We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music, great food and a view”

Montesacro Resto - Bar
Ranked #71 of 744 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Colombian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Live Music the freshest Seafood on the best Balcony in Cartagena
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Wandered around Cartagena with a friend, and we found this place. What a lucky find! We sat up on the second floor balcony overlooking the parque bolivar. A band played upbeat and festive music the entire time. And the food was sumptuous - absolutely tasty! We had steak, fish, wine and warmed brownies for dessert. The staff were attentive and friendly. Afterwards, as we were heading out, Chef Abraham thanked us at the door and gave us advice on where to continue our evening. Great place -- hope to end up there again soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesacro R, Manager at Montesacro Resto - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

And we hope to have you here again soon. thank you for the great review

Chef Abraham Dau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 140 of 563 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

You can sit on the balcony overlooking the House of Inquisition. The staff, including the Executive Chef, Abraham Dau, truly care about your experience. The food is local and delicious. Get the fried whole fish or seafood "casserole", which is more like a thick stew. The staff heard we were on our honeymoon and sent the lead singer of the live band to our table to sing a song. Best hospitality in Cartagena.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesacro R, Manager at Montesacro Resto - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

HAHA I told you I would make up for being booked on the day before. Im glad you had a great honeymoon. Just so you know if 9 months from now you wanna do a baby shower we can help you out with that.

Best Wishes
Chef Abraham Dau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The balcony of Monte Sacro restaurant is a great location to enjoy appetizers and drinks in the afternoon, and dinner and live music in the evening. Hands down, the best thing about Monte Sacro is the staff, especially chef Abraham. He came to our table to personally ask how we were enjoying our meal, and we were pleasantly surprised that he spoke fluent English. Because we did not speak Spanish, we troubled Abraham to provide us with suggestions of things to do around the city, as well as for directions, etc. He went above and beyond his job as a chef in helping us. The food was excellent, and the live music at night was a special touch. While the restaurant is on the pricier side, it is definitely worth the cost for the environment, quality of the food, and exceptional service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dv2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesacro R, Manager at Montesacro Resto - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

No worries anything to make our guests happy!!

Cheers
Abe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were looking for a nice restaurant and we didn't have a reservation. We stumbled upon Monte Sacro. They were very quick to accommodate 8 people. It's one of the few places that had the English translation below the Spanish. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was great. The executive chef was educated in the United States and England, and is quick to help out with travel recommendations and any language barrier

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sjf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesacro R, Manager at Montesacro Resto - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Its allways fun having a big group of people around. I hope that you and your guests had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

We decided to try this restaurant after checking with Trip Advisor and were impressed that the owner/chef answered the reviews.

As we were walking upstairs we could hear the lively band playing on the balcony. We were immediately greeted by Abraham the owner, who in perfect English was so gracious and friendly. He led us to a beautiful candle lit table strewn with rose petals.

After ordering drinks, we were told my fruit passion fruit drink would take a few minutes because each was individually made.

While waiting for our appetizers of mini plantacones and
fried calamari, chef brought out a tasting of corvina crochettes in homemade sour cream that were amazing.

For our main entrees we ordered the Corvina in cream sauce and I ordered the beef tenderloin in peppercorn sauce. Both dishes were delicious and filling.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesacro R, Manager at Montesacro Resto - Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Hi Jim . Although merely a small partner in this wonderful restaurant the door are always open to you. I'm happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and hope that your 25th anniversary week went just as well. Please continue to enjoy everything Cartagena has to offer and I hope to see you soon.

Chef Abraham Dau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montesacro Resto - Bar also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Montesacro Resto - Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing