We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Wednesday nights if u like to party and get no sleep”
Review of Media Luna Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Media Luna Hostel
Ranked #27 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Wednesday nights if u like to party and get no sleep”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in dorms for one night. Hostel is really clean, has a pool to chill in on a hot day, good little kitchen to prepare meals ect.
Really cool old building. Only thing was is there were some creepy characters there the night we stayed and not quite sure if they were staying there since they had no wristbands. Make sure u get staff to lock up your stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlwithasmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    170
    118
    51
    58
See reviews for
2
47
126
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

as suggested by other reviews, this place has its good and bad qualities.

i stayed here for a week and noted the following:
-rampant theft in the kitchen. like nothing is safe!
-rooms are hot and ceiling fans do little to cool off
-aside from the raging Wed night parties, the nights were surprisingly quiet and it wasn't too difficult to sleep on an early night in
-cleaning staff sometimes treat guests like naughty children, probably the result of dealing with too many instances of drunken silliness
-staff spends a lot of time just lounging, which is fine, but hostel should provide them with a nice air conditioned space where they can chill and chat.
-"interactive room" with computers has AC, a saving grace, perf for a cool off after being in the cartagena sun
-an issue for longer stays: they won't change your sheets unless you specifically request it. cool for saving water but hygienically questionable when most a fitfully sweating through the night.
-rooftop is awesome
-pool is ok. small and smells of chlorine.
-other hostels in town are less expensive and offer things like breakfast or AC
-a great location for nightlife in Getsemani and for the Nov. fiestas
-solid dorms bed. i don't usually like top bunks, but these were awesome, with lots of space on top.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andariega_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kensington, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I knew what I was getting myself into when I stayed at this hostel but because I was in a big group I didnt have a choice. The people who stay are here and most pretentious American idiots. They are all quite unfriendly, noisy and obnoxious.

The place is poorly maintained. I stayed here for 5 nights and our room wasnt cleaned once! In a room of 5 men you can imagine how disgusting the bathroom was by the end!
The staff are not particularly friendly or helpful.
The pool is heavily chlorinated and almost impossible to stay in because of this.

It is of course boiling in Cartagena and all you get in your room is a fan. There is a hostel across the road (the Marlin I think it is called) that is 8000 pesos cheaper and you get airconditioning!

This is the most expensive hostel I stayed at in Colombia and easily the worst! There is no party atmosphere as everyone is so unfriendly so you aren paying for that if that is your reason for staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cartagena hotels

Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Media Luna hostel is a very nice place, organized around a large with a small but appropriate swimming pool. The bar is great and the roof top terrace is incredible. It is one of the best experience I had in Cartagena. Highly recommended to all backpackers.
Very good point the guys at the reception gave us some information which happened to be trustful recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I did not stay at the hostel, I went with some friends on a Wensday night to Dance in the upstairs rooftop bar. The D.J was great, the view and breeze from the roof are beautiful. Nice mix of young tourists from all over the world and also locals. Get there early or you might wait in a very long line and pay more.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank welldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a good hostel yet it is more expensive than any other hostel in Cartagena that I saw. The hostel has a pool which is amazing in the Cartagena heat. The rooms are very hot so I suggest to take a top bunk closer to the fan. The party on Wednesday at the hostel is VERY overrated yet if you stay at this hostel there is no cover charge. Great kitchen and decent atmosphere.Staff are friendly and helped me out when needed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at Media Luna for just over 2 weeks and it felt like home. The staff (reception/bar/cleaning/owner) are all incredibly friendly and helpful and the owner, Andres, definitely knows what he is doing! The hostel is beautiful and spacious with a great kitchen, air-conditioned internet/tv room and an awesome rooftop terrace bar (movies on tuesdays and amazing parties on wednesdays). A huge added bonus is the swimming pool which helps with the intense midday heat of Cartagena. The hostel is always clean and i would be back in a flash. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
0.5 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 179 in Cartagena
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#7 of 179 in Cartagena
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
Hostal Santo Domingo Vidal
#3 of 179 in Cartagena
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#11 of 179 in Cartagena
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#15 of 179 in Cartagena
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Luna Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Luna Hostel

Property: Media Luna Hostel
Address: Calle Media Luna 10-46, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Media Luna Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango..como estar en casaHostal exclusivo con capacidad máxima para 11 personasAmbiente íntimo y tranquilo por su ubicación privilegiada y la capacidad limitada de pasajeros.Cuenta con tres habitaciones, con capacidad máxima para cuatro personas.Habitaciones con baño compartido y baño privado.Cuenta con áreas comunes , sala de estar, living, comedor y terraza.Cocina abierta para uso de pasajerosAcceso wifi incluido en la tarifaServicio de aseo y toallas de baño incluido en la tarifaDesayuno incluido en la tarifaServicio de lavandería ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Media Luna Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Luna Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing