We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peace and quiet in Carthagena” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ananda Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in Carthagena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We had four nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and a good size. The hotel has a small swimming pool on the ground floor and a spa pool on the roof. The roof also has several sun beds and a further two seating areas and it was good to relax up there away from the bustle of the streets. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there was a pleasant outside seating area on that level too.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We only ate in the restaurant once as it had a limited vegetarian selection. However, there are so many different eating places in Cartagena and you would miss so much if you did not visit some of them. The hotel is in the middle of the walled town, so nothing is very far away.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi,

We are glad you have a great time at Ananda Hotel Boutique. We already sent your recommendation to the restaurant so we can have a better service.

Thank you and looking forward to have you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    86
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
73
253
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a wonderful boutique hotel in a great location in Cartagena. Our room was huge, beautifully decorated and very comfortable (especially the beds, which are perfect). The bathroom is great, with some lovely toiletries and a great shower. The hotel has a wonderful rooftop pool and terrace - the perfect place to be at the end of a long day's sightseeing. You'll also get impeccable service at Ananda - all the staff were so welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately we were only able to spend one night there, really wish we could have stayed for longer! I really want to go back to Cartagena and would definitely stay at Ananda again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi,

Altough you only spent one night with us. It seems you spent a quality time here. We wish you could spend more nights but on behalf of Ananda Hotel Boutique staff we would like you to be here soon and enjoy the hotel.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
évora
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved it . Decoration, location and food were outstanding. I went back in time enjoying the pleasure of today's comfort . I felt fully identified with the ambience, the sounds , the smells and the colours. In such a back stage street you could never imagine you would spend the night in the most charming and exquisite place. The only drawback is that maintenance needs a little improvement.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our decoration and our ambience here. We will try to make your stay even better in your next visit.

Looking forward to have you here soon.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a lovely, quiet hotel ideally placed for exploring Cartagena. It is beautifully designed and decorated with lovely courtyards, a small swimming pool and a large roof terrace with plunge pool/jacuzzi where you can relax after a hot day in Cartagena.

The rooms are well equipped and the beds very comfortable.

Concierge was extremely helpful; only problem is that not many of the other staff speak English but a good phrase book and sign language work wonders!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor (2nd for Americans) overlooking the pool and that was great. I would prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katejcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello

Thank yo ufor your review. and also we are glad you enjoyed our roof top, It is one of our main places to be at the hotel.

We will improve in our service regarding the language. We appologize for any inconvenience.

Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We traveled to Colombia to visit a friend in Bogota and we were told we had to go to Cartagena. We had a hard time finding a hotel last minute that was our style and we are soooo happy that we stayed here. From the second we arrived we felt relaxed and totally on vacation. We loved the pool on the first floor until we realized there was a roof top one as well...awesome!!! The food is delicious there too. We can around 10 and couldnt get the included breakfast but for a good deal we were able to get friench toast and steak&eggs, both yummy! And juice at every meal...so good.
The rooms are great but the shower was the best part. It had an earthy feel but still so clean. The rooms all look out onto a courtyard and since we had our son with us we were still able to leave him in the room sleeping while we had dinner. There is not much natural lighting in the rooms though.
And the location is perfect. Close to the city wall for great views and we could walk everywhere wwe needed to.
What a great place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Bethjag.

Receiving comments like yours make of our job a real privilege. Thank you a lot for sharing your experience with us in those wonderful words.
We’ll be looking forward to have you home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was in Cartagena on Business from 14-17 Feb 2013. This was my first visit to the city, my local office made the reservation.

Fantastic Boutique hotel. Literally a 'Hole in the Wall'. The layout, style and ambiance were fantastic.

Literally hidden behind a massive, solid and ornate door amid the hustle and bustle of the old city. Within a few minutes you can be at anyone of a choice if great restaurants.

I had a Mezzanine suite, this was fantastic. High ceilings, dark wood, amid the sound if horse carts on the narrow streets outside.

Only complaint was that hot air from aircon units seemed to be getting into the upstairs bathroom. Easily fixed and I have no doubt they will attend to this.

Staff and service were first class.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Terry

We’d like to thank you a lot for your words. Comments like yours certainly incentivize us to keep trying our best every day. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted.
We hope to have you Home again, during your next visit to Cartagena.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Ananda in mid-November and we both had a wonderful, relaxing time. The room was spacious and comfortable but in my opinion, the food and service were the best parts of our stay. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant most days and the food was delicious whilst the service was attentive and personable. Between us, we had very limited Spanish and all the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Emily.

We deeply appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted in order to continue in our constant seeking for excellence.
We hope you give us the opportunity of staying with us in a next occasion, so that we can do our best to provide you with the best service and make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 147 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 147 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 147 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 147 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 147 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Property: Ananda Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing