We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Getsemani”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Baluarte
Ranked #14 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location, City center is 10 minutes walk, many bars and restaurants around, try the breakfast in Cafe lunatica.
Very affordable option if you want A/C room. The rooms are small but clean, no wifi signal in room but better in common areas.
The staff was freindly and helpful

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa Baluarte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 212 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

3 nights in double superior room at COP 120000 per night. Double bed and aircon. Weak WIFI signal in room but fine in other areas including attached cafe. On 2nd level above lobby. Bathroom functional but definitely a tight squeeze. Daily clean. No hot water which can sometimes be fun when you have aircon. Room was OK but not overly spacious if you want to spread out a little (ie my bag stayed closed). Easy 5 minute walk into old city. Located in red light area but the girls are harmless enough and always felt safe, even later at night. Big tourist police presence in area. 5 minute walk the other way to the fort / castle which is a must see. Taxi from airport in was $10 at 11pm but got one off the street going back for $5. Cafe attached has reasonable food and local shops very close by for water etc. Staff were very helpful with some understanding of English and plenty of places in the lobby and on 2nd floor to sit and chill. Laptop you can borrow for photos etc. Pretty good location and a very nice place to base yourself from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After a terrible experience at Hostal Santo Domingo, I got a room for only 50 000 Pesos at Casa Baluarte and that was such a relief. A clean, beautiful traditional house with all comodities wifi included given on a quiet patio. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and they kept my luggage a whole week in their locker. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A gorgeous hotel.

We booked a room with two single beds and a fan but it was excruciatingly hot so we asked for an a/c room for the next two nights. Unfortunately, they only had a room with a double bed in and it was quite small.

The hotel is located in a great area - lots of bars and restaurants around but not at all noisy inside. The old town is about 5-10 minutes walk and is gorgeous but the restaurants there are very expensive so staying this side of town is a good option.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get an a/c room!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TropicalStormKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hostal is very small but very nice inside , very clean and the staff is very friendly.
6 minutes walked to the clock tower and old town, 15 minutes walk to Bocagrande.

The room was ok, the toilet very small but was clean, I do suggest pay a room with air-con not fan, we had the room with a fan and was to hot at night so difficult to sleep.

General, is a good choice, if you are missing the pool because this hostal did not have one, we went to hotel playa in Bocagrande and we paid $20.000 COP per person about £8 for the service, at the end of the day you always saving.

Room Tip: room with a air-con
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlitosDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012.

We got a good deal on the price and were more than happy with the hostal. We opted for a room without AC, unfortunately the fan was a little to noisy to sleep and on opening the window to cool down over night, in the morning we both had a quite a few mosquito bites.

The hostal staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, recommending nice places to get some breakfast or go for a cocktail.

The hostal was very clean and the social areas were very pleasant to relax.

Room Tip: Pay a little but extra and get a room with A/C.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this tidy little place. The staff were fine and our room was good enough. The place is bright and airy and the location on Half Moon Street is good. We looked into several hotels in the area and this one was the best we found. Not as cheap as some of the others but the extra cost was well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave-n-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#18 of 155 in Cartagena
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#57 of 155 in Cartagena
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#51 of 155 in Cartagena
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#60 of 155 in Cartagena
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Baluarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Baluarte

Address: Calle de La Media Luna 10 - 81 | Getsemani, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range: $41 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Baluarte 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Baluarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Baluarte Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing