We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food”
Review of Don Juan

Don Juan
Ranked #34 of 707 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

food was great, high quality. restaurant was crowded on a Thursday night in August at 8pm. we speak minimal spanish, and felt a little bit uncomfortable as it seemed like no one in the restaurant spoke english. we did not have that experience at other restaurants in cartagena.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brett r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    231
    74
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portugal
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Posh! Just that!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food is just ok. For the price you pay should expect more. It's a caricature of a New York or Paris trendy restaurant. The staff is unprofessional, need preparation... They confused all the requests!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its ok, too expensive”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Who goes to
Colombia to eat spanish expensive food ? I mean you are in the wrong side of the world, food is ok, but too expensive,
Many other options around

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my second time to Cartagena in two years. My first visit i did not visit Don Juan based on the trip-advisor ratings, instead going with two higher rated restaurants, i now know what a sad mistake that was. This place is perfect, and on par with most high end NYC restaurants. Went here the second night here, if i had gone the first night, i would have returned for the second.

The food was great, the room was great, and the service was great (the chef was in the dining room all night, subtly turning tables over to accommodate guests waiting in the bar area.

I have only been gone three days and i am still thinking about this meal and i am certain i will to Cartagena sometime soon just to eat her again.

Thank you for an incredible experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shnauzerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food was delicious, fresh, beautifully presented. The space is gorgeous and the clientele make for excellent people watching. Our waitress was so patient with us (and our 'mas o menos' spanish) and recommended excellent dishes (the octopus carpaccio was divine)! Make sure you make a reservation (or have your hotel do it), because it fills up fast, and they often times turn people away on busy nights. I'd highly recommend Don Juan as a restaurant to have a nice dinner at while in Cartagena.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Juan also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing