We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated but charming hotel”
Review of San Pietro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Pietro Hotel
Ranked #75 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

this is a pretty nice hotel.
we had a few issues which management were quick to resolve.
our room was huge, was cleaned every day & fresh towels were left.
the decor could do with being updated, and some aspects of our room were a little grotty.
breakfast was decent - the eggs were superb.
best feature of this hotel is the roof terrace which has 3 cool water jacuzzi's, sun loungers & a shaded area with hammocks.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodleberryfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is centrally located in the new city and is very adequate. My first room could not connect to Internet, had manager come up and changed me to room 303 , which is the nice poster bed with beautiful headboard. And Internet
worked fine. At times it would go off but moving around got it going. Staff very friendly , specially front desk gal named
Vanessa. The Italian restaurant next door is great. Good service good food. Seems to be a local favorite. Breakfast was included and good. Air conditioning worked well, but housekeepers turned it off, when you are out of room. And in the heat it was a bit uncomfortable. Nice shower with hot water.
My only beef was there guest visitor policy, no one allowed after 6 and the charge was a steep 50,000 pesos. Even if guest was just visiting. I had a friend come over for wine and because he did not have an ID was not allowed in, some story about police would shut them down!! Please! Before here I stayed at Hilton extra person charge was only $10. This policy was a big turn off and next time, I will most likely look elsewhere. If you do not have friends , then it is fine, cleaned and spacious rooms.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank paknflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 days.. A great resting place.. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a nice free breakfast.. Nice Italian resturant connected to hotel.. Food very good.. Would recommend to anyone and would stay again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmenatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is clean, safe and has everything you would need to use as a peasant base. It is a little out of the old town, but it is an easy walk or a taxi ride is very cheap, and there is plenty of nightlife around.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Clean rooms, cheap prices, good breakfast, good service. All that you need for a comfortable stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German Andres R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights recently and I must say it was truly enjoyable. The room we had was small, but it was perfectly acceptable, and I understand that all the rooms are different so you may get a large or small room, luck of the draw. Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean, the decorations were adorable, and the restaurant in the hotel had very good food. Breakfast was the same day after day, but that didn't really bother us as we only made it down early enough a couple of times, service ends at 10 am. We didn't make much use of the rooftop terrace, as we found the beach to be far more fun. Don't believe the bad reviews of the Cartagena beaches, they are fantastic! Sure the sand is not white, but the water is quite clear and warm like bath water! We loved it! If you want to rent chairs or a cabana and NOT get ripped off, look for Johnny by the blue cabanas, he is a joy to deal with, especially once he gets to know you, your chairs will be waiting for you day after day! A note about the peddlers, while there is many of them, we didn't find it all that bothersome. However, we noticed that "no" went a lot farther than "no, gracias" in getting them to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

our group of 6 stayed her for 3 nights while in cartagena and would definitely return. good location, a bit far to walk to the old city but a very cheap cab ride away. rooms were very clean, spacious, safe. did not eat at the restaurant downstairs but the food looked good and the beers were cheap. staff was extremely helpful [ie: restaurant recommendations, planning transportation to beaches, boat trips]. morning breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EKCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barlovento
Hotel Barlovento
#38 of 157 in Cartagena
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zalmedina Hotel
Zalmedina Hotel
#133 of 157 in Cartagena
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Club Hotel
Playa Club Hotel
#51 of 157 in Cartagena
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Concept
Hotel Blue Concept
#90 of 157 in Cartagena
192 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#107 of 157 in Cartagena
114 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cabrero Mar
Hotel Cabrero Mar
#72 of 157 in Cartagena
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pietro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pietro Hotel

Address: Carrera 3 Calle 4 - 101, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $56 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pietro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Pietro is a restored old house located in the tourist area of Cartagena: Bocagrande, where most of the hotels in the city are located. 10 minutes from the airport, 5 minutes from the walled town, 2 blocks from the beach, 500mts from shopping centers, banks, money exchange, and a few blocks from the church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Pietro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing