We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in a historic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ananda Hotel Boutique
Ranked #9 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A very comfortable and enchanting hotel. Staff very friendly and always willing to help. Stayed there on trip from GB with family and friends including a baby and we were made very welcome. The hotel is very conveniently located. It has modern facilities expected in a high end hotel whilst retaining the charm and character of its historic building.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Hi,

We are really glad you enjoyed our hotel and our staff was friendly with you and your family. We are also like you liked our hotel and facilities.

The hotel is well located so you can enjoy the hotel and Cartagena at the same time, so we reaally appreciated your review and we hope to have you here and your family and friends soon.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Sincerely
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Ananda Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 584 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just let Ananda this week. I write this from a "posh" Miami hotel (to be reviewed later) and I miss Ananda!

The decor of the hotel is beautiful. Lots of wood (large wood doors, old wood ceiling beams) and what appear to be natural materials. Exposed bricks as well. The neutral tones contributed to a calm atmosphere. Our room had a brick archway in it that I adored. I just felt very peaceful there.

Rooms. We had a room on the first floor right near the pool. At first I was put off by not having any natural light but given the heat, I actually came to prefer this. My friend and I thoughts the beds were comfy yet firm. Lots of pillows. Loved the bathroom with the wood planks in the shower and very high ceilings. Water pressure was fine and the temp was good. Very large and comfy towels too! Better than what I have here in Miami.

Free wireless internet was a plus. A bit slow at times but I wasn't there to work.

The pool is small but we both enjoyed it. Feels very refreshing after walking around all day. I agree with another reader that someone isn't always at the bar but it's a small place so someone is never far away. The rooftop lounge area is great!

The employees here were very friendly and helpful with everything from restaurants reservations to tours to arranging breakfast for us on our last morning as we were running late for our cab. We did not eat dinner here but did have breakfast. Was standard (eggs, bread, fruit) and we both enjoyed it.

Location of the hotel was nice as well. Quiet street but in between Santo Domingo Plaza and San Diego Plaza.

Would both stay here again and recommend it to friends! Nicely done.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imari96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

We appreciate you liked all our small details. It makes our hotel to be a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of our city.

Every single detail at our hotel is made in order to make your stay the best experience in your life. we try to amaze you every day.

Our staff is trained in order to help you at all times but at the same time give you the space that you need for your vacations.

Ananda Hotel Boutique will be happy to have you here again and your friends.

Thank you for choosing us.

sincerely,
Online Markerting Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel has a very pleasant interior, the rooms were great and the location perfect: close to the center but on a quiet street. The breakfast was ok, not very special, but the dinner menu looked great. We didn't get to try it though, because during the "Cumbre" of all political leaders of the Americas, no food was allowed to be delivered for a while and the kitchen was out of options. The Internet connection was quite good, the massages we got at the pool were ok and cheap. Sometimes the bar wasn't attended but it never took more the 5 min for someone to arrive. All in all a pricy but very nice option for Carragena!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrlaubimSueden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Online Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you for visiting us and for your review about our services, you opinion is very important for us because we can improve even better in order to give the best service in Cartagena.

At our hotel, we want our guests spend a quality time and find Ananda as the best option to stay in Cartagena. We are glad we accomplish your expectations

Sincerely
Online Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We loved the hotel, and couldn't fault it. Staff were so helpful in organising restaurant bookings for us, in finding us a driver for the day, and in recommending things to do. The room was spectacular, the pool glorious- I seemed to be its sole user- the breakfasts good and the lunches- we had lunch there a couple of times- really attractively done. I would go back any time.... what a great place to stay in a great town. We had a ball.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabetteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Hi,

First of all thank you for your review, we really appreciate your words and we are really happy you spent a quality time at our hotel.

Personalized service is one of the most important things we need to do in order to have our guests happy in aour hotel and our city.

We hope to have you here any time and have a great time every time you come here.

Sincerely,
The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel in Cartagena's old city.
This hotel offered us impeccable service and great sundowners on its beautiful terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chanzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Maria P, Internet Marketing Director at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi, first of all we would like to thank you for your comment, we really appreciate your stay at our hotel and we are happy you received an excellent service.

We hope to have you here again and enjoy the beauty of our hotel and our city.

Sincerely
Internet Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Cartagena is tropical warmth with Colonial charm and Ananda Hotel is positioned to make the best of Cartagena. The rooms are quiet and comfortable but a little over air conditioned. The staff works hard to please but not all speak english. The rooftop terrace gives a panoramic view over the city and the little pool/spa on the roof is cool, perfect in the heat of the day. Our group booked the whole hotel and the staff worked very hard to arrange for massages etc which worked out pretty well with a bunch of last minute changes. Since it was only friends in the hotel we took it over like it was our vacation home. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriAnnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Terri Ann

We deeply appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us. Every one of your important comments will be taken into account to fix any detail that needs to be adjusted in order to continue in our constant seeking for excellence.
We hope you give us the opportunity of staying with us in a next occasion, so that we can do our best to provide you with the best service and make of your stay a wonderful experience.

Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were put here at the last minute due to a mix up in the bookings. So glad we were!!! I cannot say enough good things about the hotel. Staff were superb. Not all spoke English but some did perfectly. Rooms are lovely, not a suite as we expected, which usually have a separate living room, but all were en suite. Good air conditioning in the rooms as well as a fan. Bathrooms are well presented, with teak floors in the shower. Included breakfast was a great start to the day.
Location in the old city is perfect, short walk from lovely restaurants, other hotels nearby as well.
Both pools offered loungers with lots of towels. The rooftop one is great for sunbathing if that's your thing. Courtyard is great for breakfast and after dinner drinks. Or eat in the air conditioned restaurant. Food was very good.

Would I return ? Most definitely.

A Goodin

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the 2nd floor (first floor to English people) so your not next to courtyard.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Equipo Anandá H, Gerente at Ananda Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Tony G.

Your comments are our biggest reward and the main reason to keep trying to do our best every time.
We’re very pleased to know that you enjoy your visit to our city and your stay with us.
We’ll certainly be looking forward to have you with us in your next trip to Colombia.
Have a very good day!

Sincerely,

Diego Manrique
General Manager
Anandá Hotel Boutique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa San Agustin
Hotel Casa San Agustin
#2 of 155 in Cartagena
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#7 of 155 in Cartagena
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#6 of 155 in Cartagena
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Pedro Hotel Spa
San Pedro Hotel Spa
#3 of 155 in Cartagena
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Quadrifolio
Hotel Quadrifolio
#1 of 155 in Cartagena
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ananda Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle del Cuartel, 36-77 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $222 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ananda Hotel Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A space that transmits the spirit of luxury and comfort in perfect harmony, the ideal place to reach the maximum state of happiness. We invite you to live this wonderful experience on your next trip, because when you think of a luxury hotel, a dream honeymoon, organize a special event or an exclusive company trip, in a charming destination, you will be thinking of ANANDA. ANANDA HOTEL BOUTIQUE is located in the heart of the walled city of Cartagena de Indias. Within walking distance of the hotel you will discover important monuments and historical buildings such as La Catedral, Plaza Santo Domingo and Palacio de la Inquisicion; You will also be amazed by the vibrant life of its streets, trendy boutiques, art galleries and all impregnated with the warmth and kindness of its people that allows us to imagine, for a moment, life in the Caribbean of the sixteenth century. Turning around a corner, and without looking for it, you can find the Wall, that once defended the city of pirates, thieves and buccaneers and which, centuries have become one of the most romantic places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ananda Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing