We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean and close to the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lee
Ranked #102 of 142 Hotels in Cartagena
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and close to the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel Lee is just a few minutes to the walled city, harbour and restaurants. We stayed in the apartment-styled room. The room's lounge, kitchen and two AC fans made up for a lack of natural light. Our room was quiet. A good mid-range hotel option for travellers. Try the local restaurant across the road and a few doors to the right. Tasty, affordable Colombian food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JolineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very cheap alternative in downtown Cartagena. Very good breakfast each morning included. A bit noisy inside due to the open inner courtyard. Shower is typical electric shower for hot water you find in central and south America. Each unit has a kitchenette and sitting area + the bed and bath. Great view from the top roof deck and great lounging on the pool deck. No restaurant, bar or parking onsite. Helpful staff but you need to know some Spanish to communicate effectively. Make sure to go upstairs to the decks and have cocktails in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freak4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is a small hotel and located next to some (semi) popular nightclubs so it can be loud, but the hotel itself was excellent. The staff was extremely kind and helpful, doing what they can for two people with a limited grasp of Spanish.

For the room itself, the showers weren't the hottest but the A/C was blasting, which was nice in Cartagena's heat and humidity. The location can't be beat - about 5 minutes walk from the old city, we felt extremely safe walking around even late at night.

If I were ever in Cartagena, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thk714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Cartagena over New Year and there wasn't a lot of choice of accommodation when we booked in October. We had room for four (middle aged couple, son and girlfriend). The space was reasonable and room was clean. Shower was poor! Water was lukewarm and the electrical wires were exposed. We did get clean towels every day but there were no other luxuries. Breakfast was on the roof terrace; the first day there was no evidence of it being an eating area until a lady appeared from the kitchen and gave us a choice of bread and eggs and juice. It was ok - we enjoyed lunch more as a result!
It was a good location as easy walking distance of the old town, harbour to get boats to the beach and there were bars and restaurants in the same street.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Lee while attending lanuage school at Nueva Lengua for the month of July . While still in the states received prompt responses to emails regarding our accommodations. Luis, hotel manager, responded within a few hours to each and every email. When we arrived, Luis knew exactly who we were and was quick to help get our luggage from the taxi. Even though we had made arrangements for single beds, Luis took it upon himself to provide double beds to ensure our comfort given the length of our stay.Throughout our stay he was available to provide advice (restaurants, how much to pay for taxis, laundry, etc. - he even took us to the school the day we arrived to make sure we knew exactly where we were going!) Although accommodations were simple they were perfect for our needs (air conditioning in both rooms, flat screen TV, room cleaned daily with new towels, rooftop pool, microwave, fridge w/ freezer, stove,).The location was perfect!!! Five minute walk to school and nightclubs, ten minute walk to the "walled city", ten minute taxi ride to the beach. Hotel staff very attentive and helpful- patient and provided us the opportunity to practice our Spanish (even though they spoke basic English). Breaksfast provided in our room daily, although rooftop dining available. If you plan to be in Cartegena overnight or for an extended stay I strongly recommend Hotel Lee for everthing from location to price to staff attentiveness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Lee while attending Nueva Lengua language school in Cartagena. It was perfect for what we wanted (comfortable, clean lodging for a month) and stayed within our budget. Luis, the manager, and the rest of the staff were extremely attentive and personable. The hotel was located 5minutes from our school and close too many of the popular bars and clubs ( within walking distance). Beds were comfortable and there was a separate room with a kitchen, table and sleeper sofa. Bathroom was small. Decent breakfast included and delivered to our room; however, coffee was not good. Small pool on roof which was nice during hot summer days.
Overall, it was perfect for what we needed and wanted. I would definitely recommend it to those looking for a comfortable, affordable and clean stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Lee is located close to the harbor in Cartagena.
It takes 15 min from the airport to the hotel, it costs around 9500 Colombian pesos (6 USD) to get there.
PLUS:
Nice clean rooms. Ok beds, Tv, safety box, little balcony, AC, bathroom
Breakfast ok for the price you pay, (fruit, eggs, coffee, juice, bread)
Little Nice pool up on the roof, nice terrace with a very nice view to the sea
Nice location close to the harbor and downtown, you can take a walk there.
Close to some restaurants
Reception 24 hrs
MINUS:
Wifi works so close to the reception as possible
-No restaurant at the hotel
- Cold water, but you can take a shower anyway
- avoid rooms close to the street since its a lot of noice from the street
- No service mind at all. The staff was no too very helpful with the booking of the tours, they promised to help us with some reservations but they never did that. We were forced to rush and fix the tours by ourselves! The breakfast was supposed to be served at 6:30 am according to the reception, the woman working at the breakfast didn't want to serve us since it was 25th of December and they do start later(?). She and the receptionist had a discussion about that.

In few words, you get what you pay, no mor not less.

Room Tip: Don't stay at a room close to the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aragonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.1 mi away
Allure Bonbon Hotel
Allure Bonbon Hotel
#59 of 142 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Tere
Hotel Casa Tere
#107 of 142 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monterrey
Hotel Monterrey
#41 of 142 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#23 of 142 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa El Carretero
Casa El Carretero
#43 of 142 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Sierpe
Casa La Sierpe
#37 of 145 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lee

Property: Hotel Lee
Address: Calle Larga N 8B-148 Centro, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 142 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lee 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Building Reads is placed in the downtown, to a step of the Center of Conventions of Cartagena of The Indies, with an excellent sight to the Bay of Cartagena. From his(her,your) arrival you will remain captivated by his(her,your) impressive colonial architecture and his(her,your) delicate details. Recently remodelled and reset. Conditioned to offer to him(her) an excellent atmosphere of exclusivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing