We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lee
Ranked #105 of 146 Hotels in Cartagena
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Lee while attending lanuage school at Nueva Lengua for the month of July . While still in the states received prompt responses to emails regarding our accommodations. Luis, hotel manager, responded within a few hours to each and every email. When we arrived, Luis knew exactly who we were and was quick to help get our luggage from the taxi. Even though we had made arrangements for single beds, Luis took it upon himself to provide double beds to ensure our comfort given the length of our stay.Throughout our stay he was available to provide advice (restaurants, how much to pay for taxis, laundry, etc. - he even took us to the school the day we arrived to make sure we knew exactly where we were going!) Although accommodations were simple they were perfect for our needs (air conditioning in both rooms, flat screen TV, room cleaned daily with new towels, rooftop pool, microwave, fridge w/ freezer, stove,).The location was perfect!!! Five minute walk to school and nightclubs, ten minute walk to the "walled city", ten minute taxi ride to the beach. Hotel staff very attentive and helpful- patient and provided us the opportunity to practice our Spanish (even though they spoke basic English). Breaksfast provided in our room daily, although rooftop dining available. If you plan to be in Cartegena overnight or for an extended stay I strongly recommend Hotel Lee for everthing from location to price to staff attentiveness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Lee while attending Nueva Lengua language school in Cartagena. It was perfect for what we wanted (comfortable, clean lodging for a month) and stayed within our budget. Luis, the manager, and the rest of the staff were extremely attentive and personable. The hotel was located 5minutes from our school and close too many of the popular bars and clubs ( within walking distance). Beds were comfortable and there was a separate room with a kitchen, table and sleeper sofa. Bathroom was small. Decent breakfast included and delivered to our room; however, coffee was not good. Small pool on roof which was nice during hot summer days.
Overall, it was perfect for what we needed and wanted. I would definitely recommend it to those looking for a comfortable, affordable and clean stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Lee is located close to the harbor in Cartagena.
It takes 15 min from the airport to the hotel, it costs around 9500 Colombian pesos (6 USD) to get there.
PLUS:
Nice clean rooms. Ok beds, Tv, safety box, little balcony, AC, bathroom
Breakfast ok for the price you pay, (fruit, eggs, coffee, juice, bread)
Little Nice pool up on the roof, nice terrace with a very nice view to the sea
Nice location close to the harbor and downtown, you can take a walk there.
Close to some restaurants
Reception 24 hrs
MINUS:
Wifi works so close to the reception as possible
-No restaurant at the hotel
- Cold water, but you can take a shower anyway
- avoid rooms close to the street since its a lot of noice from the street
- No service mind at all. The staff was no too very helpful with the booking of the tours, they promised to help us with some reservations but they never did that. We were forced to rush and fix the tours by ourselves! The breakfast was supposed to be served at 6:30 am according to the reception, the woman working at the breakfast didn't want to serve us since it was 25th of December and they do start later(?). She and the receptionist had a discussion about that.

In few words, you get what you pay, no mor not less.

Room Tip: Don't stay at a room close to the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aragonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel Lee is nicely situated in the old part of Cartagena. During our stay we had a room for four persons. The room was divided in two floors. The room was nice, clean, and had good aircondition. They said there was warm water but i didn't get it to work. But in the warm climate of Cartagena it wasn't anything I considered important.

WiFi didn't work in room. Only at some places in the hotel. For example close to the reception.

The breakfast was very simple. Coffee, juice, fruit, and egg. If you want a proper breakfast i recommend you to eat somewhere else.

There also seem to be a lack of communication within the hotel. At the reception they said the breakfast starts a 6.30. But the woman at the breakfast didn't want to serve any breakfast before 7.00 a.m.

One receptionist told us that we could book tours in the reception. When we had decided day and everything there was a another receptionist. She told us that the only way to do it was to go to another place by foot 20 minutes from the hotel. A bit dissapointing.

But if it wasn't for these incidents I think it would have been a pleasant stay considering it was a cheap option, nicely situated.

Avoid rooms close to the street. It was a bit noisy with traffic, and a nightclub nearby. Enjoy the nice pool area and view at the roof of the hotel!

Room Tip: If possible choose a room on a high floor away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Affordable hotel not too far from the city walls. The immediate neighborhood has some great hip bars, better than anything inside the walls. There's a good restaurant a few doors down (la casa de socorro) and a delicious empanada vendor at the church around the corner. Hotel rooms were spare, but clean. Decent breakfasts on the roof with nice views.

Downsides: mosquitos in the main courtyard and loud music from the nightclub next door late into the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left hand side (facing the hotel) away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I booked this last minute, was concerned due to reports it was noisy & delay getting back to me re reservation, but it was perfect. In Getsemani, it was literally 2 blocks from my Spanish school and 5 min to Old City. Food in Getsemani is like $5 for lunch and 20 for nice dinner compared to 10 and 50 in the Old City. You should be prepared to walk alot, its a very pleasant city to wander and see much more than taxis, which are cheap at 5 or 6000 pesos ($3-4) if you want. This hotel was perfect for my boyfriend and I because we got a huge room with kitchen area large enough to use as dance floor to practice as we are salsa dancers. Had separate AC controls for bedroom and living room, important as we needed max AC for dancing but not sleeping. Mr Babilla club is adjacent, but we adked for room on other side and heard nothing. It had no natural light as window opened to covered atrium, but that was not a problem except 1 nite when power went out to the whole block && woke up coz so hot& wouldve liked fresh air. Big frig, wouldve liked more towels, facecloths (will never understand why they dont seem to use them outside N.America), but this place was a bargain at$108 night for 2 including breakfast, served to order on the incredible deck. Pool lovely if small & view from roof amazing. Nice staff. Would also have liked to pay on credit card but machine broken. Also, the places to dance salsa (Cafe Havana, Donde Fidel, & Quiebra Canto) & other good dance places (Tasca Maria for merengue & bachata by request, Hotel MediaLuna for reggaeton, Macondo for free performances & 2 for 1 drinks) are nearly all inGetsemani. I felt completely safe all the time. There are a few prostitutes next to Quiebra Canto on Calle Media Luna, but we walked on Calle Larga (next over) and was totally fine. We had booked another place back in Centro to be in the Old City (see my review of Casa Gloria) but came back to Hotel Lee for the space and quiet. Almost dont want to let this secret out! Only thing we missed was we were so happy at Lee that we didnt go to Bocagrande til our last nite (poured rain) and found a lovely beach promenade where I would also like to stay for the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Visited Cartagena in March 2012. Spent one night at Hotel Lee. We found it very affordable and clean. The staff spoke some English and treated us very well. Breakfast was included in the reasonable price. Location was great. Nice views from the roof top pool area. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Cartagena!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pressguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Tere
Hotel Casa Tere
#112 of 146 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
Hotel Casa de las Palmas
#91 of 146 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
Hotel Boutique Casa Isabel
#84 of 146 in Cartagena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Allure Bonbon Hotel
Allure Bonbon Hotel
#53 of 146 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friends to BE Hotel
Friends to BE Hotel
#88 of 146 in Cartagena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Villa Colonial
Casa Villa Colonial
#109 of 146 in Cartagena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lee

Property: Hotel Lee
Address: Calle Larga N 8B-148 Centro, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 146 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lee 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Building Reads is placed in the downtown, to a step of the Center of Conventions of Cartagena of The Indies, with an excellent sight to the Bay of Cartagena. From his(her,your) arrival you will remain captivated by his(her,your) impressive colonial architecture and his(her,your) delicate details. Recently remodelled and reset. Conditioned to offer to him(her) an excellent atmosphere of exclusivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing