We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice smallish boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Colonial
Ranked #12 of 161 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“nice smallish boutique hotel”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

good location near major attractions, though the immediate neighbouring buildings look dilapidated... a smallish boutique hotel typical of Cartagena... room sizes comfortable... though bed n pillows are a bit hard.. rooms have air-conditions and fans, but shower/ toilets are naturally ventilated with openings letting in mosquitos & u can hear your neighbours next door thru' the toilets windows... upper floors toilets openings are thru' the roof letting in dusts! some construction works going on during the day so it can be noisy... good front desk service... rooms have cable TV and wi-fi (though the top-floor corner rooms have poor signal)... overall an OK hotel...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesotong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    88
    45
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
83
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Hotel for very low costs. Very clean, modern bathroom (though only cool water, which is nice regarding temperature in Cartagena). Helpful and friendly staff. Small and cosy rooms with well working air conditioning, if booked (recommended!). Ideal for short trips to explore Cartagena.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great area. The rooms are basic but nice. Easily the nicest of the hotels or hostels we checked out on the block. A bit pricey but so is most of Cartagena and worth the extra money in my opinion when compared to the other places on the block.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was supposed to be staying at the Casa Villa Colonial, but was taken here by the airport taxi driver. It turns out that it shares ownership and serves as the overflow facility for the place I was originally booked at. The staff was fluent only in Spanish, so after confusion and phone calls, they gave me a room (since it was late). The following morning, they re-located me within the same facility but gave me a nicer room that had a balcony that looked over the street.

The location is good--easy walking distance to the old city and plenty of restaurants. The staff was nice and did their best to help out.

The hotel is a bit older, and the room key was VERY difficult to use--inconsistent on being able to open the door (I had to get help a number of times).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moviegeekjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The rooms were small. The owners were amazing and helpful. The location was, like many other hostels in Cartagena, a bit dodgy. The low hanging ceiling fan is dangerous. There was construction going on while we were there, though they only started at 9am.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Arriving at the hotel we were aware of the drunks on the corner and the apparent inaccessibility of the hotel which was in total darkness. Luckily we were able to get in although we were slightly unnerved by the whole experience.

Despite making a booking on hotels.com the reservation was vague and we were rather confused. This was what we had hoped to avoid by doing the pre book especially as we had just come off 3 flights totalling in 24 hours of travelling!

Waking up we soon realised the hotel is very run down, rooms are tiny and the security of our room was questionable.

The positioning is ok, round the corner from the main streets of gethsemane. We loved this area, some delicious restaurants that don't quite look as pretty as the old town but boy is there food good!!

We decided to move on from the hotel as we felt the price was very high for what we were receiving compared to other options round the corner.

On check out we paid for our 2 nights and left. This was when the problems began.

Over £200 was taken from our bank and it took a while to work out what this was as the payee was quite unusual. Contacting hotels.com they passed on responsibility to the hotel. Fair enough, they are just the booking agent.

The hotel had taken payment from our card we used to book and had also taken payment on our check out. Simple enough error but the problem was it took over 2 months and a lot of stress to sort this out.

The manageress was not urgent on solving our difficulty and it took a lot of emails to get our money back.

We felt the stress this had caused was totally unnecessary and disappointing.

I would not recommend this hotel, until they sort out their decor, security of their rooms and clarified their booking/payment systems.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christinejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Accommodation in Cartagena tends to be more expensive but this is a good budget option. Double ensuite room with fan cost COP60,000 and you'll pay a bit more if you want A/C.

There isn't a lot of atmosphere (unlike the nearby hostels) but the staff are friendly and it's a couple of minutes walk from a number of restaurants and bars.

For the price and area, you'll do well to find anything cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#59 of 155 in Cartagena
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#47 of 155 in Cartagena
529 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#22 of 155 in Cartagena
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#71 of 155 in Cartagena
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Pueblito Playa
Hotel Pueblito Playa
#60 of 155 in Cartagena
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Property: Hotel Villa Colonial
Address: Getsemani, Calle de las Maravillas no 30 - 60, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing