We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a noise, what a poor hostal!”
Review of Media Luna Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Media Luna Hostel
Ranked #39 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Reviewed June 7, 2011

forget your sleep in this hostel, that is not possible because of the noise of the schoolkid "travellers" in this hostel. This hostel is like a discotheque for schoolkids first time on a holliday using drugs in Colombia paid by there parents. The staff is poor and unfriendly, and the rates are high, better look for a other hostal.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Media Luna Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 524 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

My boyfriend and i spent 4 nights here in a dorm and it was brilliant. The dorms are really spacious, have lockers and comfy mattresses. The pool is great and Sarah on reception is so helpful.
It's a really sociable hostel, but apart from the party night on Wednesday, it was still quiet enough to sleep every night.
The only down side was that the dorms were unbelievably hot, so sleeping in was difficult.
I'd go back in a second, it was one of our favorite hostels in south America.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Overall this place is great: beautiful common area with wading pool to cool off in, upstairs bar & terrace, located near cheap eateries and the goregous walled city. Enough shower and washroom stalls I never had to wait to take a shower.. But the staff are sticky with the rules: no outside alcohol (I was held outisde the hostel after having my bag searched, yes they will search your bag!), no do-it-yourself laundry (including hand-washing). And you must wear a wristband there...somehow with all these rules lots of money went missing while I was there--mostly from the lockers in the room (push against all walls of the locker to makesure nobody from another side can reach in) but also two accounts of theft from the front security box area. This is a backpacker hostel--not luxuirous for hotel people, but it's club med for backpackers!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afrinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

After months of travelling, Media Luna felt like a backpackers paradise...
Clean, well located, friendly staff, nice rooms, good vibe, swimming pool, rooftop bar ...and all very affordable. Highly recommend whether you want to chill or party this place caters for both. Definitely worth paying that tiny bit extra...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiccoloC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

This hostel is located in really nice colonial style building with a fantastic inner courtyard with a pool an long chair which makes it a great place to chill. The hostel is also well located (no more than 10 min walk from the old city) and surprisingly clean considering the number of people who stay there. However, if you need information on what to do in Cartagena, the staff is not particularly willing to help.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Electrik076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

This is a real backpacker trap, reviewed very highly in every book, but when when you get there it is a disappointment...looks nice but the service is awful. Our friend got drunk yesterday (as most of the tourist do around here!) He fell of his upper bunk resulting in potential trauma and the staff refused to help him...he is now lying bloody in his bed,..and the owner threw me out as I was calling the paramedics...Bad publicity he said. Help!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ElleNikish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaLuna247, Propietario at Media Luna Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

As the owner of the hostel I would like to explain what happened that morning in our hostel. One of our guests fell off his bed and an ambulance was called. The paramedics came 5 minutes after and checked him, gave him medicine and told him to rest and sober up. A few moments later a girl ( drunk) that was not staying here, entered reception, stole our phone and called the police claiming that the hostel didnt want to call paramedics. She didnt want to understand that the ambulance had already been here.
While this happened we doublechecked with the guy that had fallen, asked if he wanted more medical treatment, and he and his friend asked us for peace so that he could rest and feel better. They said that the drunk girl was not their friend but that she had been to the same bar that night.
Since the girl was not staying at the hostel we made her leave so we could continue our work. We checked on our guest every two hours and during that same day he started to feel better.
To check on him an extra time one of our staff members took him to the hospital a few days later to help him translate what the doctors told him because he didnt speak much Spanish.

This story seems to change depending on whether it was observed with drunk or sober eyes.

The guest thanked us for our help and he actually ended up staying in our hostel 6 days more after this incident and told us that he will be coming back at the end of the month of April.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Hostel was clean, i have been placed to a 6 bed dorm, and had it all by myself for two days. Toilets are reasonably clean, haven't been to kitchen, hostel has a pool, nice terrace, bar, internet cafe. If you are not too demanding it is ok. Location is 5 minutes walk to old part of Cartagena which was perfect and also a short 10 minute walk from the fortress. Although the neghbourhood looked dodgy and dirty, smelly. Prices : around 25000 cop per bed. If you are a light sleeper - noise from hostel bar is loud.
dorms can't be locked. had a small locker near the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1982petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
0.3 mi away
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
Mi Llave Hostels Cartagena
#8 of 199 in Cartagena
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mystic House Hostal
Mystic House Hostal
#16 of 199 in Cartagena
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One Day Hostel
One Day Hostel
#6 of 199 in Cartagena
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 199 in Cartagena
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#18 of 199 in Cartagena
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Luna Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Luna Hostel

Address: Calle Media Luna 10-46, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range: $16 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Media Luna Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango..como estar en casaHostal exclusivo con capacidad máxima para 11 personasAmbiente íntimo y tranquilo por su ubicación privilegiada y la capacidad limitada de pasajeros.Cuenta con tres habitaciones, con capacidad máxima para cuatro personas.Habitaciones con baño compartido y baño privado.Cuenta con áreas comunes , sala de estar, living, comedor y terraza.Cocina abierta para uso de pasajerosAcceso wifi incluido en la tarifaServicio de aseo y toallas de baño incluido en la tarifaDesayuno incluido en la tarifaServicio de lavandería ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Media Luna Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Luna Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing