea all for an incredibly reasonable price. The staff were professional and kind, particularly the manager who doted on us like we were royalty. This hotel made our trip -- don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redstorm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Our first night at the hotel, the hotel decided to host a rooftop party, which by the way was not for the hotel guests as they claimed, but was a 'Launch' party for some unknown local actor. We attended the party for an hour or so, but left to get a good night's sleep since we had flown in that day. We returned to our rooms to find the music BLARING until 3am!!! (No exaggeration - it was comparable to sleeping in a club). We did not sleep a wink! I was stunned that a hotel of this calibre would allow such a thing to happen. The staff agreed that it was extremely inappropriate but said that it was out of their hands and we needed to speak to the General Manager. I am not one to complain - honestly - but we were very upset and left a few messages and wrote a letter but the General Manager refused to talk to us directly. She even told her staff to tell us that it was 'normal' for the hotel to hold rooftop parties and that it was a special 'launch' party and therefore there was nothing she could do. At $300 US /night the very least I expect is to sleep!

The hotel is no doubt very nice, however the walls are paper thin! We travel quite a bit and we are not light sleepers, but we had a HUGE problem with the noise. Every morning the music from the breakfast restaurant could be heard on the 6th floor (highest floor) at 6am! You can also hear people talking in the hallways at all times.

For this price range I would highly recommend the Sofitel or Santa Clara or Charleston.

Room Tip: Ask beforehand if there will be any rooftop events during your stay. If not, ask to be on the highes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, October 7, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all the comments of our guests and use them to improve our services. Hope to have you back soon and offer you a great experience.
Regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

Pros
- amazing view on the colonial city from the rooftop pool
- great breakfast (included in the reservation)
- friendly service
- nice room design
-comfortable and clean

Cons
Relatively recent building lacks the charm of some of the other boutique hotels located in colonial houses

We stayed there 3 nights in a 5 nights stay in Cartagena. Sadly we had to leave after 3 nights because the hotel was fully booked. There are plenty of very nice boutique hotels in Cartagena but this one stands out by its exceptional rooftop. Being a modern building, it is higher than the ones surrounding it, providing a unique view of the old city, churches as well the sea and the Bocagrande district. The pool is relatively big and you wouldn't find one this size on a rooftop of a historical building.

This hotel is not just about the rooftop though. The service was very friendly, the rooms well designed and the breakfast exceptionnally good and served all day. You can easily skip a lunch!

The unique downside is the relative lack of charm of the building in comparison to hotels in colonial houses. That is somehow compensated by a more classic comfort of the room, with built in AC, etc. our room on the 4th floor had a pretty average view on baddly maintained buildings.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arugam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review our hotel, for us is a pleasure to provide our guest with the best service and experiences. We hope to have you back at this one or any of our 7 hotels around the country.
Best regards,
Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed in this hotel three nights on a corporate dime before moving to another hotel in town on my own dime. The service was fantastic; it's centrally located on a very narrow street (you can walk just about anywhere in the walled city) and therefore away from the exhaust and noise of busy highways; bed was comfortable; room was in a very modern style. Restaurant is very good -- there is a lady who will bring you fresh fruit at breakfast. Strongly recommended over the famous, older hotel in town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeakyB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review, July 27, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel, we are happy to know your had a great experience and hope to have your back. Kind Regards, Movich Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Upon check-in I was told there was a party for the "hotel guests" on the roof of the hotel. I was very impressed by this gesture until I realized that the party was a full blown club night, organized privately for a Columbian TV personality. The music was as loud as any club I have been too and went on until 3am in the morning. At 1am there was even a line formed outside the hotel with people waiting in the rain to attend the party. I was on the furthest floor from the roof but due to the design of the open staircase connecting all the floors to the roof, I felt as if I was sleeping on the dance floor. Called front desk many times but no-one seemed to know when the party would end and the Manager never called back. For the remainder of my stay I tried to contact the Manager who refused to talk to me on the phone. The staff was sympathetic and also felt the managers decision to host such a party ill thought with no regard for hotel guests.

Given the hotel's affiliation with the 'Small Luxury Hotel' brand I was shocked at the private party and treatment of guests on my first night. I left a letter for the Manager when checking out and have still not heard back.

The staff was great and very helpful. The hotels location is very good and the room was spacious.

Room Tip: As long as there is no party planned on the top floor, 6, book a hotel room towards the top floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
0.1 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias

Property: Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias
Address: Calle Velez Danies # 4 - 39 | Centro Historico, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartagena was declared National Heritage of Colombia in 1959 and Historical and Cultural Heritage by UNESCO in 1984. The hotel is strategically located in the historic center of the city, next to the Plaza de la Aduana, very close to the best options for shopping, dining, historical tours and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing