We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back again at la mulata and still very good for the center of cartagena old city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mulata

La Mulata
Ranked #24 of 660 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Soups, South American, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wels, Austria
Level Contributor
255 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“back again at la mulata and still very good for the center of cartagena old city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

always nice to be back at the la mulata - they have renovated the place now - got some new chairs and tables etc.
main area at entrance is air-conditioned - unlike some comments that there are only ceiling fans.
the service is still as fast as you can imagine in any first class restaurant - they are just well organised and trained.
friendliness hasn´t changed - there is always a smile for you.
the prices continue to be very competitive - hard to find anything like that in the walled city center - fresh fruit juices @ 1500 COP or 0,70 € (0,5l) try corozo or mango, fish is 22.000 COP or 9,5 € and lomo ancho 13.000 COP or 6 € all of the dished include the soup of the day!

i noticed more foreign tourists since my last visit - surely because of the good ratings of trip advisor.

can still strongly recommend the place - do not expect 4 star presentation of food!
be aware that it may be very crowded during main lunch time - go there around 13:30

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sauraumpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,197
    691
    165
    58
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This restaurant is amazing the food was delicious , before place the order they gave me a bowl of the soup of the day, the have many specials every day , compare to other restaurants they give you more quality and quantity in here , prices are more than reasonable you will loved it , come by 12:39 for lunch after that get pack from front to back and by 1:00 pm you will see the line of people waiting at least when I went both days was the same.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreapgn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“First real sit down meal is a success!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We're usually pretty laid back about our restaurant selections...hardly is it ever fancy. However, I am so happy that we ate here. First, there were mostly locals....or maybe it was all locals. I noticed no other tourists. The service was super friendly and fast. There are two juices (tamarind and cranberry) of the day, and we chose both. I preferred the tamarind, which was not too sweet. I let my husband choose the two entrees, since it was seafood and I had no preference. We got a fish fillet and a seafood mix type dish. They have a very small daily menu, but everything that we ate was just delicious. I don't know if there was any dessert option, but we were pretty full. Value wise, we paid about $14usd pp with drinks. I paid about the same for a fancy sandwich in the Bocagrande area last night, so to get seafood for such a reasonable price blew my mind. If you come here, I'd def recommend the seafood, since the restaurant specializes in the coastal food of the region. Come eat where the locals eat and you will not regret it. One of the highlights of the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious hearty lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Sat down and before they really said anything, a cup of fish soup timely appeared as the thunderstorm outside began rumbling.

Giant serving sizes, even by American standards. I had the chicken and sausage, and along with the pesto mozzarella topping, it melted in my mouth. My girlfriend had a huge plate of rice and shrimp.

The limonade and Coco limonada are not to be missed!

Overall the atmosphere was cool and the restaurant boasted a mix of hungry locals and tourist looking for a good deal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome. Huge fish and great sides!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very limited menu. Mainly whatever is the catch and fresh. Huge portions. Simply flavored, but very traditional Colombian fare. Great value and ambience with smiling and energetic staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saurin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mulata also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to La Mulata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing