We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cartagena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutique Hotel swissResidial
Ranked #133 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Maastricht, Países Bajos
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I can say that my stay in Hotel Swiss Residial was perfect. The clean, modern room with enough space, and a great shower. The people were very friendly and helpfull.
They were a big help in organising my trips to Islas del Rosario and Playa blanca. I like the serounding with a lot of restaurants very closeby where you can eat delicious colombian food for little money over there. There´s also a very good salsa club just one block away.
If you are loking for a hotel with comfortable, clean, modern rooms I really would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FVerhoeckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
17
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Was a little surprised at how highly this hotel gets reviewed as my stay was below average.

First of all, the hotel is in a historic area (Getsemani), but not in the main historic area of Cartagena. It is on a working class street that is loud (during the day), noisy and dirty which many may find offputting. Safety may be an issue around this area.... Occasionally saw a few prostitutes in the nearby Centenario park. The area is gentrifying and would expect it improve in a few years time; however, for now, the street is unwelcoming to tourists.

If you can get past that, the hotel isn't so bad. The owner is friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable. The location is good, but not great. Its a 5-10 minute walk to the entrance of the old city. The rooms are clean, but on the small side. Good A/C and hot water.

Other than the sketchy location, the only other con is the continental breakfast...definitely inadequate.

Overall, its just an OK budget choice, but wouldn't recommend due to the location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miamilocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This was our first trip to Catagena and were very lucky to find this hotel.
The owner is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very clean , confortable and quiet.
Perfect location for sightseeing , good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyager2010-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Hotel has a nice atmosphere, friendly and always helpful staff. Rooms are fitted nicely and the hotel is located directly in the city center, in walking distance to the historical city. Rooms are really clean with good everyday service.. Defintely to recommend!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I stayed at the swissResidial in end of October 2009. It was my first stay in colombia, so i kept an eye on a safe and secure environment. I was a little bit shocked as the taxi driver said that this is a very unsafe area and i was really a bit upset about this.
After arriving there Erwin (the manager) welcome us very nice and it was a pleasure to talk with him, and he tried to make everything to have a good and comfortable stay.
But back to the topic about security in this area - after i have aclimated a bit and walking around in the street of the hotel i felt, that this was just the first watch (that i felt unsecure). The people greated on street, and were also friendly (i lost one time the bag of my camera and a man immendiately informed me that i have lost the bag). It's just the first look in my opinion. Colombia is not europe and you can't compare the look of streets and the intension of people. In this caribiean area it's normal that on every house is loud salsa or caribian music, the people sit outside there house and drink beer or make a "siesta".
Even in the night i never have had any problems in the street (also in the time of sometimes 1-4 o clock in the night!). I sometimes felt more unsecure in the empty streets of the old historical cartagena than in this street.
The hotel is good located and you can reach the centre of the historical cartagena within 5-10 minutes. Also supermarkets or bank (BBVA etc) are just a few minutes away.
The hotel itself is very secure, it have a own small plaza where you can just sit outside, make siesta, enjoy a good coffee or just have a solid talk with Erwin the boss.
The breakfast was normal standard like in Europe for small hotels, breads, small sweets and a selection of several jams. Also fresh fruits, juice and good coffee was served.
Erwins woman keep the rooms clean and cleans all days - so it's really clean - more than in some european/german hotels i have been.
The hotelrooms are modern with TV and with a very nice bathroom (you can't compare this with other colombian hotels in this price-segment - it's swiss quality!).
There's also free internet, and a laundry service direct at the hotel (cost a bit -but cheap!).
At all i have to rate the hotel with 5 points, it's cheap for european people, with good service and a very nice staff in the hotel (Erwin really cares and helps you where he can - he printed me out the boarding pass for the airplane and lend me power-source converter for using my notebook reacharge).
If you want to have "swiss" Service with "swiss" Quality stay there.

Thanks to Erwin and Staff! We will see again on summer 2010!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neversaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2010

This small hotel is for all who want to stay close to the center and love to sleep in a quiet ambiance with a top room service everyday for a worthful price.
The owner and his wife are agradable people and the rooms are with air condition, TV with all the channels you can imagine and with warm water. To recommend!
Alex

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kluschli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Small hotel with only a few rooms in the heart of Getsemani. You can feel the Swiss management: extremely clean and modern interior and furnishing. The owner is very helpful in all kinds of questions or for travel arrangements. Really enjoyed staying there and would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevs089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
0.0 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#59 of 154 in Cartagena
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#55 of 154 in Cartagena
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 154 in Cartagena
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bantu Hotel By Faranda Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#24 of 154 in Cartagena
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel swissResidial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel swissResidial

Property: Boutique Hotel swissResidial
Address: Calle de la Magdalena No. 9-67 | Centro Getsemani, Cartagena 00000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 154 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel swissResidial is a newly renovated hotel located in the historical center of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. All rooms have their own bathroom, air condition with individual remote control, ceiling fan, safety box, fridge, free high-speed wireless internet, LCD TV with a big selection of national and international channels, optional laundry service. The continental breakfast is served in our patio (garden). In our patio (garden) are seatings to enjoy your continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing