We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old city with a hotel that delivers the best in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #10 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful old city with a hotel that delivers the best in service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Cartagena is absolutely charming. The streets are full of friendly people selling slices of fresh fruit, fried arepas and kitchen utensils made from coconut shells. By mid-afternoon, it's hot, hot, hot, so it's a pleasure to retreat to the elegant, peaceful, zen-like atmosphere of the Hotel Ananda. The small hotel, in a restored casa built around a central courtyard, is decorated in "Bali meets South America" style. The views from the mirador which overlooks the Old City are fantastic, with vistas to the sea beyond the city walls. The staff members of the hotel are outstanding. They made us feel very welcome, were always looking out for our well-being and were eager to help us improve our Spanish.
I could go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Dtftravel

Receiving comments like yours make of our job a real privilege. Thank you a lot for sharing your experience with us in those wonderful words.
We’ll be looking forward to have you home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    90
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
80
266
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

I'd like to preface this review by saying I did not get an opportunity to stay at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the quality of the hotel itself. This review is solely to warn travelers who may plan on staying here. I had researched all the local hotels, trying to pick a nice boutique hotel for my planned trip to Cartagena for this upcoming December. I came across Hotel Ananda and thought it would be perfect for a romantic trip with my boyfriend. Because December is high season, I wanted to reserve a room early on - and put down a US $340 deposit with the hotel. Unfortunately, my boyfriend got mobilized with the National Guard, and we had to cancel our trip. Per the hotel's policy, they would refund 80% of my deposit in the event I had to cancel. Two weeks ago, I requested a refund of my deposit. To date, I still have not received my deposit back. I have sent multiple requests via email. The front desk/accounting department has responded on several occasions, telling me I should expect my deposit back in a few days, or that it would take a little longer because it was an international transaction. I even had to send them my bank account information SEVERAL times (which made me extremely uncomfortable) over email, because they insisted that a refund to my credit card (original form of payment) would be more difficult. Their abilities to communicate in English is shoddy at best, and I've had an extremely frustrating time getting my deposit back. Honestly, I'm not sure I'll see the $270 back at all.

I'd like to warn any travelers who are thinking about this hotel - I would highly suggest thinking twice about putting down a deposit if there is ANY uncertainty at all about your travel plans.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pchang637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, October 8, 2015
Google Translation
Muy buenos días Estimado viajero,

Muchas gracias por tomar de su tiempo y compartir sus comentarios acerca de su estancia en Ananda Hotel boutique. Sus comentarios nos ayudan a continuar mejorando nuestros servicios y a seguir cumpliendo estándares de calidad.
Esperamos volver a tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros.

Cordialmente,

Diego Manrique.
Gerente General.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

Spent one night here on a long weekend to Cartagena. The hotel is very nice, clean, new and chic with a very beautiful lobby. The food at the restaurant / room service is surprisingly great (especially for a hotel restaurant). The roofdeck is fabulous with a large jacuzzi for hanging out late afternoon (otherwise way too hot up there!) or in the evening. It's on the large size for other boutique hotels in the city, but still felt very private. The rooms are very nice (the bed incredibly comfortable) and with a very large bathroom. My only con for the hotel was that the front desk / concerierge could have been more helpful/knowledgeable. They did not have a very good map of the city nor were they very good at recommending / reserving restaurant / nightlife places. That said, everyone else was incredibly accommodating, helpful and friendly and it's still a relatively new place so I am sure that will get better as time goes on.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We’d like to thank you a lot for your words. Comments like yours certainly incentivize us to keep trying our best every day. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted.
We hope to have you Home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

Our stay at the Ananda Hotel Boutique was for 3 nights during Thanksgiving weekend. I had thoroughly investigated the various hotel options available in Cartagena. Since boutique hotels are the accommodations that my husband and I favor, I explored those that were within the walled city and walking distance to some of the famed sites. All of these boutique hotels looked fabulous, but the Ananda Hotel Boutique quickly differentiated itself and rose to the top of my list. These differences were made by Francisco, the hotel Manager, and his thorough and quick responses to my inquiring emails, the hotel’s outstanding dramatic beauty (a newly completed renovation), the 24-hour restaurant, full bar, a pool (with a Jacuzzi in it), another Jacuzzi and lovely terraces. Once we arrived, the hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. Our room, a luxury suite, was spectacular with two balconies and a unique bathroom. The peaceful, open spaces were ideal for après cocktails and relaxing. The Ananda’s central location was perfect with lots of activity, galleries and restaurants nearby. The breakfasts, included in the rate (airport transfers also were included), were flavorful and beautifully presented. The staff was professional, the service was heartfelt and that, combined with the aforementioned, makes us highly recommend the Ananda Hotel Boutique.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Receiving comments like yours make of our job a real privilege. Thank you a lot for sharing your experience with us in those wonderful words.
We’ll be looking forward to have you home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Property: Ananda Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing