We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in old colonial town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Cartagena, within easy walk of the theatre, museums, city walls and lots of restaurants. Set in a restored 17th colonial building, it has 21 suites, a central atrium with bar and restaurant, a small swimming-pool on the ground floor and a sun terrace on the roof. My room was very comfortable with an excellent shower, good aircon and overhead fan but was a little dark. Good breakfast and attentive service. We discovered too late that we could have had a relaxing massage for about $25. This is a perfect location if you are attending the wonderful Hay Cartagena Literary Festival as it is close to all venues.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maeve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Maeve F,

It’s a real honor for us to know that we were part of a nice visit to our city, especially in a special occasion such as the Hay Festival.
We thank you a lot for your positive comments and we hope to have the opportunity to have you with us again and enjoy of that relaxing massage!!

Have a very nice day.

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 619 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

A great boutique hotel in the middle of the pretty old colonial town. Cartagena is otherwise very touristy, so this hotel made our stay.

First of all: they have a fantastic restaurant, Carmen, which served the best food we had during our whole trip in Colombia. Very ambitious and very tasty. Equally enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner, always with a very kind and well meaning service. Mostly Spanish spoken.

Our room was nice but a bit dark without windows, apart from the shutter doors to the corridor, which you of course don't wan't to be open. We had a skylight window in the bathroom, in a shack that stretched two floors up. A cool feature, we even had a tree in the shower, but since the room above us shared the same skylight we heard absolutely everything from their bathroom...

Inefficient soundproofing in general was the negative experience during our stay. If your room is on the top (third) floor you might for example be very disturbed from the rooftop discos nearby.

The room had a big screen TV with loads of channels, including all possible film channels. Also a super comfortable bed with high quality sheets - slept like a princess.

There was a very nice rooftop with lot's of sun beds and a small pool and a powerful retro shower. Preferred to hang out there after a trip to one of the Rosario islands, where it was too crowded for my taste.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear ETWTraveller,

Please receive our deepest gratitude for giving us the opportunity to be better, by sharing your experience with us. Be sure that we will work in every one of these points and next time you stay in Anandá, we will create the perfect atmosphere for your vacations to be perfect!

Thank you again for your comments, we’re very glad to know that you enjoy our food, our facilities and in general, your stay in our city.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Upon arrival, my friend and I got upgraded to a larger room. The room was nicely decorated, spacious, clean, very comfortable, had all the necessary amenities and more. The staff was very friendly, always there to advise and help, and always with a smile. The food was amazing as well. Ananda offered everything one can ask from a small, boutique hotel. I will definitely be back there on my next trip to Cartagena.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, rooms facing away from the courtyard are probably quieter since the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbjb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Jbjb83,

Comments like yours are our biggest reward and the greatest incentive to keep doing our best every day. We thank you a lot for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We’re looking forward to your next visit to our country, so that we can have the opportunity to have you with us again.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great customer service, ambience and food! We were sent there for one night due to our hotel had overbooked rooms. I could have been treated better. This Hotel deserves to be a 5 star hotel, with large rooms and great one on one personal service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Mr. Cuenca,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments, making our gests happy is our main objective and the reason why we work hard every day.
We hope you visit us again soon.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is just a perfect hotel when you are visiting Cartagena.

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable.
The breakfast is great, and the restaurant is the best in town.

All the staff is very helpful and friendly and the service is in top.

We will be back.

The 4 from Denmark

Room Tip: Remember to book table in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Anette S,

It makes us very glad to know that you fully enjoy our stay with us. Comments like yours are our biggest reward and also the biggest incentive to keep getting better every day.
We look forward to have you and your family with us again.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at hotel Ananda in Cartegena. We were welcomed by the wonderful staff and loved this hotel. Extremely comfortable beds and gorgeous decor. Location was great, as we could walk to any destination from the hotel. Breakfast was served in a beautiful courtyard, the pools were small, but we needed them to cool off in the heat. The views from the rooftop pool were great of the old city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who prefers a boutique hotel over a large chain hotel. It was charming, clean, friendly, and overall GREAT! I hope to be back to Ananda someday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Pamkatz,

We deeply appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us and also it makes us very glad to know that we help you enjoy the visit to our city. Comments like these are our most important and treasured reward.

We look forward to have you with us again soon.

Have a nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We are a family with 3 small kids and spent 2 nights in the hotel which was fabulous.
The welcome on check in was very nice and we got an upgrade straight away to a bigger room.
Breakfast was satisfying and the atmosphere was great.
The hotel itself is very well designed, up to the small details with spectacular architecture.
We decided to stay in for dinner at the Carmen restaurant at the hotel. They didn't have the dish that the kids wanted but they arranged it to be ordered from a different restaurant and serve it together with our food which was a great solution for us.
This we think represents part of the idea behind the word 'Boutique'.
We found that the location of the hotel worked very good for us. On one hand it was close to all the attractions in the old city and on the other it was peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: look for Expedia offers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Tovim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Ben_Tovim,

There’s no bigger satisfaction or reward for our efforts, than knowing we help you to fully enjoy the time you and your family spent in our city. We cannot empathized enough how important your opinions are for us to keep getting better every day.

Thank you a lot for sharing your experience, we will keep doing our best every day, so that the next time you visit us, you can have an even better time.

Have a very nice day!

Diego Jose Manrique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#3 of 158 in Cartagena
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#4 of 158 in Cartagena
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#9 of 158 in Cartagena
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#2 of 158 in Cartagena
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#7 of 158 in Cartagena
1,941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $226 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing