We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Room, Great Location”
Review of Hotel El Viajero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Viajero
Ranked #33 of 173 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2012

For about $30USD (60,000COP) a night for a double bed room in the heart of Cartagena, this hotel cannot be beat. Excellent and safe location, friendly staff, free WIFI make this place a steal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venturellama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 89 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

It seems that nobody who posted reviews here knows there's a difference between the Hostel and the Hotel. The HOTEL EL VIAJERO is NOT the hostel. This is a very nice hotel, located in the Centro (and not in Getsemaní), with extremely clean rooms and probably the best value for money in Cartagena. A double with private bathroom (Fan/AC) will cost you only 60.000 or 70.000 pesos. Rooms are cleaned every day and the place is beautiful. Can't say the same for the hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EU2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We arrived and were taken to a different building some 30m down the street where the twins and double rooms are, consequently it is a lot quieter there but a bit less social. The rooms are small but nicely decorated, have a TV and a comfy bed, however they only have ceiling fans which are loud and only have one setting, and Cartagena was so hot we needed the fan on all night, not the best for a good nights sleep. There was no storage in the room, just a small bedside table so our stuff had to stay on the floor. The room was cleaned every day and new sheets supplied. The wifi was good and a strong signal could be had most anywhere, it isn't a large building though.
We booked a trip through the hostel to go to Playa Blanca, and it didn't go exactly to plan. You have to be at the port by 8.30am, a 15 minute walk, so the breakfast at 8 would be perfect, however the breakfast wasn't ready when we left at 8.15, so when we returned I complained and was given an immediate apology by the guy on the reception which was nice, but I don't know if it went any further.
All in all it was a nice place in the annex and the staff seemed ok but I don't know if we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was a hotel in a tripful of hostels. The location is great and the price was decent, though we found everything in Cartagena to be more expensive than in other parts of Colombia. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean compared to the other places we stayed on our 3 week trek through Colombia. We stayed in the room closest to the front desk so it was a little noisy, which wasn't a problem for us but might be for some others. The staff was helpful enough, but not as friendly as in other spots we stayed. It mirrored our overall experience of Cartagena in relation to the rest of Colombia.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giocondathesnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent Location.
Fair for the price.


The staff is very pleasant, give helpful tips of the city.
The rooms are very clean

Would stay there again !

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Excellent location in the centre of the old city. If you are travelling as a couple and want a double room with kitchen facilities and private bathroom for a decent price then this is the place to stay. Cartagena is very expensive but this place was only 70,000 COP per night. The staff were lovely and there was a nice lounge area where you can comfortably surf the net and watch TV. IT´s a hotel but with benefit of having kitchen and social areas of a hostal.
Don´t get confused with El Viajero Hostal of the same name - believe it or not it´s much more expensive than the hotel for a double room!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca and Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The place is constantly cleaned by the staff. The room size was good and had a tv. No hot water though. Rate was reasonable enough. Free computers and coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
San Felipe Hotel Cartagena
San Felipe Hotel Cartagena
#53 of 158 in Cartagena
433 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel El Viajero #2
Hotel El Viajero #2
#16 of 223 in Cartagena
72 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa El Mangle
Casa El Mangle
#9 of 173 in Cartagena
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Bellamar
Hotel Bellamar
#48 of 173 in Cartagena
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Republica Cartagena
Republica Cartagena
#19 of 223 in Cartagena
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Viajero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Viajero

Address: Calle 35 68, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $28 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Viajero 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Viajero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing