We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't take responsibility for their mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Baluarte
Ranked #19 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wouldn't take responsibility for their mistake”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My review would have been better, however due to a miscommunication on their part I almost ended up with no place to stay for one night. Luckily I resolved that issue and found a much nicer hostel for less around the corner. But when I went back with a Colombian friend to translate and try to rectify the issue they would neither admit the mistake nor compromise. I was not being unreasonable. Very poor customer service in my opinion. This was not the first communication issue during my stay here, but the worst.
With that being said I will say the rooms are quite small but modern and kept very clean. I enjoyed lounging in the hammock when it was free. I found the wi-fi spotty which was a major annoyance for me. The best part of the is place is the cafe attached to it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBPrairie-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    96
    35
    8
    11
See reviews for
22
93
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pornichet, Pays de la Loire, France
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

nice hotel, great location at 10 minutes of the city center and many bars and restaurant around, nice helpful and friendly people.
Rooms really small, but clean and with A/C. Casa Baluarte is perfect for a short stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We walked in to Casa Baluarte because we were first sitting in their cafe, looking for another accomodation as we did not like our hostel at all. We could not see any rooms because they were fully booked that night, but for the following night it was fine. We agreed because the patio looked really clean and nice and the recepcionist was very friendly.
When we got our room (on the first floor with ventilation) we were happy about our decision although the room was very small. But clean with a good mattress, where we slept like babie and you can sit in their nice patio enjoying a strong wifi signal.
The staff is always friendly and helpful and in their cafe you get really nice a la carte breakfasts and good lunch. They also arrange door-to-door transport if you decide to go to Santa Marta or Taganga. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location, City center is 10 minutes walk, many bars and restaurants around, try the breakfast in Cafe lunatica.
Very affordable option if you want A/C room. The rooms are small but clean, no wifi signal in room but better in common areas.
The staff was freindly and helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

3 nights in double superior room at COP 120000 per night. Double bed and aircon. Weak WIFI signal in room but fine in other areas including attached cafe. On 2nd level above lobby. Bathroom functional but definitely a tight squeeze. Daily clean. No hot water which can sometimes be fun when you have aircon. Room was OK but not overly spacious if you want to spread out a little (ie my bag stayed closed). Easy 5 minute walk into old city. Located in red light area but the girls are harmless enough and always felt safe, even later at night. Big tourist police presence in area. 5 minute walk the other way to the fort / castle which is a must see. Taxi from airport in was $10 at 11pm but got one off the street going back for $5. Cafe attached has reasonable food and local shops very close by for water etc. Staff were very helpful with some understanding of English and plenty of places in the lobby and on 2nd floor to sit and chill. Laptop you can borrow for photos etc. Pretty good location and a very nice place to base yourself from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After a terrible experience at Hostal Santo Domingo, I got a room for only 50 000 Pesos at Casa Baluarte and that was such a relief. A clean, beautiful traditional house with all comodities wifi included given on a quiet patio. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and they kept my luggage a whole week in their locker. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A gorgeous hotel.

We booked a room with two single beds and a fan but it was excruciatingly hot so we asked for an a/c room for the next two nights. Unfortunately, they only had a room with a double bed in and it was quite small.

The hotel is located in a great area - lots of bars and restaurants around but not at all noisy inside. The old town is about 5-10 minutes walk and is gorgeous but the restaurants there are very expensive so staying this side of town is a good option.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get an a/c room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalStormKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#56 of 155 in Cartagena
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#55 of 155 in Cartagena
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#42 of 155 in Cartagena
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#18 of 155 in Cartagena
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#20 of 155 in Cartagena
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Baluarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Baluarte

Property: Hotel Casa Baluarte
Address: Calle de La Media Luna 10 - 81 | Getsemani, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 188 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Baluarte 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Baluarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Baluarte Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing