We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful gem in the old town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ananda Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Wonderful gem in the old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This wonderful boutique hotel gem in the old town is close to everything. Restaurant food is incredible - it's hard to leave and go anywhere else! The rooftop pool and lounge set up is so serene and has amazing views, that it's ALSO hard to leave and watch the sunset anywhere else.

They were incredibly warm, welcoming and helpful. Helped us arrange day-time activities and always had great suggestions for dinner.

This is a MUST STAY in Cartagena.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room. We were on the first floor right near the door and did not have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sar712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please receive our appreciation for taking the time to give us your opinion about our service. There’s nothing more important for us, that the satisfaction of our guests.
Comments like yours, are a big incentive to keep doing our greatest effort every day.

We’ll be looking forward to your next visit to Cartagena, so that we can have the opportunity to give you the best service to make your stay an amazing experience.

Have a very good day!

Diego Manrique Narváez
General Manager
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    89
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
75
262
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Cartagena, within easy walk of the theatre, museums, city walls and lots of restaurants. Set in a restored 17th colonial building, it has 21 suites, a central atrium with bar and restaurant, a small swimming-pool on the ground floor and a sun terrace on the roof. My room was very comfortable with an excellent shower, good aircon and overhead fan but was a little dark. Good breakfast and attentive service. We discovered too late that we could have had a relaxing massage for about $25. This is a perfect location if you are attending the wonderful Hay Cartagena Literary Festival as it is close to all venues.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Maeve F,

It’s a real honor for us to know that we were part of a nice visit to our city, especially in a special occasion such as the Hay Festival.
We thank you a lot for your positive comments and we hope to have the opportunity to have you with us again and enjoy of that relaxing massage!!

Have a very nice day.

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

A great boutique hotel in the middle of the pretty old colonial town. Cartagena is otherwise very touristy, so this hotel made our stay.

First of all: they have a fantastic restaurant, Carmen, which served the best food we had during our whole trip in Colombia. Very ambitious and very tasty. Equally enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner, always with a very kind and well meaning service. Mostly Spanish spoken.

Our room was nice but a bit dark without windows, apart from the shutter doors to the corridor, which you of course don't wan't to be open. We had a skylight window in the bathroom, in a shack that stretched two floors up. A cool feature, we even had a tree in the shower, but since the room above us shared the same skylight we heard absolutely everything from their bathroom...

Inefficient soundproofing in general was the negative experience during our stay. If your room is on the top (third) floor you might for example be very disturbed from the rooftop discos nearby.

The room had a big screen TV with loads of channels, including all possible film channels. Also a super comfortable bed with high quality sheets - slept like a princess.

There was a very nice rooftop with lot's of sun beds and a small pool and a powerful retro shower. Preferred to hang out there after a trip to one of the Rosario islands, where it was too crowded for my taste.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear ETWTraveller,

Please receive our deepest gratitude for giving us the opportunity to be better, by sharing your experience with us. Be sure that we will work in every one of these points and next time you stay in Anandá, we will create the perfect atmosphere for your vacations to be perfect!

Thank you again for your comments, we’re very glad to know that you enjoy our food, our facilities and in general, your stay in our city.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Upon arrival, my friend and I got upgraded to a larger room. The room was nicely decorated, spacious, clean, very comfortable, had all the necessary amenities and more. The staff was very friendly, always there to advise and help, and always with a smile. The food was amazing as well. Ananda offered everything one can ask from a small, boutique hotel. I will definitely be back there on my next trip to Cartagena.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, rooms facing away from the courtyard are probably quieter since the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbjb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jbjb83,

Comments like yours are our biggest reward and the greatest incentive to keep doing our best every day. We thank you a lot for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We’re looking forward to your next visit to our country, so that we can have the opportunity to have you with us again.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great customer service, ambience and food! We were sent there for one night due to our hotel had overbooked rooms. I could have been treated better. This Hotel deserves to be a 5 star hotel, with large rooms and great one on one personal service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuenca_jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Cuenca,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments, making our gests happy is our main objective and the reason why we work hard every day.
We hope you visit us again soon.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is just a perfect hotel when you are visiting Cartagena.

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
The breakfast is great, and the restaurant is the best in town.

All the staff is very helpful and friendly and the service is in top.

We will be back.

The 4 from Denmark

Room Tip: Remember to book table in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Anette S,

It makes us very glad to know that you fully enjoy our stay with us. Comments like yours are our biggest reward and also the biggest incentive to keep getting better every day.
We look forward to have you and your family with us again.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at hotel Ananda in Cartegena. We were welcomed by the wonderful staff and loved this hotel. Extremely comfortable beds and gorgeous decor. Location was great, as we could walk to any destination from the hotel. Breakfast was served in a beautiful courtyard, the pools were small, but we needed them to cool off in the heat. The views from the rooftop pool were great of the old city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who prefers a boutique hotel over a large chain hotel. It was charming, clean, friendly, and overall GREAT! I hope to be back to Ananda someday!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Pamkatz,

We deeply appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and also it makes us very glad to know that we help you enjoy the visit to our city. Comments like these are our most important and treasured reward.

We look forward to have you with us again soon.

Have a nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 148 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Property: Ananda Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing