We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced But Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Colonial
Ranked #16 of 171 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The rooms were small. The owners were amazing and helpful. The location was, like many other hostels in Cartagena, a bit dodgy. The low hanging ceiling fan is dangerous. There was construction going on while we were there, though they only started at 9am.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Arriving at the hotel we were aware of the drunks on the corner and the apparent inaccessibility of the hotel which was in total darkness. Luckily we were able to get in although we were slightly unnerved by the whole experience.

Despite making a booking on hotels.com the reservation was vague and we were rather confused. This was what we had hoped to avoid by doing the pre book especially as we had just come off 3 flights totalling in 24 hours of travelling!

Waking up we soon realised the hotel is very run down, rooms are tiny and the security of our room was questionable.

The positioning is ok, round the corner from the main streets of gethsemane. We loved this area, some delicious restaurants that don't quite look as pretty as the old town but boy is there food good!!

We decided to move on from the hotel as we felt the price was very high for what we were receiving compared to other options round the corner.

On check out we paid for our 2 nights and left. This was when the problems began.

Over £200 was taken from our bank and it took a while to work out what this was as the payee was quite unusual. Contacting hotels.com they passed on responsibility to the hotel. Fair enough, they are just the booking agent.

The hotel had taken payment from our card we used to book and had also taken payment on our check out. Simple enough error but the problem was it took over 2 months and a lot of stress to sort this out.

The manageress was not urgent on solving our difficulty and it took a lot of emails to get our money back.

We felt the stress this had caused was totally unnecessary and disappointing.

I would not recommend this hotel, until they sort out their decor, security of their rooms and clarified their booking/payment systems.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christinejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Accommodation in Cartagena tends to be more expensive but this is a good budget option. Double ensuite room with fan cost COP60,000 and you'll pay a bit more if you want A/C.

There isn't a lot of atmosphere (unlike the nearby hostels) but the staff are friendly and it's a couple of minutes walk from a number of restaurants and bars.

For the price and area, you'll do well to find anything cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimdougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

In the centre of old town, in a safe and nice area.
Very welcoming staff in this nice colonial-style property. The property has fans, but no air-conditions in the room. The rooms are very clean, and they clean your rooms and give you new towels every day.

We stayed for one week, and Villa Colonial is a nice plase for exporing both the beaches, a short taxiride away, and the historical centre of the town. A common kitchen, if you feel like making your own breakfast, but a lot of street stalls and restaurants are just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

For anyone who has been to Cartagena, or is looking at lodging in Cartagena, you know it is not a cheap place to stay. Hotel Villa Colonial was relatively reasonably priced for the Getsemani area. It is in a fine location with plenty of good restaurants right down the street for both breakfast and dinner options, and it's easily within walking distance of the Walled City y El Castillo de Felipe, so that was nice. I guess the only thing I didn't really like about it was how musty the room smelled whenever we didn't have the A/C running, which of course we turned off when we weren't around. As long as you're not looking for anything fancy, you'll be fine here. It was also nice and quiet at night, so if you're not out at the clubs all night, you'll be able to get some sleep too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten_Y326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and thought it was a great place to stay, we paid approx US$50 per night for a double with bathroom. It is definitely a budget hotel but it's great value and a really nice place to stay. The room was big and clean with a fan and AC plus we got one of the rooms with a balcony facing the street so it was nice to get natural light (it looked like some of the rooms had no windows). We didn't run into lots of other guests so it's probably not suited to people looking to meet other travellers.

There is a kitchen which is new and pretty well stocked with utensils. It was also kept clean and was next to a nice courtyard which was a really pleasant place to eat.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The front door is locked at all times which is also reassuring. Not sure why it's in the B&B section of trip advisor because they don't serve breakfast but they do give you coffee which always helps!

While its not in the old town it really close and you can walk there quickly. Its around a heap of other hostels/hotels so there are lots of travellers and travel agencies around. We really liked getsemani - it is a bit grubby and rough around the edges but it has lots of charm
and there is always something going on. The local square is great place to sit and people watch in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blancogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at this "hotel" for 3 nights on arrival into Colombia and Cartagena.
First off, its a little difficult to find but once you are there you can easily walk to the town without problems. Other reviews are right that this isnt the nicest street or part of town but i didnt feel unsafe (though always walked with my boyfriend) It would have been nicer to be more central though.

The Room
The rooms are are based around a central courtyard. The window faces into the courtyyard and is a hole in the wall with bars and shutters. It is ok to leave open while you are in however not advisable to leave open while you are out as it provides relatively easy access to the room.
The room was booked was a deluxe double. What we got was a small room with a double and single bed - between them they took up the entire room and there was barely room to move around them. We also booked a room with aircon - which was there but didnt work. We did have a fan however i felt rather nervous with it on as it was hanging out from the ceiling. In the end thoug, we had to have it on all the time as the room became so hot and airless that it was stiffling. The sheets were thin and old and although they may be washed they were not clean looking.
The bathroom was tiny and dirty. The toiler rool dispenser is what you would get in public toilets. The bins were never emptied the 3 days we were there and the rooms werent cleaned either.

The staff overall were really lovely and were very helpful even with my broken spanish. They also were great letting us in (the doors are locked and guarded at night) in the early hours.

By the end of 3 days i couldnt wait to leave there and get to the 4* hotel we were moving to. Although this place is very cheap there is reason for that! I did not enjoy my stay and i unfortunately would not recommend unless you are on a very very tight budget.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladybug2000Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#19 of 158 in Cartagena
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Lola
Hotel Casa Lola
#18 of 158 in Cartagena
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
Bourbon St Hostal Boutique
#1 of 221 in Cartagena
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zana Hotel Boutique
Zana Hotel Boutique
#5 of 171 in Cartagena
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
Les Lezards Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 171 in Cartagena
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Address: Getsemani, Calle de las Maravillas no 30 - 60, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range: $45 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing