We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience”
Review of Don Juan

Don Juan
Ranked #34 of 690 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Centerport, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific experience”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my second time to Cartagena in two years. My first visit i did not visit Don Juan based on the trip-advisor ratings, instead going with two higher rated restaurants, i now know what a sad mistake that was. This place is perfect, and on par with most high end NYC restaurants. Went here the second night here, if i had gone the first night, i would have returned for the second.

The food was great, the room was great, and the service was great (the chef was in the dining room all night, subtly turning tables over to accommodate guests waiting in the bar area.

I have only been gone three days and i am still thinking about this meal and i am certain i will to Cartagena sometime soon just to eat her again.

Thank you for an incredible experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shnauzerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    223
    73
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food was delicious, fresh, beautifully presented. The space is gorgeous and the clientele make for excellent people watching. Our waitress was so patient with us (and our 'mas o menos' spanish) and recommended excellent dishes (the octopus carpaccio was divine)! Make sure you make a reservation (or have your hotel do it), because it fills up fast, and they often times turn people away on busy nights. I'd highly recommend Don Juan as a restaurant to have a nice dinner at while in Cartagena.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best in Cartagena”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went there to celebrate my birthday. Excellent food and service, the grouper was delicious and the chocolate cake is out of this world. Nice wine selection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juanfeliped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful decor, great service and wonderful food. Definitely caters to a higher end crowd but my wife & are really enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 748JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended by a friend”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Amazing quality food - great vibe and as with nearly all restaurants in Cartagena, the detail and interior design are excellent!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonkeySeeMonkeyDo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Juan also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing