We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but Quite a few Faults”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #9 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but Quite a few Faults”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Positive: The Hotel is truly nicely decorated, it has a nice pool, and is quiet. It is clean and well maintained. It has free WIFI in the rooms and the signal is strong . It is very well located in the heart of the old town, within walking distance of the major points of interest.

The Negative: it seems that when the rooms were designed some functionalities have been left aside....

The sink is not in the bathroom but in the room itself which I found to be unpractical, the bathroom door is useless as it is designed like a shutter with open spaces between the wood parts... so that when one is sitting on the toilets the person in the room can enjoy all sounds and smells.... no privacy !

We ordered room service based on the dishes listed on the room service menu and asked for club sandwiches...we were told the sandwiches could not be made because they had no bread..... we then ordered Spaghetti bolognese....we were told that this was not available because there was no bolognese sauce in the kitchen ..... I finally had grilled chicken breast at the third attempt.... but..... when the waiter came to the room he brought only the starters and the room has no table .... so he put the soups on the bed .....then he came a second time to bring the main courses....then a third time for the desserts..... very uncomfortable to eat this way ....especially with no table....

The air conditioner is placed under the ceiling in a way which crosses the bed....so it blows cold air right into the faces of the persons in bed...... and it is loud.....what to do when it is excruciatingly hot .....we are in Colombia in August.....have the air on without being able to sleep and running the risk of having a sore throat in the morning from the cold air in the face...or sweat all night.....?

The fan hanging from the ceiling made the noise of a machine which needs to be oiled .....

The sheets and one pillow case had stains of an undetermined origin ....

Considering the price of the room.... these things should not happen....

I dont think I want to come again to this place .....

Room Tip: You can try the Sofitel Santa Clara
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monacoguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Mr “Moncaoguy1”

We deeply sorry about the inconveniences and we really appreciate taking time in letting us know about your thoughts. We already took all your recommendations and we are making changes in order to correct all the issues and not to let this things happen again.

Sincerely,

Ana Maria Pittaluga
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    90
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
81
266
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

A very comfortable and enchanting hotel. Staff very friendly and always willing to help. Stayed there on trip from GB with family and friends including a baby and we were made very welcome. The hotel is very conveniently located. It has modern facilities expected in a high end hotel whilst retaining the charm and character of its historic building.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Hi,

We are really glad you enjoyed our hotel and our staff was friendly with you and your family. We are also like you liked our hotel and facilities.

The hotel is well located so you can enjoy the hotel and Cartagena at the same time, so we reaally appreciated your review and we hope to have you here and your family and friends soon.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Sincerely
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just let Ananda this week. I write this from a "posh" Miami hotel (to be reviewed later) and I miss Ananda!

The decor of the hotel is beautiful. Lots of wood (large wood doors, old wood ceiling beams) and what appear to be natural materials. Exposed bricks as well. The neutral tones contributed to a calm atmosphere. Our room had a brick archway in it that I adored. I just felt very peaceful there.

Rooms. We had a room on the first floor right near the pool. At first I was put off by not having any natural light but given the heat, I actually came to prefer this. My friend and I thoughts the beds were comfy yet firm. Lots of pillows. Loved the bathroom with the wood planks in the shower and very high ceilings. Water pressure was fine and the temp was good. Very large and comfy towels too! Better than what I have here in Miami.

Free wireless internet was a plus. A bit slow at times but I wasn't there to work.

The pool is small but we both enjoyed it. Feels very refreshing after walking around all day. I agree with another reader that someone isn't always at the bar but it's a small place so someone is never far away. The rooftop lounge area is great!

The employees here were very friendly and helpful with everything from restaurants reservations to tours to arranging breakfast for us on our last morning as we were running late for our cab. We did not eat dinner here but did have breakfast. Was standard (eggs, bread, fruit) and we both enjoyed it.

Location of the hotel was nice as well. Quiet street but in between Santo Domingo Plaza and San Diego Plaza.

Would both stay here again and recommend it to friends! Nicely done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imari96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We appreciate you liked all our small details. It makes our hotel to be a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of our city.

Every single detail at our hotel is made in order to make your stay the best experience in your life. we try to amaze you every day.

Our staff is trained in order to help you at all times but at the same time give you the space that you need for your vacations.

Ananda Hotel Boutique will be happy to have you here again and your friends.

Thank you for choosing us.

sincerely,
Online Markerting Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel has a very pleasant interior, the rooms were great and the location perfect: close to the center but on a quiet street. The breakfast was ok, not very special, but the dinner menu looked great. We didn't get to try it though, because during the "Cumbre" of all political leaders of the Americas, no food was allowed to be delivered for a while and the kitchen was out of options. The Internet connection was quite good, the massages we got at the pool were ok and cheap. Sometimes the bar wasn't attended but it never took more the 5 min for someone to arrive. All in all a pricy but very nice option for Carragena!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrlaubimSueden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for visiting us and for your review about our services, you opinion is very important for us because we can improve even better in order to give the best service in Cartagena.

At our hotel, we want our guests spend a quality time and find Ananda as the best option to stay in Cartagena. We are glad we accomplish your expectations

Sincerely
Online Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We loved the hotel, and couldn't fault it. Staff were so helpful in organising restaurant bookings for us, in finding us a driver for the day, and in recommending things to do. The room was spectacular, the pool glorious- I seemed to be its sole user- the breakfasts good and the lunches- we had lunch there a couple of times- really attractively done. I would go back any time.... what a great place to stay in a great town. We had a ball.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabetteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hi,

First of all thank you for your review, we really appreciate your words and we are really happy you spent a quality time at our hotel.

Personalized service is one of the most important things we need to do in order to have our guests happy in aour hotel and our city.

We hope to have you here any time and have a great time every time you come here.

Sincerely,
The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel in Cartagena's old city.
This hotel offered us impeccable service and great sundowners on its beautiful terrace.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Internet Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Hi, first of all we would like to thank you for your comment, we really appreciate your stay at our hotel and we are happy you received an excellent service.

We hope to have you here again and enjoy the beauty of our hotel and our city.

Sincerely
Internet Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Cartagena is tropical warmth with Colonial charm and Ananda Hotel is positioned to make the best of Cartagena. The rooms are quiet and comfortable but a little over air conditioned. The staff works hard to please but not all speak english. The rooftop terrace gives a panoramic view over the city and the little pool/spa on the roof is cool, perfect in the heat of the day. Our group booked the whole hotel and the staff worked very hard to arrange for massages etc which worked out pretty well with a bunch of last minute changes. Since it was only friends in the hotel we took it over like it was our vacation home. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriAnnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Terri Ann

We deeply appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted in order to continue in our constant seeking for excellence.
We hope you give us the opportunity of staying with us in a next occasion, so that we can do our best to provide you with the best service and make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 149 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 149 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Property: Ananda Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 149 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing