We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”
Review of Kohsamui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kohsamui
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I want to thank Mrs Maria and her team for the great relaxing days at Kohsamui. It was after our long trip in Bolivia and Colombia the best choice to stay there for 5 days to relax. We looked for a silent place and we found it at Kohsamui. We had the beach and the water in front of us. The perfect environment let us to calm down, even if the beach was a bit dirty and the water is not like playa blanca, was it the perfect stay for us. We are really recommend Kohsamui for people who are looking for relaxing, romantic and chilling days.

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind super. Die Suiten haben einen Fernseher, sind größer und haben dadurch eine größere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

I will probably end up reiterating much of what has already been written about this INCREDIBLE place, but nonetheless, Kohsamui Hotel del Mar deserves every bit of praise. This place is an absolute sanctuary, tucked away in a quiet seaside village about 20 minutes outside Cartagena. There is literally nothing to do in the town. You will fill your days swimming in the warm ocean, enjoying the stretch of beach that you will have almost exclusively to yourself, reading books, napping and drinking cold beer in the hammocks, and eating the most delicious food. MaFe and her wonderful staff make you feel like you are staying in a 5 star hotel - going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need to be happy (and in our case it was keeping us stocked with awesome coffee, cold beer and fresh seafood). They even let us borrow speakers for our iPod when they noticed my husband and I were listening separately to our iPods with headphones.

The food was the best we had in Colombia, and as many other reviewers said, we found ourselves eagerly anticipating each and every meal. Osirus is an incredible cook and will cater to whatever you want. But do yourself a favor and enjoy as much of the fresh seafood as possible while here (the ceviche was especially delicious). Do not even bother attempting to eat elsewhere in this small village (not that there are many options), instead savor every last meal you can at Kohsamui because this food is pretty special.

The 4 rooms here are beautifully decorated. You feel like you are staying in this incredible beachside treehouse (which is pretty much what it is). The beds are comfortable, the room spacious, and the bathroom more than sufficient. No, there is no "hot" water but the water is far from cold. I love a good hot shower as much as the next person but with the heat and humidity the water temperature is actually quite refreshing. There are no TVs in the room and trust me, it is for the best. It would be a shame to waste one second watching TV when you have such beautiful surroundings to enjoy.

Our 3 days at Kohsamui were the epitome of relaxation and exactly what we needed after the busy portions of our trip in Bogota and Cartagena. We could have easily stayed for a week, a month, or forever. Our time at Kohsamui will go down as some of our favorite holiday memories of all time. Trust the reviews - you will be so, so happy you came here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights and loved it! Ate breakfast lunch and dinner there, sometimes in our room, on our balcony, on the main floor or on the beach! The food was delicious and made to order-a HUGE deal since I am a vegetarian. The staff was so accommodating-always ready with a cold beer! I wold definitely recommend the place and would stay there again, no question. No hot water but that's the deal pretty much everywhere. There was also no TV in our room, which was a bummer only because the Olympics were on...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in Cartagena for a wedding so we extended it into a vacation. After Cartagena we went straight to Kohsamui for four nights. Our stay couldn't have been more perfect. It was isolated which is exactly what we wanted. Right on the beach. And an incredibly talented chef who made meals that made us countdown the hours until the next meal. The staff and the owner were also so helpful and willing to do whatever to make our trip what we wanted it to be. They arranged for us to go to Rosario islands which was a great trip. Even though we enjoyed ourselves there and we were thankful to see a different part of the country ... There is nothing like Kohsamui. And the food doesn't compare!! So if you want a relaxing beach getaway (with the beach practically to yourselvves) and delicious food then this place is for you. A side note is that this hut is located in a very poor neighborhood and travelers should take note that this does not effect your stay in any way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kohsamui for 3 nights and we thought it was a great place to unwind. Although it is about 25 minutes by taxi outside of Cartagena, we thought it was definitely worth the trip. The small hotel is located right on the beach (in Manzanillo Del Mar) with rooms that are clean and peaceful and a great deck with hammocks and chair swings. Maria (the owner) was very helpful in arranging transport (to the city center, bus station etc). Jesus, who provides transportation for Kohsamui, was a pleasure to travel with! He was personable and friendly and always on time. Although meals are at added cost, the food at Kohsamui was fresh and delicious. We would highly recommend Kohsamui if you are looking for a quiet place to relax away from all of the crowded beaches in Cartagena.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Kohsamui is an affordable boutique hotel at the beach of Manzanillo del Mar. It´s more than half an hour from the historic centre of Cartagena by car, but is worth the effort and the money you will have to spend on taxi drives (30.000 COP one way - more at night). During daytime, there is a bus going to the centre and even to the entrance of Castillo San Felipe at the top of every hour for just 1.500 COP. It leaves in front of the village church. The staff was so lovely and dropped everything to take me to the right place since there is no sign indicating a bus stop. Thank you so much again.

At the beach, you will almost feel like Robinson Crusoe since there are hardly any other people around. It´s not a beautiful beach and there is some rubbish like at any Colombian beach (even including Islas de Rosario), but at night you´ve got the sound of the ocean and the starlit sky all to yourself. It was amazing spending hours in a chair just starring at the moon and stars and listening to the waves. Thank you, Maria, for this spontaneous idea of yours.

Maria, the owner of this four-roomed-gem, is always reaching for the stars to make your stay a highly enjoyable and memorable one. The interior design and the food are a delight. But even I have to admit that having dinner at the Kohsamui is a bit pricy and it is not always clear what you can order for breakfast. Knowing some Spanish will help getting the most out of your stay, I guess.

You should decide quickly on going to the Kohsamui because others have found out that this beach is a lovely place and there will be another hotel next door. And maybe more to come. I just pray this won´t become a noisy and touristy place in the near future. Would be very sad.

Let´s not forget: Maria knows the best taxi driver of Cartagena. He is very reliable, honest and takes you back safely at night. It´s so great chatting with him that time flies. Muchas gracias, Jesus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaFSuarez, Gerente at Kohsamui, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for your exceptional description of the Kohsamui experience. Our job is based on your satisfaction, we are always improving things to offers you the best. As mentioned in other answer, We have set a new menu for breakfast which have 5 delicious options, it is in English and Spanish so we can have a better communication with our guests, in this way you will have a better experience for starting the day. Jesus is a extraordinary persons with all our confidence, Kohsamui recomend him for all the transportation of the guests; we will transmit your great words to him. Talking about the beach of manzanillo, unfortunately not all the areas of this long beach are clean, we try to do our best effort 100 mts on our front, cleaning the trash but it is out of our hands to solve the problem of all the beach, we have talked to the local goverment in order to create cleaning campaings but it have been just a frustrated and disapointing conversation. We will insist for sure. Thanks for prefering Kohsamui during your stay in Cartagena and thanks for your invitation to world travellers for visiting us, here we are ready to give you the best relaxing experience... great emotions converge here, discover them!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

After the oppressive heat of Cartagena, 2 nights here was a welcome relief. The hotel arranged a taxi to pick us up from Cartagena and bring us to the beach. The staff were all pleasant except one of the kitchen staff seemed a bit put out most if the time, no smile at all. We felt like we were asking a big favor to order dinner. We also felt some pressure to eat dinner early, before 7 which we dont like. The owner is very nice and checked we were comfortable. The room was nice and very cool. Right on the beach, nice to hear the sound of the waves. Good food in the restaurant but expensive. Breakfast very average, we had to ask for coffee the first day and it was a choice of Arepe with egg or scrambled eggs. I dont mind a simple breakfast, BUT When you pay well over $100 US a night you should get juice and coffee and fresh fruit for breakfast, not just eggs, at hostels I have had better breakfasts. Overall, pleasant stay, beach long for nice walks except when the rubbish is washed up, definitely not a really clean beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaFSuarez, Gerente at Kohsamui, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear guest, We are really sorry for any bad impression of the kitchen service; I have talked to them to clarify some basic service instructions and meal times. Thank you so much for your comments about food and breakfast, now we have Breakfast a la carte, with 5 deligh options, variety totally included. Food prices at the restaurant are reasonable if you compare them with any similar sea food restaurant in Cartagena. Anyway, I am always available to receive your suggestions during your stay, if there´s something to solve I can organize it inmediatly. Thank you and hope you to come back on a next opportunity to evaluate our new service advantages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
3.6 mi away
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
Vistamarina Casa Hotel
#17 of 158 in Cartagena
243 reviews
6.9 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
7.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#107 of 158 in Cartagena
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#53 of 158 in Cartagena
588 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#18 of 158 in Cartagena
620 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#61 of 158 in Cartagena
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohsamui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohsamui

Address: Transversal 2 No 3-51 via al mar | Entering Manzanillo of the Sea, North of Cartagena 9.7 Km, Cartagena 130010, Colombia (Formerly Kohsamui Hotel De Mar)
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $115 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohsamui 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kohsamui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing