We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and friendly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cartagena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutique Hotel swissResidial
Ranked #134 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and friendly”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Swiss Residial for a month while on a language course in Cartagena. The hotel is clean and modern with friendly staff. The owner and manager, Erwin, is flexible, efficient and full of good advice about Cartegena and the surrounding area. Overall the Swiss Residial provides great value for money - it is situated within an easy walk of the walled old city and is surrounded by restaurants that also provide value for money. Everything inside the walls tends to be expensive. The hotel has air conditioning and fans, fast wifi and all you can eat fruit, bread, yougart and cereal breakfast. I would recommend this hotel as a good jumping off point for Cartagena, Santa Marta and the Tayrona Park and South to the San Bernado Islands. One final point, I was there when the last review tried to dishonestly put 3 people in a room having paid for 2 - she was dealt with very fairly by the manager, Erwin, who has a charming dog called Tiny that he treats very well!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
17
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We have been travelling in Colombia for about a week now and have had wonderful experiences everywhere we've stayed...but Swiss Boutique.

To start off, the shower completely fell off the wall and landed on my friend. The owner yelled at his female staff for the problem and blamed it on Colombian hardware.
Then there was a power outage (not the owners fault) but our air conditioning went out as well as the lights. The owner said the power outage could last hours or days. After the power had been out for 4 hours in hot humid weather we explained to him that we would have to cancel our reservation for the next two nights. He seemed understanding and told us that it would be fine but that we would have to cancel through the agency. Long story short, the owner hid in his room and refused to help us when we were trying to talk to the booking agency. And when they called him on his phone, he told them he could not speak english even though he had been using it fluently with us for the last day. End of story, we got charged for a full three days when we only stayed one miserable day!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatieR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the first night of our honeymoon in Colombia. The owner Erwin was more than helpful, giving us an excellent orientation of the city with a map and set us up with the best colectivo bus service to Santa Marta. He speaks English, Spanish and German. The room was immaculately maintained, and loved the modern bathroom and shower. Great location - close to dozens of the local restaurants and lots of the night life. Yet the street is very quiet in the evenings. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moonbunnytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faschina, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I enjoyed my vacations in Cartagena very much. I’ve booked a ten days stay in the Swissresidial Boutique Hotel. The hotel is located in the historical centre of Cartagena near a beautiful park. The hotel itself is not that big there are just four rooms but that was exactly what i was looking for. I don’t like the big hotel-complexes where the customer is just one of many. The rooms of the hotel are a little small but very well equipped and clean. Erwin the manager of the hotel is a helpful person and provided me with some good tips during my stay. The locations he recommended to visit exactly meet my interests. He also offers different bookable short-trips which are really cool and very well organised. I’ve booked an exciting speedboat trip to the playa blanca.
I highly recommend the hotel because of the Swiss quality you get for a good price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinedomig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Just have a look at my pictures and judge for yourselves whether it's worth visiting.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swisspics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This hotel is a great little find. It's location is second to none and the owners knowledge about Cartagena is a real bonus. There are only 4 rooms so you can be assured of great service.
The rooms are modern and fresh with colourful Caribbean twists.
Another great bonus is that the hotel offers a wide range of great value tours that make your stay in Cartagena just a little easier. They don't cost the earth and are a much easier option than trailing the streets looking for what you want.
All in all a great place to stay and complement your stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivalatinamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

This is clearly not a boutique hotel. Is a house with 4 rooms remodeled. The rooms are clean and spacious. The air conditioners (very important for those temperatures) are new as most of the appliances in the rooms. The service is fairly good. The manager knows the city well enough to provide advice in terms of where to go. I would say there are 2 bad notes about the whole stay. The street, really noisy and quite scary at some time late at night, and the shower!! With no curtains, no shower box or nothing alike, once you take shower, all water will be spilled around and the whole thing becomes a mess. Maybe a bit overpriced for what it really is, but, ultimately, is very close to the old city (3 blocks from it). Obviously not the kind of hotel to "stay" while in Cartagena, but, for having a clean bed where to sleep, free internet, good colombian coffee, cheap laundry and good service. Not bad.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
Hotel Boutique la Artilleria
#61 of 155 in Cartagena
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
Casa Canabal Hotel Boutique
#60 of 155 in Cartagena
491 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Felipe Hotel Cartagena
San Felipe Hotel Cartagena
#65 of 155 in Cartagena
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
2.1 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#17 of 155 in Cartagena
1,012 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Arrecifes
Hostal Arrecifes
#95 of 163 in Cartagena
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel swissResidial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel swissResidial

Property: Boutique Hotel swissResidial
Address: Calle de la Magdalena No. 9-67 | Centro Getsemani, Cartagena 00000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 155 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel swissResidial is a newly renovated hotel located in the historical center of Cartagena de Indias, Colombia. All rooms have their own bathroom, air condition with individual remote control, ceiling fan, safety box, fridge, free high-speed wireless internet, LCD TV with a big selection of national and international channels, optional laundry service. The continental breakfast is served in our patio (garden). In our patio (garden) are seatings to enjoy your continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing