We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
125
49
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
49
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolboutique hotelsan felipe fortbusy plazaplaza de la trinidadold townwalled citygreat neighborhoodenglish speakingwalking distance to everythingeach morningceiling fanmin walkair conditioningvisiting cartagenastayed here for nightsfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 182 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Hotel during the Carnival of Cartagena. We found the location of the hotel excellent. In the old town but in the part which has remained relatively untouched by tourists, we could meddle with the locals and feel the real Cartagena (well, rather the old town which is a world of its own, as the outside districts are very poor and can be dangerous for foreigners). Rooms were a tiny small we found but very clean and functional, decorated in a rather modern style (white leather etc.). It was noisy but eh, this was Carnival so no worries. However, we felt the rooms could be a bit noisy overall. Breakfast was good but quantities not huge. A bit pricy - perhaps justified by the upper floor swimming pool? - we enjoyed our stay there. Service was a bit absent - we saw the owner only once in 3 days but friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonCalling2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great little house with only 5 rooms and fabulous staff that will make you feel like a queen. The best bed I ever slept on in Colombia. Breakfast yummy and the internet worked well. The house is located in Gestsamani which is not the best area of the city but a quick 15 minutes walk to Old Town. I was sad when it was time to check out. I felt like I was leaving family! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Casa Santa Ana for three days this November in the week leading up to Cartagena's biggest party (the national beauty pageant). That said we were the only guests in the 5 room hotel. We were welcomed warmly and put into a very pretty room with air conditioning (thank goodness). Other guests arrived the next day but the attention of the ladies who run the hotel did not wane.

Pluses:
1. Breakfast was delicious with a different fresh fruit juice each day. You could be served anytime from 730-11 which I think is fantastic particularly for those who might be out late enjoying Cartagena's night life. Just be forewarned if you want the typical breakfast you need to order a day in advance as they make breakfasts on the spot per request and may either need more time for prep or to buy the ingredients.
2. Hotel itself was very pretty, surprisingly peaceful for the most part given its location near Plaza de la Trinidad (with the exception of young kids pounding on the doors at night), had spa services though can't recommend as they seemed overpriced and we did not use, and a small rooftop pool with a lovely view of the castillo - perfect for cooling off after a long day in the heat.
3. Room was comfortable, towels were fluffy and they offered L'Occitane products

Minuses:
1. Location. This can be seen as a plus or minus depending on your view of being in Getsemani, This is not (yet) the touristy area and can seem sketchy to those unaccustomed to the Carribean culture. On the other hand, those who want a taste of the real Cartagena, you will be in the heart of it. The hotel is also about an 8 to 10-minute walk to the start of the old city. Not bad unless the humidity is high (which it was most times) and you end up arriving at your destination covered in sweat.
2. Inconsistent Service. Of the three nights, we were there, we received turn-down service oncedespite the fact we left the hotel at almost the same time every night. Minor detail but should be noted.
3. Other issues. The shower head in our room was broken and temporarily being held together with tape. It worked but not really a sign of a nice boutique hotel that costs over $200 a night. The bathroom door was also a bit of problem (opening and closing). And to get into the hotel you had to ring the bell and it could take some time for them to answer. Not dealbreakers but again worth noting.

Overall, however, this was a beautiful hotel with very attentive service and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livinginsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the Casa Santa Ana for a fall weekend and had the nicest time. The house is absolutely beautiful--nicely decorated, modern amenities, L'Occitane bathroom products--and the incredibly warm and welcoming staff made the entire experience so enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious with a lot of choices and incredible, fresh juices every morning. Casa Santa Ana is located in a mostly locals-only neighborhood of Getsemani, about an 8-minute walk from the walled city. The colors, people, music and life surrounding the Plaza de La Trinidad (at the end of the street) made the area feel so vibrant and fun. Cafe Havana is a great spot with amazing live music 2 blocks away. In spite of the heat and energy right outside the house, my room was quiet, air-conditioned and peaceful. Casa Santa Ana is a total treat.

Room Tip: I specified a room on the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherpa802844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A lovely little Bed and Breakfast with personnel service hidden away from the eye. Small with only 5 rooms. Place is very clean and has excellant views of the city as well as the San Felipe Fort. Located in a nice area with the local sounds in the background.

Room Tip: All rooms have air conditioners as well as ceilng fans, lovely soft decorations in all rooms with different themes. The room on the ground floor is smaller than the 2 above, but still has more than enough room to enjoy your stay.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvrilandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews