We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Small Hotel, OK Location”
Review of San Pietro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Pietro Hotel
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is clean, safe and has everything you would need to use as a peasant base. It is a little out of the old town, but it is an easy walk or a taxi ride is very cheap, and there is plenty of nightlife around.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 266 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Clean rooms, cheap prices, good breakfast, good service. All that you need for a comfortable stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German Andres R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights recently and I must say it was truly enjoyable. The room we had was small, but it was perfectly acceptable, and I understand that all the rooms are different so you may get a large or small room, luck of the draw. Everything in the hotel was spotlessly clean, the decorations were adorable, and the restaurant in the hotel had very good food. Breakfast was the same day after day, but that didn't really bother us as we only made it down early enough a couple of times, service ends at 10 am. We didn't make much use of the rooftop terrace, as we found the beach to be far more fun. Don't believe the bad reviews of the Cartagena beaches, they are fantastic! Sure the sand is not white, but the water is quite clear and warm like bath water! We loved it! If you want to rent chairs or a cabana and NOT get ripped off, look for Johnny by the blue cabanas, he is a joy to deal with, especially once he gets to know you, your chairs will be waiting for you day after day! A note about the peddlers, while there is many of them, we didn't find it all that bothersome. However, we noticed that "no" went a lot farther than "no, gracias" in getting them to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

our group of 6 stayed her for 3 nights while in cartagena and would definitely return. good location, a bit far to walk to the old city but a very cheap cab ride away. rooms were very clean, spacious, safe. did not eat at the restaurant downstairs but the food looked good and the beers were cheap. staff was extremely helpful [ie: restaurant recommendations, planning transportation to beaches, boat trips]. morning breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EKCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

After staying at a top rate boutique hotel in Santa Marta, this hotel was a step down although $25 cheaper at $85 per night. The room was somewhat small with a stiff king sized bed and hard pillows. The bathroom had hardly enough room to get off the toilet. The WiFi kept fading in and out. Nice TV and air conditioner. The free breakfast was a disappointment and we ended going out to the buffet at the Hotel Caribe which is a block away. Having said all these nagarive things, on the positive side the location is a block from the beach and you can step out the front door and catch a bus to the Old City for$.75. The staff of the hotel are very helpful and at your disposal for room service or questions.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteMattisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

San Pietro Hotel is a little oasis in the Bocagrande area of Cartagena. The hotel is well planned with a nice courtyard breakfast area and hammocks on the roof terrace. Spent an evening in one of the hammocks, sipping a glass of wine, looking across the rooftops of Bocagrande and to the stars above. The hotel is very clean and good value for money. It is unique but in a good way!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I recently visited this hotel while on vacation in Cartagena and we absolutely loved it! Clean, quiet, and quaint, the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a most delightful experience. The rooms were of a decent size and the quality of the daily breakfasts blew us away. It is situated in a very good location, close to the public beaches of Bocagrande and multiple local restaurants where you can find some fantastic arroz con pollo and other Colombian delights. Internet access was available and if the two general computers were not functional, the staff loaned us their personal netbook so that we were able to log-on. While not far from the walled city, it was easy to find a cab for transportation. Overall, the hospitality was very good and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a true experience and not that of a traditional chain.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barlovento
Hotel Barlovento
#37 of 157 in Cartagena
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zalmedina Hotel
Zalmedina Hotel
#133 of 157 in Cartagena
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Club Hotel
Playa Club Hotel
#51 of 157 in Cartagena
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Concept
Hotel Blue Concept
#90 of 157 in Cartagena
192 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#108 of 157 in Cartagena
114 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cabrero Mar
Hotel Cabrero Mar
#73 of 157 in Cartagena
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pietro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pietro Hotel

Address: Carrera 3 Calle 4 - 101, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 157 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range: $56 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Pietro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Pietro is a restored old house located in the tourist area of Cartagena: Bocagrande, where most of the hotels in the city are located. 10 minutes from the airport, 5 minutes from the walled town, 2 blocks from the beach, 500mts from shopping centers, banks, money exchange, and a few blocks from the church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Pietro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing