We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Colonial
Ranked #13 of 157 Cartagena B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, excellent service”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

In the centre of old town, in a safe and nice area.
Very welcoming staff in this nice colonial-style property. The property has fans, but no air-conditions in the room. The rooms are very clean, and they clean your rooms and give you new towels every day.

We stayed for one week, and Villa Colonial is a nice plase for exporing both the beaches, a short taxiride away, and the historical centre of the town. A common kitchen, if you feel like making your own breakfast, but a lot of street stalls and restaurants are just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    43
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
83
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

For anyone who has been to Cartagena, or is looking at lodging in Cartagena, you know it is not a cheap place to stay. Hotel Villa Colonial was relatively reasonably priced for the Getsemani area. It is in a fine location with plenty of good restaurants right down the street for both breakfast and dinner options, and it's easily within walking distance of the Walled City y El Castillo de Felipe, so that was nice. I guess the only thing I didn't really like about it was how musty the room smelled whenever we didn't have the A/C running, which of course we turned off when we weren't around. As long as you're not looking for anything fancy, you'll be fine here. It was also nice and quiet at night, so if you're not out at the clubs all night, you'll be able to get some sleep too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten_Y326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and thought it was a great place to stay, we paid approx US$50 per night for a double with bathroom. It is definitely a budget hotel but it's great value and a really nice place to stay. The room was big and clean with a fan and AC plus we got one of the rooms with a balcony facing the street so it was nice to get natural light (it looked like some of the rooms had no windows). We didn't run into lots of other guests so it's probably not suited to people looking to meet other travellers.

There is a kitchen which is new and pretty well stocked with utensils. It was also kept clean and was next to a nice courtyard which was a really pleasant place to eat.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The front door is locked at all times which is also reassuring. Not sure why it's in the B&B section of trip advisor because they don't serve breakfast but they do give you coffee which always helps!

While its not in the old town it really close and you can walk there quickly. Its around a heap of other hostels/hotels so there are lots of travellers and travel agencies around. We really liked getsemani - it is a bit grubby and rough around the edges but it has lots of charm
and there is always something going on. The local square is great place to sit and people watch in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blancogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at this "hotel" for 3 nights on arrival into Colombia and Cartagena.
First off, its a little difficult to find but once you are there you can easily walk to the town without problems. Other reviews are right that this isnt the nicest street or part of town but i didnt feel unsafe (though always walked with my boyfriend) It would have been nicer to be more central though.

The Room
The rooms are are based around a central courtyard. The window faces into the courtyyard and is a hole in the wall with bars and shutters. It is ok to leave open while you are in however not advisable to leave open while you are out as it provides relatively easy access to the room.
The room was booked was a deluxe double. What we got was a small room with a double and single bed - between them they took up the entire room and there was barely room to move around them. We also booked a room with aircon - which was there but didnt work. We did have a fan however i felt rather nervous with it on as it was hanging out from the ceiling. In the end thoug, we had to have it on all the time as the room became so hot and airless that it was stiffling. The sheets were thin and old and although they may be washed they were not clean looking.
The bathroom was tiny and dirty. The toiler rool dispenser is what you would get in public toilets. The bins were never emptied the 3 days we were there and the rooms werent cleaned either.

The staff overall were really lovely and were very helpful even with my broken spanish. They also were great letting us in (the doors are locked and guarded at night) in the early hours.

By the end of 3 days i couldnt wait to leave there and get to the 4* hotel we were moving to. Although this place is very cheap there is reason for that! I did not enjoy my stay and i unfortunately would not recommend unless you are on a very very tight budget.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladybug2000Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

After weeks of slumming it in Colombian backpacker dorms and putting up with all the gap year flash-packer nonsense, this place was a welcome relief. It's quite a comfortable hotel, with a decent balcony and useable kitchen. The rooms are not overly expensive (I negotiated 40,000 pesos for a single), they include a private bathroom, cable TV and wifi. Some rooms are fans, some are AC. Overall I found it to be a good place to relax and I met some interesting and slightly more mature travelers here too. Only downside is that at the time of writing they are carrying out lots of renovations which are noisy (in the day) and also causing intermittent issues with power etc!

Room Tip: The top floor single next to the balcony is in a perfect location if you intend on going back and fo...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mister_dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

After pre booking a room I arrived here in the late evening to only find out that there was no more room available! I was taken to another hostel a few blocks away where I got offered a rather non-descript room without any windows at all and a low ceiling! While I actually booked the more luxurious room. After obviously not accepting this they offered me a discount of literally...2 USD on a 70 USD booking! Utter nonsense of course!

If you as a hotelmanager make a mistake you shouldn't let the customer be the one who has to bear the problems resulting from the mistake! To sum things up: if you want bad service this is your place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I was so looking forward to staying at Villa Colonia after research on the web but my stay was disappointing to say the least. As another reviewer said there is some confusion of images etc between this hotel and its much more upmarket sister hotel on the main road. We didn't get the place we were expecting.
Our room was so small you could barely move and the bathroom run down and tiny. The shower was cold and not powerful at all. The main problem was that because the place is so hot and rooms so cramped the small ceiling fan does nothing except blow hot air around, so we found ourselves having to literally sit out on the street until late at night when the place cooled down enough to go inside.
The area its in is also a bit grotty and sketchy but the beautiful old town is only a 10 minute walk away.
The other plus point is that the staff are friendly and welcoming even if they can't speak a word of English.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa India Catalina
Casa India Catalina
#55 of 155 in Cartagena
417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Pueblito Playa
Hotel Pueblito Playa
#59 of 155 in Cartagena
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Alejandria
Hotel Casa Alejandria
#70 of 155 in Cartagena
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
Hotel San Martin Cartagena
#20 of 155 in Cartagena
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Lazaro Art Lifestyle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
Hotel Don Pedro de Heredia
#43 of 155 in Cartagena
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Colonial

Property: Hotel Villa Colonial
Address: Getsemani, Calle de las Maravillas no 30 - 60, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing