We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool building, unfriendly staff”
Review of Media Luna Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Media Luna Hostel
Ranked #36 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cool building, unfriendly staff”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This hostel isnt in the lonely planet yet, reason enough to give it a try. Even though the area isnt the nicest of Cartagena (hookers walking around 50m from the door, hitting on guests), it was ok (about a 7min walk to the historic center.

The setting is nice - pool in the courtyear and all white rooms and are acutally very well designed. It is noisy, there doesnt seem to be a curfew - so be prepared for this if you stay and otherwise dont complain too much about the noise.

While the building itself is cool, the staff is the total opposite. Let me give you some examples:
- we reserved two spots for the Volcán Totumo tour on Sunday night. On Monday night when we got to the reception, it turns out that they had forgotten about it. No apology, instead a brief remark that it is closed anyways Monday for "cleaning"... We dont believe this to be true as an other operator offers the tour on Mondays and ... i mean... couldn´t they have known this the night before?
- Sometime during our stay there water supply in all of Cartagena shut down. While all the other budget hostels were out of water, Media Luna has some for the next hours due to its water tank. So far so good. But instead of warning guests that water is out and to go easy on you water consumption, nothing was said. Not even newly checking-in guests were warned. No apology given (we know its not there fault - but hey...hospitality)... no estimate given when it would come back - and it looked normal to them. Toilets obviously started to stink BADLY.

All in all a nice building, cool vibe, but the worst staff we have encountered at ca. 15+ hostels in Colombia.

Price per night in a 6pers bedroom w/shared bathroom (between multiple rooms): 22000COP/night

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank col_traveller_bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    170
    120
    52
    61
See reviews for
2
48
127
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

It's not my style to stay in a Hostel, this was my first time, and believe me, will be' the laaaast one... They never cleaned our room, we had our own bathroom, that was ok... But they can do nice things for nothing as cofee for breakfast.... But they just dont! The kitchen it s soooo dirty!!! And what I think it's the worst its that via Internet they told us 30usd and then we payed 22$ because I talked to them asking for a discount... Its ok to' get a discount, but in Cartagena everything work like that, just ask for less and u get it.... I think that for a Hostel the prices should be CLEAR!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VidaSabatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

This week guests were assaulted inside the hostel and all their money robbed. This hostel is in the neighborhood called Getsemani. Although well located, near the historic area of the city, this is a poor neighborhood with many security problems. Please research well before booking in this area of the city.

Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank bruixita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Stayed at Media Luna, found the staff to be useless. The staff lost my passport from their secured lock up, which as it eventuated wasn't secure or locked up.

Laundry took longer than advised and meant I was waiting around and not on the bus that I planned to be on.

Final bill had extra nights added in and trying to correct it was a nightmare.

Its a great building but suffers from disengaged staff with no concept of customer service

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiguelQuixote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 193 in Cartagena
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#16 of 193 in Cartagena
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#6 of 193 in Cartagena
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#10 of 193 in Cartagena
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
#7 of 193 in Cartagena
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volunteer Hostel Cartagena
Volunteer Hostel Cartagena
#9 of 193 in Cartagena
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Luna Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Luna Hostel

Property: Media Luna Hostel
Address: Calle Media Luna 10-46, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Media Luna Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango..como estar en casaHostal exclusivo con capacidad máxima para 11 personasAmbiente íntimo y tranquilo por su ubicación privilegiada y la capacidad limitada de pasajeros.Cuenta con tres habitaciones, con capacidad máxima para cuatro personas.Habitaciones con baño compartido y baño privado.Cuenta con áreas comunes , sala de estar, living, comedor y terraza.Cocina abierta para uso de pasajerosAcceso wifi incluido en la tarifaServicio de aseo y toallas de baño incluido en la tarifaDesayuno incluido en la tarifaServicio de lavandería ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Media Luna Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Luna Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing