We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hotel Marlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marlin
Ranked #102 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I liked the place, it's clean, well-located and with a reasonable price. I mean, we paid 50 thousands COB for a double-bed room with W.C. I think that's pretty good for the Cartagena standarts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilsonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo me gustaria agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros y expresarle que estamos muy contentos por el tiempo que se tomo para hacer el comentario, sus opiniones son muy importantes para nosotros, tendremos en cuenta sus comentarios y sugerencias las cuales nos servirán en nuestro proceso de mejora y calidad de servicio, esperamos verla/o muy pronto de regreso y recuerde que siempre tendrá con nosotros el mejor servicio en la ciudad de Caratagena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here one night. The temperature outside was over 30 celcius, the incredibly small room had no windows and a very noisy ceiling fan. We had no sleep and even though the price was cheap there is no point staying when you can't sleep!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCarryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo quiero agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros,ofrecemos disculpas por las incomodidades generadas durante su estadía, por lo que se tomaran inmediatamente los correctivos con el fin de brindar una mejor calidad de servicio,nuestros huéspedes son muy importante para nosotros, agradecemos sus comentarios y sugerencias para mejorar la calidad y el servicio del hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My friends and I had been a little disorganised and with limited availability in the other Trip-advisor hostels ended up risking The Hotel Marlin (No review), this is an error on our part.

To give Hotel Marlin a fair chance, I will agree that, as it says in the "Lonely Planet" it does have a pleasant reception area and the upstairs communal area is also fine.

When we arrived they had no evidence of the booking we had made the previous night but they were still able to put us in a private room for the 3 of us. It all really went wrong upon entering the room.

The room smelled of urine and from its very small size felt more akin to a prison cell than a hostel room (the bars on the internal window was a nice touch there). The separation between the private bathroom and the room was a shower curtain and the shower head was a broken pipe sticking out of the wall. The room gave us such an uneasy feeling so we headed off to other hostels in Getsemani, Cartagena to see if there had been any cancellations. Luckily we found Hostel La Casona, Cartagena a few blocks away for the same price (it was in Lonely Planet) but much nicer. We booked in there for both the nights we needed.

Upon returning to Hotel Marlin to see if we could get any kind of refund for the 1 hour our bags had sat in the room the receptionist said no, no refund! After much talking of the 70,000 COP we were given back 20,000 COP, but saying as it was only 4pm she probably re-rented the room anyway and never lost a penny. So although inexpensive Hotel Marlin really is a saving too far to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmarlincartagena, Director General at Hotel Marlin, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, mi nombre es Lorcy Florez Anaya administradora del HOTEL MARLIN primero que todo quiero agradecerle por quedarse con nosotros,ofrecemos disculpas por las incomodidades generadas durante su estadía, por lo que se tomaran inmediatamente los correctivos con el fin de brindar una mejor calidad de servicio,nuestros huéspedes son muy importante para nosotros, agradecemos sus comentarios y sugerencias para mejorar la calidad y el servicio del hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alessandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale_Marco2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mónica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Magdalena
Hotel la Magdalena
#97 of 157 in Cartagena
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Felipe Hotel Cartagena
San Felipe Hotel Cartagena
#56 of 157 in Cartagena
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel Getsemani
#136 of 157 in Cartagena
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Alejandria Hotel
Santa Alejandria Hotel
#93 of 157 in Cartagena
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Victoria
Hostal Casa Victoria
#93 of 171 in Cartagena
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Republica Cartagena
Republica Cartagena
#20 of 216 in Cartagena
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlin

Address: Calle De La Media Luna 10-35, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Cartagena
Price Range: $22 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marlin 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlin is a colonial style hotel; with comfortable rooms have air conditioning, cable TV and Wi-Fi. It is located in the walled historic center of Cartagena, the hotel's excellent location allows our guests to visit only three blocks, the most attractive places in Cartagena, as the clock tower, Castillo San Felipe Castle Historical Center, convention center, the Zona Rosa, and five minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Marlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing