We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place with great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Cochera de Hobo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Boutique Cochera de Hobo
Ranked #80 of 158 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice place with great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. It is a cozy place with friendly staff. It's clean and the rooms have good aircondition. The only thing that's a bit negative about this place is that it is a bit "worn out". It sure could use some upgrading. And the price is a bit to high, but there's no problem to negotiate about the price. The best thing about the place is its location, it's in a quiet street in the old town and close to plaza de San Diego.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OdiliaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    36
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
53
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights, perfectly located for bars, restaurants and sights, very safe area, small pool to cool down from the heat in cartagena, very friendky and helpful owner, we e.g. got breakfast earlier than the normal hours to reach our tour, very recommendable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dd206cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my 5 days here the ladies.serving breakfast were fantastic , warm and welcoming the evening desk clerk Christian was very helpful a clam and welcoming presence. I was on the top floor with my own router so the wifi was great, would go back.in a minute

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniebuffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel for only one night. The location is excellent, just a few steps from Plaza de San Diego and other main attrations in Cartagena. Service is also great, they offered hot beverages to us and everyone was very friendly. Breakfast was delicious. However, it was overrated. The rooms are very basic and the pool is so small that it actually looks like a decoration fountain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurapatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed there with my girlfriend in Feb 2011 for a few days.
We chose the hotel due to the good recommendations, however, I found that the place needed refurbishment, Moreover, for the first night we got a terrible room with a terrible bathroom in the ground floor.
Afterwards we changed the room and received one in the second or third floor, much better, but still not sufficient for this price. The pictures look really nice, but in reality everything looks a bit shabby. Breakfast is simple, the only nice thing about it was that an omelett was cooked for you according to your wishes. However, after a few days we were happy to receive a different breakfast with more variety in other locations.
Without having been there, Tres Banderas in front of the hotel looked much more promising,
I cannot recommend Cochera de Hobo.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jl_travel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
574 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is both a frustrating and difficult review to write as I would love to exclusively rave about this B&B because everyone there made us feel so welcome and comfortable, however, there are a few things that fellow travellers should be aware of.

This B&B is located on one of the quieter streets in the old town. The exterior looks like it has been quite recently painted, however, the reception area needs a spruce up - the leatherette worn couch and the cheap wall divider marred our first impression. The sitting area past it looks cheerful . The small plunge pool takes up most of the central patio and you walk around the edge to get to the rooms. We saw one room being repainted (refurbished?) just off this pool while we were there.

We were in room 7, which is up two flights of stairs and across a 'bridge' over the central courtyard. The room is long but narrow, and was clean. Upon entry one is in the sitting area with a couch, the wardrobe and in a nook at the end the safe (the safe only worked twice but then we were given a key to open it for the duration of our stay). The sleeping area had twin beds (well worn sheets), two night tables, a wall mounted flat screen tv, free standing mini bar, full length mirror, a good air conditioner (most welcome in the humidity) and complimentary wifi. The turquoise bedspreads, curtains and colourful wall hangings offset by white walls gave the room a cheerful feel. The sliding glass doors off the bedroom led to a small balcony area and a lawn chair, which overlooked Calle Cochero Del Hobo. There was very little traffic at night so we slept well.

The narrow bathroom had a sink, toilet and shower. There is only cold water in the hand basin and initially we only had cold water in the shower but when we asked about that the shower head was quickly replaced and then we had hot water. Soap and shampoo are provided but there is no hairdryer.

Breakfast is served in the small restaurant off the reception area. It consisted of freshly cut papaya, three pieces of toast and three bread rolls, eggs made to order, juice (unfortunately not fresh) and coffee.

The B&B felt safe as there were always staff in or near the reception area, or often the front grill was locked but they immediately came to open it whenever we arrived.

We had some airline issues that necessitated departing two days early. We were able to give two days notice of this and it was no problem: very nicely handled by all staff.

All the staff that we encountered were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. It felt almost like staying with extended family the greeting were so heartfelt. We would like to thank Luz in particular for all her help and advice which helped us enjoy the city.

We felt the cost was quite high for the quality of the premises but found that prices in Cartagena seemed to be much higher than elsewhere. This B&B could be better value if a number of improvements were made - our suggestion would be to upgrade reception by replacing the couch at the entry and room divider to be in the style of the sitting area, paint balustrade, new sheets and towels, replace the cheap wardrobe (doors do not slide) and better door knobs/locks. Unfortunately some cheap materials have been used and there are enough of them to be noticed. Replacing even a portion of the things mentioned would make a difference to the feel of the B&B. The staff deserve this to support their efforts. The main floor room being repainted was very small so we would recommend booking one of the larger, higher up rooms.

Recommend for location, general ambience, and fabulous staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka-shi, Fukuoka, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

the location is great, nice and smiley stuff will welcome to you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuujiosako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
Casablanca Belle & Boutique
#72 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tcherassi Hotel
Tcherassi Hotel
#60 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#41 of 148 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Suites
Hotel Marina Suites
#110 of 148 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Genoves Hostal
El Genoves Hostal
#12 of 159 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calamari Hostal Boutique
Calamari Hostal Boutique
#5 of 158 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Cochera de Hobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Cochera de Hobo

Property: Hotel Boutique Cochera de Hobo
Address: cochera de hobo No. 38 - 55 San Diego, Cartagena 575, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Cochera de Hobo 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the center of the walled city of Cartagena, one of the most emblematic of this, born BOUTIQUE HOTEL COCHERA DE HOBO, where you can find peace, privacy, comfort and good service. This spectacular hotel has 4 rooms, equipped with all amenities, so you can rest as you deserve. BOUTIQUE HOTEL COCHERA DE HOBO has Restaurant, Room service, 4 rooms with air conditioning minibar plasma TV, satellite TV, the hotel also has 2 terraces with devastating with the best view of the historical center and third terrace with BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Boutique Cochera de Hobo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing